We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The food was great, the service was excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas des Oliviers

Le Mas des Oliviers
Ranked #89 of 5,341 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
SoCal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The food was great, the service was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I went to this restaurant because of reviews I read online. If you weren't specifically looking for it, you could easily walk right past the low doorway of Le Mas. We got there as two chic elder ladies were leaving. They seemed to know the owner because they each gave him a peck on the cheek on the way out. Our servers was very attentive and playful with my 6 year old daughter. I started with escargot, which were not in the shell, yet still very tasty. My daughter had the turnip and carrot soup du jour, which was a deep bowl and creamy. I ordered the garlic shrimp and filet mignon, which was cooked to perfection and a healthy portion. My daughter had the salmon, which was also cooked just right, although the lemon-something sauce did not really get along with the carrots which were the side for the dish. Nevertheless, the fish was really more than enough to satisfy on its own. I think they may have guessed she wasn't going to eat the vegetables, because they brought us a complimentary side of french fries (the real potato, cut, fried kind). Then it was on to the dessert. My daughter chose the profiteroles, which I had read were nothing to write home about (ironically, since the reviewers DID write about it), but I believe in individuation so I did not press the issue and let her figure it out for herself - she did. Instead, I got the chocolate mousse, which was heavenly, and enough to satisfy my sweet tooth and let her make up her losses by sharing. We both thought the dinner was great, but it really was the service that went above and beyond. Everything came out in a timely manner, there was no wait in between courses, and we never felt rushed. I am considering going back soon because I heard the table next to us raving about one of their dishes that I didn't get to try. Looks like they have a very varied menu. I would really recommend this place if you are in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leila29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    66
    20
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice location. I must admit walking through the tiny door was almost a challenge but I was pleased to have made it inside without a huge bump on my head. The first room was cellar like. Very french and extremely comfy, We were seated in the back room. It was a Monday late lunch and I was pleased to find such a great restaurant open. The service was impeccable and the food amazing. I started with a house salad, which brought me back to my childhood. The dressing was great! It was so good I asked for the recipe and surprisingly enough it was written down for me. The rest of the meal was delicious as well, fish steak, we all shared and savored every bite! I will definitely visit again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cjddmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
177 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“High prices for middling food and tired decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I had not been to Le Mas des Oliviers for over ten years. My last visit was for a closing dinner related to a business deal, which was memorable for the waiters all having stopped forward en masse to unveil the food with a flourish.

The staff this time were uniformly older, polite and male. The room also seemed to be unchanged since my last visit: a basement, tavern ambiance with brick walls and archways.

The soup I had to start was a very interesting fish pescadou, which involved applying cheese and sauce to dried baguette slices, which one then submerged in the soup. The wine list escalated very quickly in price.

Main dishes were $40 and up, which seemed a bit steep for the quality. My tuna medallions were nicely seared but came with a sauce I found gluey and salty. The wasabi mashed potatoes were disappointing.

Not a bad meal, but I expected better in light of the prices, especially in Montreal, where food is taken seriously.

Helpful?
Thank selmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Old school formality, professional and knowledgable service and outstanding food. The seared tuna may have been the best I have ever had. Outstanding value for money. We are going back tomorrow night, and we have NEVER done the same place two nights in a row in Montreal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Montreal French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Very very good - excellent French cuisine. Gracious hospitality, warm cellar-like atmosphere. Excellent value for the mid-range prices

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeepcovePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mas des Oliviers also viewed

 

Been to Le Mas des Oliviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing