We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection at Le Mas des Oliviers!”
Review of Le Mas des Oliviers - CLOSED

Le Mas des Oliviers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfection at Le Mas des Oliviers!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I moved from Montreal about 10 years ago, and everytime I come into town, I always make a stop at my favorite restaurant in Montreal - Le Mas Des Oliviers. The owner Jacques Muller and his staff is always welcoming and always seems to remember me and my husband. My favs at lunch is usually steak Tartare or their salade ultime - their table d'hote always includes an apertizer and desert - perfect lunch spot (I do love their terrasse too, when I can get a spot!). Dinner, I would recommend their fish soup, rack of lamb (cooked to perfection) or their tuna with wasabi - recently, I had this amazing pistachio mousse for desert, that made me want to kiss the chef.

This is a must stop for Montreal foodies and tourist alike. Enjoy!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    66
    20
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing overpriced salade "ultime"....”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I want to like this place so much - a nice old country house ambiance, promising menu and attentive staff. But the prices are high for the quality of the food - today was a large lunch sized salad (called their "ultimate" salad) - instead it was over salted soppy seafood (tuna and shrimp I think) covered with slabs of smoked salmon. Maybe their other main courses are better.....some of the wait staff come with a particular attitude but I suspect its part of what they think the distinctive experience is of being condescended to by a french waiter.

Oh well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank velo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food & Witty Staff”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a great time at Le Mas des Oliviers. Brought a business guest here who grew up in a French household. One of the main reasons for the choice was that it was open on a Sunday night. No mean feat to find a restaurant open in Montreal on Sunday! Happy to say, the meal made the grade.

We both have the potato and leek soup, followed by the salmon and selection of lamb, beef, duck and foie gras. Excellent!

For dessert, chocolate mousse. I commented that their cheesecake had received rave reviews and a petite slice was included with the mousse. My guest had berries and requested some chantilly which was whipped up and tasted divine.

We had a wonderful conversation with our server who was fluent in English, albeit we did utilize our French as much as possible.

I can't help but feel that certain guests either attract excellent or poor service based on their own behavior. We closed the place on a Sunday night and the staff were still smiling when we left. A call was also made for a taxi back to our hotel. I'd call that good service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meenanall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A waiter with an attitude”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Good food but overpriced. The experience would have been better had the waiter not been condescending and with a really snoby attitude. Would not recomend to anyone not speaking parisian french or coming in casually dressed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bdro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit with guests from outside north America”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a restaurant that has done it`s time, and anyone hoping for a `Montreal Experience`would do well to go elsewhere. We invited special guests to a lunch, hoping for positive experiences here, as we had felt in the past. The service was unbelievably condescending to our guests, and even though we both speak excellent French, the waiter seemed to feel he should pretend to be one of those arrogant staff from Paris of 30 years ago! There was no consideration of our guests who spoke limited English, and minimal French.
we constantly had to ask for cutlery, basic of water, and ended up serving the wine ourselves.
Please enjoy a real Montréal restaurant and go elsewhere, where your patronage are appreciated!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CMT-JWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mas des Oliviers also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing