We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazz and great terasse”
Review of Jardin Nelson

Jardin Nelson
Ranked #42 of 5,769 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: Le Jardin Nelson est ferme pour la saison hivernale. Nous serons de retour mi-avril, des que la temperature le permet. Jardin Nelson is closed for the winter season. We will be back mid-April, weather permitting.
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jazz and great terasse”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had again a good time at Jardin Nelson. The venue is still stunning and the live jazz band entertaining. The food without being exceptionnal was good. We enjoyed for apetizers the brushetta and shrimp with avocado. Quite delicious especially the brushetta. We both had a pizza for the main course which was good. Good service even if it was super busy Saturday evening. The downside is they don't take reservation in the evening and there is often a long line-up. We waited in line about 25 mins.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisonpompon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    876
    779
    217
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, ON
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere, Excellent Appetizers!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Tucked away in a little corner is the most amazing atmosphere you can lay your eyes on in Montreal. The garden is filled with hanging baskets, creeping plants and birds flying around. We had no reservations but were easily seated with an awesome view. We started with incredible appetizers. The goat cheese pastry was crispy on the outside and warm and cheesy on the inside. The chicken wings were seasoned to perfection. I would order these 2 appetizers again in a heart-beat. Next my brother and I ordered pizzas. They were quite well done with thin crust and fresh vegetables. My father ordered the crepe with a very distinct buckwheat flavour which was not enjoyable but the filling made it worth it. My mother had the french onion soup which while very well done was not the best she had had. Service was prompt and there was some nice live music in the background to enjoy. Overall an excellent experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Feast for the Senses!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Located at Place Jacque Cartier and Rue St. Paul the restaurant Jardin Nelson is nestled within the carefully preserved facade of a 19th century building maintaining the historical character and integrity of Rue St. Paul in Old Montreal. It is worth a visit just to enjoy the brilliant architecture of this garden restaurant. Once inside, you feast your eyes on a glorious waterfall of greenery that cascades down the interior of the facade and the multi tiered dining spaces. It is a magical space that features great live jazz and creative, artfully prepared and scrumptious dishes. We thoroughly enjoyed the French onion soup and crepes (we had the Newberg, Diva and Basilico and all were delicious). I would consider this a must experience for anyone who has even a day or two in Montreal. It is an open aired space but there are strategically spaced pillars out of which flow like canvas fountains, collapsible, inverted pyramid umbrellas that prevent diners from being drenched in the rain. Considering the location, the live entertainment and the food quality, we did not find Jardin Nelson to be unreasonable in terms of cost. It was a feast for all the senses. We would return and we would recommend Jardin Nelson without hesitation. If you are bringing kids, remind them that it is mom or dad’s special night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyEarthWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fresh air, good food and jazz”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a unique experience. The dining area is basically a gutted two-story building with no roof. Plants and flowers in pots large and small line the interior walls (if you're wondering, they're drip-irrigated). Cover is provided by a series of funnel tarps (when it rains you can see the water running down the funnel throats) and glass awnings. It was pouring while we ate, and periodically you could feel a slight mist, but that only added to the atmosphere. We had the duck confit salad (very tender) and the summer salad with salmon (gently cooked and moist); the food was nicely presented. We listened to a live jazz quartet, with piped jazz during the breaks.

Check to be sure it's open - this is obviously a warm weather restaurant and was closed in April when we first tried.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill-Massachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“great food and jazz - a winning combination”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a great evening here in their courtyard - surrounded by flowers and greenery, enjoying good food (think classy pub) and listening to a jazz trio. A great end to a long day of sightseeing

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ottawatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin Nelson also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Jardin Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing