We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, amazing cuisine”
Review of La Sauvagine

La Sauvagine
Reserve with OpenTable
La Sauvagine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #766 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great service, amazing cuisine”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We'v had dinner on June 25, 2013. From greeting to billing, service is excellent (welcoming and efficient). Meals were a delight.
We are looking forward to coming back and try other meals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cel613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    78
    32
    20
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch on a sunny day”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

For a restaurant right in the middle of the tourist area of old Montreal this was a very pleasant surprise for lunchWe sat outside in the sun and enjoyed good starters of soup and salad followed by confit duck in my case and moules and frites in the case of my wife. Both dishes were good and the service was cheerful and efficient. The house red wine wood quality and overall the occasion was very enjoyable. It is a place that I would like to try for an evening meal as the inside ambience also looked good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alastair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and affordable”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

With nice service and excellent lamb shank. Our French waitress (from Normandy) believes that Quebec will succeed in secession. Viva la revolution!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had the catch of the day, which was Red Snapper. Salad of mixed greens, fresh vegetables & balsamic. The main fare; Red Snapper filet on a bed of wild rice and fresh vegetables. With a white wine, lemon butter sauce.

OMG!!!! Soooo good! I have not had Snapper before. It just came in this morning...it was so fresh, so light, so melt in your mouth delicious.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BostonRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“We will return...again and again”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a delightful evening at this romantic restaurant in Old Montreal.
We are always on the lookout for wild game, and what we found exceeded any expectations that we had when we headed out on the town. My wife ordered a wild boar dish, which she enjoyed very much. My selection was bison and elk, served with goat cheese and blueberry sauce.
We found the service staff to be polite and efficient. We were seated by a window that offered good people-watching.
One word of caution: the bread that was placed on the table ended up costing $7.00,so keep in mind the option of saying "No merci" when they bring it. I recommend this place to anyone who is looking for something out of the ordinary. I look forward to many return visits in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mountainclimber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sauvagine also viewed

 

Been to La Sauvagine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing