We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting atmosphere, good food”
Review of L'Express

L'Express
Ranked #36 of 5,711 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $99
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: Roy & Duluth
Transit: Metro Sherbrooke, 3 streets north or metro Mont-Royal, 3 streets south; a five minutes walk in both directions.
Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We didnt have a reservation that night so we had to wait for a spot which was no problem. The waiter helped us to pick a great white wine. I ordered fish with vegetables which was good but a bit cold. I would say the food was good but what I really likes was the typical bistro atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Delitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    290
    88
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Average service with pretty good food. Wouldn't order the bone marrow again. Wouldn't order the steak frites again either. Boyfriends ducks ravioli was awesome though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rmb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Classic Bistro”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been going to this restaurant once or twice a year for a very long time. We went back just before Christmas, and ordered the same dishes we have been ordering for thirty years, soupe de poisson (fish soup) and steak tartare with homemade fries. Both were delicious as always. We ordered ile flottante for dessert, and it was a big hit.

The service was friendly and efficient, but not over the top, also as usual. The bistro atmosphere is ever present. All things said, it is a positive experience which we we will continue to renew.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SlushyDragonX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great bistro”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This a a happening spot. Apparently busy every night of the week. We went on a Monday night, thinking it would be quiet. Earliest reservation at the table was 9:45 pm. No problem, we enjoyed a 7:30 reservation at the gorgeous stainless steel bar. Bright and busy, white table clothes and full of every generation. We enjoyed French beer and champagne to start as well as the baby dills they give you n/c as you wait for your meal. My husband and I both had a delicious Steak frites with homemade mayonnaise. The homemade chocolate truffles for dessert were a perfect sweet to finish off the meal.
Service was efficient and friendly without a lot of conversation, which was perfect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaandMike88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Classic French Bistro in Mont Royal”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a cute and charming french bistro in the trendy plateau mont royal. The restaurant has an extensive wine list, classic french dishes such as steak frites and duck confit, and a pleasant vibe and atmosphere common among good french brasseries. Don't fill up on the bread and homemade peppered cornichons!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nmider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Express also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to L'Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing