We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly good”
Review of L'Express

L'Express
Ranked #33 of 5,769 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $99
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: Roy & Duluth
Transit: Metro Sherbrooke, 3 streets north or metro Mont-Royal, 3 streets south; a five minutes walk in both directions.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazingly good”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

From the previous reviews We had expected good but when we went there it was quite wonderful. The food was ultra fresh and we loved the fact that you can order half bottles of wine. Service was spot on and the prices were not exorbitant. This restaurant is not a quiet and romantic one so don't expect an intimate date place- but if you are a foodie- it's fantastic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank artandvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    294
    90
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great French bistro food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Another recommendation that didn't disappoint. Good bistro fare - mainly French food, with a few Italian dishes (risotto, ravioli) thrown in for good measure. Wait staff were friendly and helpful. My husband had the steak frites - the fries were amazing. Our friends had the risotto and the ravioli which they said was delicious. I rocked out to a big helping of calf's liver with tarragon and was in seventh heaven - it was cooked to perfection.

The place was packed, so reservations are recommended. There's no sign out the front, so you could end up walking past it, just look for a full front of house with people waiting for tables.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best French bistro outside of France”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

You want an authentic French bistro look no further than this restaurant. The croque Monsieur is done to perfection. The fries are perfect. The wine selection is exceptional. Don't leave without trying the apple tarte which is made Tatin style.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nilou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Deception!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of the Trip Advisor forum. It was not that busy when we went. A few tables were still empty, it was, however, a Sunday night.

They suggested a nice little rosé wine at a very decent price. A plus for them!

My daughter had the veal pasta. It was quite good. My husband's bone marrow was excellent, as were his quails (which my daughter ended up eating almost fully)

My fish soup was good. The kind without pieces of fish, but the rouille was great. My main course, the fish of the day, was bad. I mean, the fish was bland and overcooked, and the veggies and lentils that accompanied it were barely eatable. Huge deception as I was looking forward to this meal when planning the trip.

So try this place - but don't have too high expectations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zaz936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect bistro fare”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Don't miss the bone marrow. They'll give you some very tasty salt to bring out the flavor of the marrow, but it doesn't really need it!

It's tough to score a spot at a table, so definitely make reservations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank matlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Express also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to L'Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing