We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish restaurant”
Review of Ferreira Cafe

Ferreira Cafe
Ranked #27 of 5,719 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: St-Catherine
Description: It is said that laughter and good times are fuelled by exquisite food. All of these can be found at Ferreira Cafe, Montreal's veritable ambassador of Portuguese cuisine. Warm and refined, while chic and relaxing, Ferreira Cafe continues to be a true favorite of among Montrealers.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good fish restaurant”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

On the expensive side specially on the drinks. Great food, some portuguese dishes, friendly staff, centrally located. Good atmosphere. Better to book always very busy. Overall recommend

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    225
    89
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“I would almost visit Montreal just to go to this restaurant”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fabulous atmosphere, very nice wine selection, great fish and perfectly cooked...I didn't think one could improve on a simple Portuguese tart but they served it warm (I think there was a little cinnamon on it) and some vanilla ice cream...divine. Quite right, though, there are a few dishes which are not Portuguese per se but everything was well executed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hwicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service :)”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I had lunch at this lovely restaurant and were delighted with the excellent food and service. Alice, our waitress, provided us with top notch service, and was very informative with the menu options. The special portuguese dessert is a must have (if you still have room for dessert)! We shall definitely be back :o)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
180 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great atmosphere, great service!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I was on a business trip seeing a couple of our stores in downtown Montreal and walked by this place on Monday evening and it was packed! We all said we wanted to come back after reading the menu so we made it a point on Tuesday morning to call and make reservations (actually we used Open Table) and made our last appointment near the restaurant Tuesday night. Wow what amazing food, great atmosphere, great service... Oh and even packed again on Tuesday!

I had roasted tomato, red pepper and chorizo soup all pureed together... Yum!! Then port base crusted cod, mashed potatoes!

Any time I am back here I will make it a point to eat here!

Thanks Ferreira!

Helpful?
Thank FEOHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
271 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Well located Portuguese Restaurant”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

In a very central location, this Portuguese restaurant is a good option for both business people and family visits. Go for fish options, I recommend the Salmon Tartar and the grilled Tuna for main dish. They have an OK wine selection and their service is pretty good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HugoD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferreira Cafe also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Ferreira Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing