We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chez Leveque restaurant - 40 th anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Leveque

Chez Leveque
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Leveque is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #364 of 5,682 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: Hutchison
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“chez Leveque restaurant - 40 th anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very good french cuisine. Small portions but very tasty. In french we call it a gourmet restaurant (you go there for the taste of the food ) instead of a gourmand restaurant ( you go there to fill up your belly) . Polite, prompt service.and quite good selection of wines. , The big minus: verry dissapointing dessert fo a classy restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onedidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    73
    51
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime restaurant on Laurier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We often go for lunch. The staff is friendly and helpful. Portions are small for supper but great for lunch. One of our favorites is the salmon tartare with homemade fries! The bread is fresh and served to your heart's content. The desserts are good. The restaurant is clean and beautiful and the upstairs can be reserved for larger parties. Great place in the heart of Laurier for people watching. Very popular with the French entertainment stars. Don't forget to reserve even for lunch as it gets quite busy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FMJNLuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“40th anniversary”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

As I tend to go out with the family for a nice evening, Chez Leveque had won some credit during our first visit. This wasn't the case for our second time around. As our family got in, we were very well accomodated and seated. All waiters and waitresses were at their finest and the service was as usual, classic French class. Most of us had ordered from the 40th anniversary menu which gave us several choices of dishes. This is when I flipped! You would believe that the main entrées are small because of the bigger main plate! WRONG! It's all little bites for a ridiculous amount. I had the fillet mignon which pretty had the size of a mcdonalds meat burger. They even put the meat on top of a toasted bread to make you think the steak is bigger. Not to mention that their meat was horrible with no flavor to it. My dad has the fish and enjoyed it but did also complain about the amount given. Its as if they're scared to run out of stock for the week!

To be honnest, if you're ready to pay for what you want, hit the MONTREAL OLD PORT! I am a french montreal resident and have seen several places. Leveque has dropped in their standings so take the time to look around else where unless you want to lose your money!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OLI A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormstown, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Tiny Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were using a Groupon coupon which advertised 2 for the price of one. A fixed several course menu of several courses was said to be $60.00 per person, and at this rate, only $30.00. All would have been a believable savings, were it not for the appetizer sized main course. I had the salmon (1/2 inch thick and very small). Served with 3 bites of polenta and 3 bites of a spinach timbale, it was a disappointment. The filet mignon chosen by my partner, was a man's 2 bites. The plates were attractively embellished to cover the mostly empty space on the plate. Dessert was ho hum. That said, every bite of the meal was delicious, and at $30.00 per person not at all disappointing. Misleading however...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoppiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
530 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Authentic French”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere. Superb wine list. Interesting cuisine with special presentation. Parking is difficult. Service staff helpful but may be challenged in English.

Helpful?
Thank gorlinjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Leveque also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Leveque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing