We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food, Tiny Portions”
Review of Chez Leveque

Chez Leveque
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Leveque is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #367 of 5,769 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: Hutchison
Ormstown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Tiny Portions”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were using a Groupon coupon which advertised 2 for the price of one. A fixed several course menu of several courses was said to be $60.00 per person, and at this rate, only $30.00. All would have been a believable savings, were it not for the appetizer sized main course. I had the salmon (1/2 inch thick and very small). Served with 3 bites of polenta and 3 bites of a spinach timbale, it was a disappointment. The filet mignon chosen by my partner, was a man's 2 bites. The plates were attractively embellished to cover the mostly empty space on the plate. Dessert was ho hum. That said, every bite of the meal was delicious, and at $30.00 per person not at all disappointing. Misleading however...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoppiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    76
    53
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Authentic French”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere. Superb wine list. Interesting cuisine with special presentation. Parking is difficult. Service staff helpful but may be challenged in English.

Helpful?
Thank gorlinjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“40th anniversary of haute Cuisine”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Leveque on Laurier Ave in Montreal is a wonderful place with solid quality cuisine for the last 40 years. The owner has devoted his life to the highest standards in his restaurant. My family has been going to this restaurant for many years and we have nothing but compliments on the quality of the dishes and service. The wine list is also carefully pared for the various dishes on offer. If you want a truly remarkable French Cuisine experience Leveque is the place in Montreal. Highly recommended. Reservations are usually required this is a well known restaurant with high reputation and well established clientele.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UnforgettableRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food. Challenging parking.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Excellent salmon tartar. Make sure to pay a visit to the very inspiring restrooms. Parking very difficult.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VKassardjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“The Bishop's Place”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Chez Leveque (notice, no S) is French for "The Bishop's Place." After having walked by for so many years we decided to try this restaurant based on a local deal that we found. We were delighted, not only by the lovely terrasse in front of the restaurant but also by the professional and attentive service, from the maitre d' to the whole wait team) as well as the tasty and well prepared food. We had the lobster bisque, the coconut shrimp, bouillabaisse (traditional Marseilles Fish Stew) and the boudin noir (black pudding). Everything was wonderful and it was so nice to sit in their terrasse and enjoy the world walk by while letting time slip by and enjoying ourselves. The glasses were filled at the time, they asked if you wanted fresh baguette and the service could not have been batter.I am usually not a fan of bistro, but this was so well prepared and tasty that all I am thinking about is when I can return! Recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelAdviceCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Leveque also viewed

 

Been to Chez Leveque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing