We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service, Beautiful Dining Room, Very Good Food”
Review of Beaver Club - CLOSED

Beaver Club
Price range: $54 - $211
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Mansfield
Description: Grâce à sa riche histoire, son ambiance feutrée et sa cuisine raffinée, Le Beaver Club est une destination gastronomique appréciée des Montréalais et des touristes depuis plus de 50 ans. Le Chef exécutif Alain Pignard s’inspire des meilleurs produits du terroir québécois pour élaborer des menus inventifs à l’image de nos saisons. Le restaurant propose des tables d’hôte et des menus de dégustation ainsi que des plats de haute cuisine à la carte. Thanks to its unique history, elegant ambiance and gourmet cuisine, the Beaver Club is a memorable gourmet destination appreciated by locals and international guests alike. Executive Chef Alain Pignard is known for his creative and modern cuisine inspired by the best local ingredients from the season. The Beaver Club offers table d’hôte and tasting menus as well as à la carte dishes showcasing the bounty of Québec.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant that exudes old style graciousness and charm. The service is as good as it gets and the food was very good. My wife had prime rib, which was very good, and I had a lobster dish that was very well prepared. The recommended wine pairings were also excellent, as were the breads, desserts, and coffee. This is a wonderful place for a serious meal, but potential diners should be mindful that there is a dress code (business casual will do, though it is more of a tie and jacket establishment) and the menu is fairly pricey. Overall, though, this is a fine restaurant that is well worth the investment in a good meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank docboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Beaver Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear docboar - Thank you for visiting the Beaver Club restaurant. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your dining experience with us, from the lovely service to the great quality of food. We do hope to welcome you and your wife back in the future. Many thanks and regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 92 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is good with elements of fabulous but falls short on a few fronts. I glad I tried it but will not come back. Perhaps using Alberta beef would correct the overly tough and tasteless cut of beef! Dessert was too sweet and not at all impressive. Service is interesting. A lot of men swirling in circles doing ?
Sadly not what I expected, not even close but over all good. For the money you can do much better

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lunapanzerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here. Took a chance walking in without a reservation as the restaurant we had planned on going to had changed their menu from the usual to a less interesting one. We had stumbled onto a wine degustation evening on a Tuesday when the Beaver Club is usually closed. We were initially told the room was already booked up. My wife mentioned that it was our anniversary, how we had long wanted to eat here and what had happened at the other place. The evening was a 5 course "menu fixe" that had already begun serving. The maitre d' told us to hold on and he would see what he could do and spoke the chef. They made room for us and we had one of the best meals and service that I think is possible. Knowledgable, professional, friendly without being intrusive servers appearing and disappearing as if into thin air. Food was superb. We were made to feel not as if we were the gate-crashers we were but members of their family. Absolutely a wonderful experience in every way. It may be difficult to go to another restaurant now that we have seen how fine dining is supposed to be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stevet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Beaver Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Stevet55 - Thank you for such delightful comments about your recent visit to the Beaver Club restaurant. We're happy we were able to accommodate you on such a joyful occasion. Congratulations again on your 25th wedding anniversary. We appreciate your feedback and truly hope you will return again in the future for another wonderful dining experience. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went there for Mother's Day brunch ( 3 of us)
Fabulous food from oyesters, shrimps, crab legs to various eotic and regular salads a as well as a choice of main courses from veal to fish or roastbeef - 3 of us took the roastbeef: delicious-
A table full of a variety of desserts and great choice for cheeses as well
Service excellent. Wine was included in the brunch
They make the best martini is in town.
Would recommend for supper also as we went there recently and it was simply the best in MOntreal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Beaver Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Lorraine V - Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience for both Mother's Day Brunch and dinner at the Beaver Club restaurant. We're glad to read you had a most memorable time and we look forward to welcoming you back for another special occasion or simply for another wonderful meal. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place carries the style and class of a grand restaurant experience. Fab food, great service. Very pricey but worth a visit at least once in a life time. Many a deal has been brokered here over a business lunch. Could be a scene from a modern era MadMen show.

Thank Plaflamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Beaver Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Plaflamme - Thank you for your recent review of the Beaver Club restaurant. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. It's most definitely a unique restaurant, with history and charm and we thank you for recognizing the great service and food provided. Many thanks and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Club also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing