We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special treat.”
Review of Beaver Club - CLOSED

Beaver Club
Price range: $54 - $211
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Mansfield
Description: Grâce à sa riche histoire, son ambiance feutrée et sa cuisine raffinée, Le Beaver Club est une destination gastronomique appréciée des Montréalais et des touristes depuis plus de 50 ans. Le Chef exécutif Alain Pignard s’inspire des meilleurs produits du terroir québécois pour élaborer des menus inventifs à l’image de nos saisons. Le restaurant propose des tables d’hôte et des menus de dégustation ainsi que des plats de haute cuisine à la carte. Thanks to its unique history, elegant ambiance and gourmet cuisine, the Beaver Club is a memorable gourmet destination appreciated by locals and international guests alike. Executive Chef Alain Pignard is known for his creative and modern cuisine inspired by the best local ingredients from the season. The Beaver Club offers table d’hôte and tasting menus as well as à la carte dishes showcasing the bounty of Québec.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A special treat.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Buffalo Filet Mignon and Prime Rib were excellent. Cocktails were spot-on, diverse and generous. Service was friendly and responsive. After dinner chocolates, truffles and macaroons were a very nice touch. Atmosphere is warm and luxurious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buchans79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Beaver Club, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Buchans79 - The entire team at Le Beaver Club thanks you for your great review. We're delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience with us. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Montreal. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    14
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“most aweful experience ever...”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

DO not go to this restaurant. The servers are condescending and snobbish. The food arrived cold and we were charged for the tip without knowing so we paid for it twice... I would tell you to stay as far away as possible.

Helpful?
Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Beaver Club, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Marjorie R - We're deeply sorry to hear your evening wasn't memorable. We were quite surprised to read the details of your dining experience. We would greatly appreciate if you could contact us directly at qeh.hotel@fairmont.com as we would like to investigate and better understand what happened. We take your comments very seriously and please rest assured the situation will be addressed. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as this is certainly not in keeping with our very high standards of service. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Further to my previous review of the Beaver Club, I was offer a gift certificat on wine!!

Out of love for food and to be honest in what I am saying, I accpeted the invitation!

The service : since I had complain about it and that they were waiting for me ``the complainer``` `was too good to a point I questioned if they were laughing at me.
It was VERY NOT genuine... they were aware and gave me a "too much RIDICULOUS show"!
I beleive we just desire a honest service and very good food... Personnaly I WOULD never buy the "fake"; aLL i WANT IS very simply what to except from that "recognize restaurant!:

I am French... it is so sad the concept of "restauration", the concept of Momsieur Jean-Marie at Taillevent is not more popular here!

All this been said.... the food (asparagus first course followed by the "fish en papillotte``` was simply ok, compare to my previous experiment.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The culture of the province comes through. Food an service are authentic Canadian and excellent. The location is near all downtown hotels and the menu selection are unique.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BedbugPhobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Beaver Club, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest - Thank you very much for visiting us at the Beaver Club restaurant. We greatly appreciate your superb comments about the quality of the food as well as the service provided. The entire team looks forward to your next visit. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“5 stars. If you haven't been go there ight away”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

One of Montreal's best. best service in montreal period. Food is beautiful and delicious. pricey but worth every penny. a 'must visit' 'classic' montreal resto. 5 stars without hesitation.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Telio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Beaver Club, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Telio P - Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Beaver Club restaurant. We're all delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed the food as well as the service. We most certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Club also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing