We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unremarkable and Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bato Thai

Bato Thai
Ranked #1,226 of 5,656 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Village (Gay Village)
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
135 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unremarkable and Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The fact that this restaurant had only one table filled while the other restaurants in the area were packed should have been a strong indication of what was to come. But I had my heart set on Thai. I ordered the Tom Kha soup and an appetizer of fried dumplings. The soup looked attractive and came in a generous bowl. But it lacked the richness and complexity I was hoping for. The dumplings were unremarkable. The peanut dipping sauce tasted fine but was very thin. Service was also unremarkable. Skip Bato Thai.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isthmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Under-average Thai with Awful Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Was there on a Wed eve about 9pm. Was the last Wed Summer fireworks show for 2013. Weren't particularly packed, but waitress was inattentive downright rude (according to my francophone friend--I don't speak French). I live on the Pacific Rim in California, so I know authentic Thai. Food was poor--I said "under-average" as part of the review title, but I think that's being overly generous. Best part was being outside people-watching. Yet even just requesting a table cleared outside was a major effort. Have low expectations if you go...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quesillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

VERY GOOD!! food is delicious, service is perfect, great atmosphere! I definitely recommand this place!! must try!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“NEW ADRESSS! 1694 STE CATHERINE/PAPINEAU”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The restaurant has moved on to 1694 ste catherine/papineau. I really love the new one, its more clean and beautifull. They did a nice job! Even if they moved on fay away, i prefer the new one! The service is really better and the food is always very good! And just so you know, others reviews are really exagerating about everything. They just had a rought night. Nothing cant be perfect! Anyways, very good people who works there and you should go to the new place, its very better , you WONT regret it!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JessikaPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money ... and tastes great too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I love this restaurant. The food and service are great. Rarely a wait to get in. Warm, friendly atmosphere. The Pad Thai is very good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bato Thai also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Bato Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing