We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Should be on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Drives!”

Marven's Restaurant
Ranked #414 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Neighborhood: Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This Place Should be on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Drives!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

When you see the restaurant from outside, you think you're about to enter a 2-star restaurant. But once you have just one taste of the amazing things they have to offer, you'll want to go there everyday! The highlights for me were definitely the fried calamari and squid, and the souvlaki brochettes and pitas. If you're in the area, you HAVE TO pass by the restaurant!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    65
    29
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our meal at Marven's was amongst the best Greek food I've ever had. And I'm Greek! The portions were huge and the food was so simple but flavorful! Calamari and Quail appetizers. And steak and lamb chops for dinner. So delicious!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Shabby chic without the chic... But delicious!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

It had been 8 years since I'd last been to Marven's and it definitely hasn't changed a bit! Same moose head in the wall, same old decor, but the food and prices are why you come back. Awesome calamari, great steak, their original steak sauce in a big bottle on the table, their souvlakis... Always come with a big appetite and no one can ever finish their plate! Loud, messy and fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ditchchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Why the lineups?”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Based on favorable comments by Anthony Bourdain we decided to give Marven's another try.
Not much change from previous visit five years ago. Basic decor and lineups.
Service was friendly but slow with a few mistakes.
Food overall was poor. The famous calamari was passable, quite tender but greasy. Souvlaki pita was pitiful. Pork was dry and tasteless, tzatziki was runny and tasteless and even the pita managed to be tasteless. Side "Greek" salad's only discernible taste was salt. Fries were soggy.
Gyro had a lot of fatty pieces.
Baklava for dessert was good.
It's cheap but not worth the ambience, neighborhood and wait.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Go to Village Grecque instead”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The chicken souvlaki was very bland, tasteless, the pita bread seriously mushy, not enough tzaziki and after eating here we all had diarreaha and pain in our stomachs. The calamari which is supposed to be the best in montreal was really soggy and nothing special - we by far get better, fresher, more flavourful greek food at Village Grecque on Jean Talon. Marvens had its day, about 20 years ago. No more.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marven's Restaurant also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Marven's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing