We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretension., thy name is Europea.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Europea

Europea
Reserve with OpenTable
Europea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 5,670 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $66 - $88
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Sainte Catherine
Transit: Metro Peel on the green line
Description: Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jerome ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France" An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Pretension., thy name is Europea.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

A decent lunch, but not spectacular and although the staff were fawning the service actually delivered was OK. I went close to 10 minutes at one point without water.
I had a chicken dish that was fine but not any better than many in Montreal. My companion's fish (sea bass) was also fine, also not spectacular.
There appears to be far too much emphasis on extras, and I would be more impressed by really making what I ordered memorable.
We were given a goat cheese appetizer on a stick that was ok, a carmelized proccutio that was too tough to chew, seasoned but stale popcorn, a cauliflower soup in an expresso cup to drink, a small box of home-made Madeline's in a carry-out box (I was there on business, who wants a carry-out box...), and a small pile of red cotton candy, all not ordered. Apparently, many people like that but I would have been much happier with a better main dish and perhaps a gentle sherbet for the palate.
The choice of dessert was various mousses in a two-shot glass. Fine, but perhaps I would have liked a cake, who knows.
All in all, not the best that Montreal has to offer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean T, Restaurant Manager at Europea, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear jeanlf,

Thank you for visiting us on the lunch time and for your constructive comment. I'm sorry than we left your water glass empty for about 10 minutes. This is not acceptable! For the box of home-made Madeleine's we have so many business man who love to take it back for their kids or for coworkers.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,784
    313
    132
    51
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing, Amazing, Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Europea is not a restaurant, it is a sensorial experience.

As soon as you walk through the front doors you a greated by a kind and warm staff that caters to your every needs. They do not judge and treat you as equals even if its clear you get to eat in a place like this once every five years.

Throughout the meal, the service, food and presentations made me smile, surprised me, made me feel amazed and every bite I took was so perfect I almost cried a little. It was an amazing experience well worth the price that I would strongly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean T, Restaurant Manager at Europea, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Priscilla M,

Thank you, thank you and thank you for your visit in February 2014 and especially for the comment you did write on Tripadvisor. It's so important to see how you describe your emotion

We look forward to serving you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was there for diner with my husband and children for our wedding anniversary. We would not normally bring Young children (7 & 12) like ours to such a long diner (2 and half hours) but it was so entertaining by all the courses coming with beautiful présentations that it didn't feel long at all.
We all loved the présentations, the quality of the food, the service, everything is perfect and especially the price is so reasonable for that level of restaurant. We have travelled the world and eaten in many of Alain Ducasse's, Daniel Boulud, Joel Robuchon and El Bulli restaurant and Europea has nothing to envy from those restaurants!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nathalie1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean T, Restaurant Manager at Europea, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Nathalie 1810,

Thank you very much for your last visit in May 2014. We are very happy than you had a great time with your family for a moment so important, your Wedding Anniversary.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had teh degustation menu. Sevice is fantastic and the meal is contemprary French food with excellent presentation. Played to a Canadian theme with an Amuse Bouche of Jerked beef on a mini clothes pin. The risotto with Scampi was the best I have eaten as was the Lobster Cappuchino. Make sure you save room for the Dessert plate.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rsan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

For a memeroble dining experience I recommend the Tasting menu with wine pairing. It might hurt your wallet but it will please your pallet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fady_Rayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Europea also viewed

 

Been to Europea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing