We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“INCREDIBLE!! Must go!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Europea

Europea
Reserve with OpenTable
Europea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 5,668 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $66 - $88
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Sainte Catherine
Transit: Metro Peel on the green line
Description: Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jerome ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France" An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!! Must go!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Europea is not a dinner... it's an experience! For starters, the price is very reasonable compared with most tasting menus at top restaurants. From the moment you sit down, the service is impeccable. Our bartender made the best martinis that we have ever had, period. The presentation was unique, and it made each course feel like an event. The food was delicious, and the ambiance is romantic. We had a wonderful time and would love to go back if we are in Montreal again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGalAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,784
    313
    132
    51
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So Amazing, Great fun. Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Our thanks to Jean and his team. We were beyond delighted. There was a magic to the evening, excellence in the food (the meal of a life time, dine out menu), seamlessness to the service and great sense of fun. We will be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner with my cheri!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went there for our wedding anniversar!!! Reservation madr by my husband.. At first i was little bite worry because pricy is the restaurant and very poor is the food but this time it was different i really love the experience and i want to renew the experience. Yes, the portion are a little bite small but that come with fancy restaurant. Would do it again anytime. The food taste great and had a lot of flavours. Ambiance was sooo romantic and cozy, everything in that restaurant make you relaxe and feel special. Waiters and maitre d'hote make sure that everythin go well with your dinner and even ask you if you have allergy before you have to mention it!!! Oooooh that is awesome!! Love the place and will of course go back again!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank violette27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
442 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable meals of our lives.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

(see explanation of ratings below)

5 of 5 stars (excellent, fine dining).

Huge emphasis on creative showmanship and presentation.

About $90 per person, one cocktail each, no dessert, tax (15%) included, gratuity not included.

Allow 2.5 hours for the smaller of the two price fixe menus.

Simply wonderful event from start to finish.

We had about six amuse bouches including:

-Cheese "lollipops" with truffle popcorn
-jerky on a clothesline
-cheese "cigars"
-mini corn muffins
-book of smoking smoked salmon
-assorted mini desserts

Great service and very good sommelier, Jack Grimaudo.

About my ratings:

Only high-priced dining establishments can garner five stars. Until TripAdvisor realizes that a fast food joint cannot possibly be ranked equally with a $100 per person place, I need to draw the line somewhere. If we were only talking about the quality and presentation of the food, it would be a different story. But, as we know, TripAdvisor's rankings take into account the entire dining experience.

Therefore, I divide restaurants into three categories (and I wish TripAdvisor would do the same):

1) fast food and "fast-casual", low-priced (no table service).

2) casual, mid-priced dining (table service, average entrée price: $10-$20).

3) fine, high-priced dining (linen napkins, no plastic cups, no TV's in dining room, average entrée priced at more than $20, can vary depending on the city).

High-priced dining can earn a max of five stars. Mid-priced dining can earn a max of four stars. Fast food can earn a max of three stars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HomoQuiScitOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Came a couple years ago to Montreal and walked around to find this gem (not a hidden one apparently). Went in and had the tasting menu... it was excellent. There were three dessert courses, multiple amuse bouches, a to die for fresh pea lobster soup and too much else to mention. Rich flavours, great service, excellent value.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Europea also viewed

 

Been to Europea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing