We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Europea

Europea
Reserve with OpenTable
Europea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 5,682 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $87
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Sainte Catherine
Transit: Metro Peel on the green line
Description: Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jerome ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France" An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!
montreal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had been to this Restaurant when it first opened but had not been back for a few years. My sister in law from BC was done and I knew we could not go wrong with this choice. This was absolutely amazing. The service was great, food & presentation outstanding. Everything was timed perfectly. The lobster bisque was tops!. Thank you to all the staff for an amazing dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NyssaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,787
    313
    132
    51
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Dinner in Montreal so Far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Having recently dined at Daniel in New York (Michelin 3 star), I really wanted to compare it to what can be locally obtained in Montreal - Europea. Hence, my fiancée and I decided to celebrate our anniversary here.

Although the decor cannot match the lavish NY restaurant, the service is equally as good, and the food was even better. We ordered the "Table d’hôte découverte", and we enjoyed the many thoughtful surprises that the restaurant had for us (wont spoil the experience here). Since there's already so many review, I wont go too much more in detail. If you haven't tried Europea, you've missed out one of Montreal's best attractions :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dvd_920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunningly good and didn't leave hungry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Perhaps the most enjoyable meal I have ever had. Tasting menu (highly recommend this option) took about four hours, with a parade of unique and delicious dishes, each presented artfully and with a sense of humor. Extremely reasonable priced considering what you get and the effort that goes into each course. Unlike some similar menus, one absolutely does not leave hungry.
Favorites included parmesan lollipops, lobster cream soup, smoked salmon tart, chicken baked in clay, goat cheese creme brulee. I would have like fruit represented a bit more in the dessert courses but that's just a personal preference.
The physical plant is old stone walls in a townhouse in a trendy part of Montreal. Service items are specific to each course, interesting and artful. We sat at a bar-like table looking into the kitchen which was fun and very interesting for our business dinner, but the tables would be a better choice for a romantic dinner.
Overall, a perfect experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top of the bill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had made reservations by email. Our host Olivier had apparently recognised that we are from the Netherlands (where he had lived as a kid) and welcomed us in Dutch. Diner was as it should be in these upper echelons: outstanding! Who comes up with a "Smoking" Gravlax Salmon in a box the shape of a book, genius. Combination of wines: superb! Knebel white wine from Germany: 'une trouvaille'! To top it all we got a homemade brioche to take with us. This restaurant is worth the trip, which in the Michelin vocabulary means three stars!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AADHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a great 4th Anniv!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went here 2 years ago to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary! Service is excellent, ambiance, romantic, very descent and food presentation is really great!

Our first try of french cuisine and we're very happy to go here! It's really worth our money and hubby is much happier. His a very picky person when it comes to food taste and very particular with food presentation.

After our dinner he told me I did great for my research and its like his eating in Chef Ramsy restaurant!

I still have the lovely note that I got from the Chef John Ferrer! Try here it is a fabulous evening with a sparkly surprise for our anniversary gift!

Thank you for making our anniversary lovely! Cheers!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeyNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Europea also viewed

 

Been to Europea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing