We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superlative dining experience”
Review of Europea

Europea
Reserve with OpenTable
Europea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $66 - $88
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Sainte Catherine
Transit: Metro Peel on the green line
Description: Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jerome ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France" An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superlative dining experience”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Outside of France, this is the most spectacular dining experience I've ever had. No detail was missed, wait staff could not have been more friendly and attentive, food was delicious, atmosphere was elegant. It would be misleading to call a meal at Europea "dining out." It is more like a performance--a culinary "ballet" or a personal drama in 11 or 12 acts (i.e, courses). A truly memorable occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,800
    317
    135
    52
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
608 reviews
429 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“One of my best dinning experiences ever!!!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My dinner at Europea was excellent. We had the six course meal and wine pairing. We were actually served ten courses. The chef added some specials.
Every course was served in a unique manner, using Very imaginative serving-ware.
The food was amazing and creative. And the wines were a perfect match for every course.
The waiter was excellent and had a good sense of humor.
We had a private table for four. The noise level was perfect. We could hear our table conversation.
This dinning experience will be tough to beat. Spectacular meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BAHuston3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best 4 hours of fine dining you can spend in Montreal”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Don't hesitate a second if you love fine dining, choose the "menu degustation" for the best 4 hours you can spend in Montreal.

The 12 courses are all delicate, full of flavours and textures, there are superb combinations of noble ingredients. Truly creative presentations, not only exciting for the eyes but also have a meaningful culinary purpose, dishes are served at exactly the perfect temperature. The menu is well structured, execution in the kitchen is flawless and the service is just right: this is an experience beyond words. But Chef Ferrer also knows the values of simple things: nothing beats a candy floss as a pre-dessert to put a smile on your face! And after a peek in the kitchen, you leave with a brioche and meringues, to prolong the experience at breakfast the next morning: what a nice touch!

A truly exceptional restaurant, value for money and worthy of all the accolades !! Bravo Chef Ferrer and his team!

Just don't be defeated by the on-line booking system if no table seems available: call, and call again to get a reservation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“world class - perfect for out of town business visitors”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very consistent! Amazing food and service. Truly an experience.
world class - perfect for out of town business visitors

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtlf00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A surreal experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Many reputable people recommended this restaurant and I finally managed to find an opportunity. It doesn't look like nothing special from the outside but within seconds of sitting my guests and I were swept away. We each ordered two courses but were brought about 15 different tongs which were each spectacular and outrageous. There were quebec cheese cigars in a cigar box, smoking bibles with maple smoked salmon, uzu foam cucumber ice cream with liquid nitrogen, lobster cappuccinos, etc, etc. the service was legendary. We dine at high end spots around North American and this impressed all of us. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and respectful. Would go back for sure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Europea also viewed

 

Been to Europea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing