We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The coconut shrimp is to die for.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Delices De L'ile Maurice
Ranked #2,417 of 5,723 Restaurants in Montreal
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The coconut shrimp is to die for.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

You can mix-and-match your meal, pairing a choice of meats and seafood with different sauces. Most plates come with a cabbage appetizer that is original and amazing. The soup is also delicious and included in the meal. You can add appetizers if you want but the portions are so generous that you don't really need to! A lot of the food is fried and can be heavy, so maybe not the best choice if you are on a diet... But the coconut shrimp is to die for.

Staff is very attentive without being overbearing.

From the outside the restaurant doesn't really look appealing. The decor isn't inviting or modern... But it's gone better over time.

Price range: Appetizers $3-$4, mains $11-$14, desserts $3.50

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BraindeadBidule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
130 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not as good with new team in charge”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

There used to be a colourful chef who did everything in the restaurant, from ordering, to cooking and washing the dishes. The owner chef has retired. The new owner brought his family. The menu is about the same as before but there is less home made preparation and there is more usage of commercial preparation especially with the sauces. Not expenseive but not worth the trouble.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RuyBlasHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great start -- horrific finish.”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I was walking in the neighborhood at lunch and decided "hey, here's somewhere I've never been". Well, I wish I'd kept walking. It was lunchtime, and the restaurant was empty, not a good sign. Sat down and ordered Calamar, and my friend ordered Noodles with Chicken. The appetizers and soup were incredible, the fried cabbage was a real treat, and the soup was spicy, homemade and satisfied absolutely. Where could this go wrong? Well, the main dishes came and my Calamari tasted more like old shoes, and had a horrific consistency. I sent it back. My dining mate dove into her noodles and chicken, and it had zero taste. The owner charged me FULL PRICE for two meals that were inedible, and appeared to become extremely agitated. Needless to say I'd never eat there, nor would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank winickj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Very interesting ambiance, wacky chef but food is too greasy for my taste”
Reviewed January 14, 2008

Very interesting ambiance, wacky chef but food is too greasy for my taste

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Authentic food ile Maurice bring your own wine humle athmosphere”
Reviewed December 26, 2007

Authentic food ile Maurice bring your own wine humle athmosphere

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delices De L'ile Maurice also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Delices De L'ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing