We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a great experience!”
Review of Da Emma

Da Emma
Ranked #204 of 5,778 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Truly a great experience!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was my first dinner at Da Emma and what a great experience it was. My Italian host had been telling me about this place, so we scheduled a business dinner for 6 last night. The old stone basement has tremendous character and atmosphere. The drinks, wine and food rivaled some of the meals I had this summer in Italy. We were even invited back to the kitchen and met Ms Emma.
The veal meat balls were wonderful. Everything including Ms Emma was totally authentic! Can't wait to go again on my next trip to Montreal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    77
    51
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at Da Emma with 7 friends”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Franco the waiter was excellent
We even got a great photo with Emma in her spotless kitchen
Perfect evening for our reunion

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food, ambience and service outstanding”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The restaurant is in Old Montreal in the basement of an old building which used to be a prison. It is very nice. To start they bring you bruschetta which is so delicious. Ripe tomatoes and nice tasting olive oil. My husband and I each had a garden salad with their oil and vinegar dressing which was the best I've ever tasted! We split the meatballs which were so delicious and also split a fettuccine dish. It was quite filling. I really appreciated that they take their time serving the next dish to let your food digest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisalisa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian food - great ambiance”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great food every time, good wine and nice atmosphere. Nice with family but good for romantic dinners. The agnolotti is my favorite dish there.

Helpful?
1 Thank gabrielle-reda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Genuine Roman menu, excellent service, in a prison!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This restaurant is definitely worth the walk from the old town.
Be sure you have reservations, and don't be shy to ask lots of questions about the endless menu to the Italian speaking wait staff.
The location is also special. It really is an old women's prison, and your eyes will need to adjust to the dark (but romantic) setting once you arrive.
Patrons were a mix of business, family, couples, friends, and tourists, all nicely dressed and enjoying fantastic food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dwight B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Emma also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Da Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing