We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for downtown old Montreal and cruise ship travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Ranked #26 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location for downtown old Montreal and cruise ship travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location is great for seeing old Montreal downtown and being near the ST. Lawrence river. Our room was large. They didn't supply dishes, silverware or pan/pots for the kitchen. One floor tile had dislodged in the kitchen and was loosely propped up against the wall (not repaired). Fold out couch bed had torn blankets. The carpet was in terrible dirty,soiled condition and in need of a shampoo. Room furnishings/decorations were nice though. A couple of the front desk staff seemed rushed and not very friendly. Hotel Concierge's were always friendly, polite, helpful and even worked later hours then I expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    613
    166
    58
    42
See reviews for
491
573
77
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I don't know why I forget how spacious Embassy Suites are, and how nice. Families should stay nowhere else-- with that kind of room for kids. And two TVs! Easy walk to Old Montreal; right across the street from Convention Center. The standard breakfast buffet included with custom omelettes.

Room Tip: higher floor to avoid city traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Overall a good hotel at a good location. I have two gripes : First, I didn't like the fact that the dirty dishes from the neighboring room's food service was not picked up in over 24 hours. Second, the manager's reception was a mess, since there were too many customers requesting free drinks through too few (overworked) waiters.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank devout_hindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights of vacation. You are two blocks away from Old Montreal and the Notre Dame cathedral. There is a Metro stop across the street.

I had a King with some minor upgrades due to my Hilton Honors gold status (fireplace and spa tub). Very stylish room with full kitchen. Comfortable bed. Big bathroom although the shower stall is so small you cannot bend over. No views from any of the rooms in this hotel. Excellent air conditioning in a city that has an issue with proper A/C.

The only knocks on this hotel are some of the common areas. There are only two elevators serving a large hotel. Long waits were common and some of the people on lower floors couldn't even get on due to full elevators. The breakfast area was a madhouse every morning. I've stayed in many Embassy Suites and this one was not designed with the large lobby of the others. The entire check-in area was constantly crowded and very noisy.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. Just give yourself a few extra minutes to get downstairs and be prepared for the crowds and noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights, and this hotel turned out to be the right size and the right location for a family of four (with two early teenagers) that was in Montreal for the first time to explore. Right size: the room was spacious with a kitchenette (and dishwasher, seriously), a huge bathroom with jacuzzi, and bedroom separated from living room by solid pocket doors. Just a five minute walk to Vieux-Montreal, through Place d'Armes at the foot of Notre Dame Basilica. Parking is on-site and worth the $26 per night for 24-hour in-and-out privileges. We have a decent-sized minivan (Saturn Relay), but had no problem maneuvering in the tight driveway, low(ish) clearance, and parking slots. Breakfast was fine, but poorly organized (juices tucked away in a corner that caused traffic delays to stretch out into the lobby, about 15-20 people deep). Not your typical Embassy Suites set up, due to the floor plan of the restaurant area, which is too small for the number of guests this hotel can house. The guys that work the room really hustle to keep the place clean, but seem to struggle to keep up with demand of certain breakfast items like bowls, or cereals. A minor complaint, really, when your breakfast is included, and certainly not a showstopper for us. We knew that if we got down for breakfast between 7:30 and 8:15, we'd avoid the rush that happens from 8:30 on. Staff is friendly, helpful, and responsive. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the location especially if you are mindful of budget,convenience, and comfort. Walk to Old Montreal with history, shopping, and restaurants. Near the Old Port,Chinatown,metro, Catherine(Fifth Avenue),Starbucks. The staff works very hard to please. Plus happy hour and breakfast. I think it's a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiesta1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this Embassy Suites in May. The room was adequate, although there was something behind a locked off door in the bedroom area that made the door rattled all night long. I think it had something to do with AC/heat. The bed was very comfortable and pillows were good. The hide a bed was just mediocre (aren't they all). Not much room to walk around when you opened it up. The bathroom is huge and it was nice to have a separate mirror other than the one over the sink. The breakfast is a bit of a gong show. This ticket thing is so mixed up. One day the guy at the entrance takes your ticket, then the waiter is asking us for our tickets. Makes you feel like you have to defend that you really are a legitimate customer. Then one day you are just supposed to drop them in a container at the entry area. Embassy Suites should change this. The front desk staff were very nice and the Door Man was very helpful with restaurant suggestions. I feel like this hotel is trying to be up there with the other 4 or 5 star hotels, but, there are just so many little things that make it fall way short of that. It was fine, but, I would definitely look at other choices next time I'm in Montreal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packupyourbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#20 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#27 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#33 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites Old Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Address: 208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Montreal
#23 Family Hotel in Montreal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites is Montréal's newest downtown "Suite" hotel. With a contemporary style, our uniqueness extends to our "Zen" inspired lobby décor featuring wood paneling and ceilings, black granite floors, and an indoor water display. Offering so much more than ordinary rooms, our 455 square-foot studios and 600 square-foot suites are well equipped; many with full kitchens, fireplaces, and "double" Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing