We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for Grand prix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
McGill New Residence Hall
Ranked #120 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
NB
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Great spot for Grand prix”
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for the 2010 Canadian Grand Prix. All other hotels in downtown Montreal were very expensive!! The residence was very reasonably priced and was in an excellent location. Breakfast was provided in the caferteria (free up to $6) Am planning on going staying again next year!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenCh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    37
    23
    26
    13
See reviews for
24
16
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Great place to stay to save a buck, located on the northeastern fringe of McGill's campus about 0.75 km north of most of the downtown action. Definitely a great spot to say for Grand Prix weekend. About a 1 km walk to the nearest train station, and plenty of buses going by to get you around. Easily walking distance to St. Laurent or a short cab ride to Saint Catherines street for amazing bistro dining and bars, with clubs hidden here and there. We only used a cab to and from the airport as there is no other easy access unless you want to drag your suitcases onto the bus.

Rooms were nothing special. Ordinary curved glass TV, an empty fridge which was a bonus (there is a Provigo or "Superstore" just south of the hotel), and a so-so bed. But for the money, you can't beat it! Definitely 5-star value. Staff were all excellent to interact with and very helpful. Will definitely stay here again for Grand Prix.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyk331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Good price for Montreal area. Bus stops near front of hotel and you can easily walk to downtown. Don't expect a king size single bed, since this is a student dorm after summer, and rooms are arranged for 2 room mates. Breakfast is limited to $6 worth of food in the cafeteria, then you pay on top of that.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Having stayed in Montreal several times it was a pleasure to stay at
the McGill New Residence Hall. Formerly a hotel this Residence is
now part of McGill University's Residences. It is located close
enough to downtown Montreal yet still a few blocks away to get away
from the noise of the downtown core. The New Residence Hall is
within easy walk of all the major shops and the Metro. The Residence
Hall is also connected to a neighbourhood mall with grocery stores,
restaurants, bars, drug store and most of anything you would need.
The room rate that I had also included a voucher towards breakfast
in the Cafeteria. Depending on what you have this voucher will or
could cover all the value of your breakfast. Lunch and dinner need to
be outside the hall as the cafeteria is only open for breakfast. There
are lots of neat bistros and restaurants in the area. When visiting
Montreal I would recommend obtaining a OPUS card -- it is a
rechargable card (like London's Oyster Card) It is good for travel on
the Metro and bus system. Also if you are arriving in Montreal by air
at Pierre Elliott Trudeau airport and do not want to take a taxi to town
try the new 747 Express Bus. Currently the fare is $7.00 one way
(cash only) and includes a 24 hour pass on the rest of the transit
and metro. It operates 24 hours a day 7 days a week.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Stayed here while at a conference at McGill. The hotel is simply good enough, it's better than the equivalent halls at Imperial in London, and not as good as the Seoul Plaza in Korea: but then one is a five star hotel and the other's a British university halls, so what would you expect.
The room was acceptably warm (Montreal in June was miserable), the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was good but simple (not fancily chopped melon bites and a hundred types of eggs). The staff had a studenty vibe: but then I quite like students.
The metro is about 10 minutes walk at Place-Des-Art, and below the hotel is one of Montreal's mass of underground passageways and malls. Apparently you can navigate a lot of downtown Montreal underground.
The hotel is a couple of hundred metres from the southern edge of Mont Royale, never did find a way onto the park, maybe next time.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering_Bukanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

I stayed in Bishop Mountain Hall's Molson Hall and I had lots of bed bug like bites each morning I stayed there.

However, I searched the room for all the signs of an infestation or for bugs and I didn't find any evidence. That being said the cinderblock walls leave lots of little places for the bugs to hide out. Since it's hard to say if it's a BB bite for SURE without evidence all I can say was I was getting bites at night and they weren't mosquito bites. There were also smears of blood on the sheets which is another sign of bed bugs.

Upon looking when I got home other McGill residences have confirmed bed bug cases including the most public case in MORE.

Aside from the bugs, the rooms were alright. Price was good. Staff weren't informative but nice. Apparently I got free breakfast (up to $5 each day and wasn't told until the last day after it ended - nice). Lack of knowledge about airport shuttles which ended up in me not getting a pickup shuttle back. No wifi access unless you stay more that 14 nights but free use of computers between 7am and 10 pm. I would prefer wifi personally. The view was great from my room... and since it's on a hill you can see a very lovely cityscape. They call this Bishop Mountain Hall for a reason.... you do have to travel up and down a hill to get there... which is very exausting after a long day of exploring.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelepassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prato
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

I stayed here for over a week as part of a plan to recharge my batteries on a round-the-world trip. I'd been staying in shared hostel rooms and needed some time out on my own.
McGill was just the place, offering single student rooms at a great price.
The location was fantastic, rooms weren't too cramped and the breakfast was generous. The only downside was the lack of air conditioning. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#88 of 164 in Montreal
120 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#19 of 164 in Montreal
543 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#118 of 164 in Montreal
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#28 of 164 in Montreal
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGill New Residence Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGill New Residence Hall

Property: McGill New Residence Hall
Address: 3625 Avenue du Parc, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — McGill New Residence Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your McGill New Residence Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcgill New Residence Hall Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing