We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“title”
Review of Hotel Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa
Ranked #120 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“title”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My cousin and I stayed at the beautiful Hotel Villa between aug 1-4 for Osheaga and it was a perfect place to sleep. The room was clean, cheap, and in a great location.
The room they provided us with was comparable to a long hallway with a bed at the end of it. The hotel was nice enough to have wrapped the mattress in plastic so that we knew it was clean.
Every floor had an extra bathroom so if you're sharing a room with someone there are no issues with having to use the bathroom at the same time and fighting over who will go first.
The walls are quite thin and I was lucky enough to hear passionate screams from our neighbours. It's a good way to get to know other people who are staying at the hotel.
There's easy access to each floor. One can venture up the decorative stair case or if you're feeling adventurous there's a lovely elevator that will take you to every floor besides the 6th.
Located on the first floor is a great souvenir shop filled with knick-knacks and vacation essentials. I was lucky enough to purchase a fashionable do-rag there.
On the second night on our way out someone had broken the glass door to our hotel but there was a cop outside on his cellphone which made us feel safe. Also, not having to open a door to enter the hotel was very convenient, just had to watch out for shattered glass.
Although there were a lot of homeless people asking for change they were mostly polite and made for interesting conversation. Even the men trying to solicit my cousin and I for prostitution were polite when we told them that we are in fact not hookers.
Let me tell you, if I could sum up my 4day stay at the Hotel Villa in 2words: Moulin Rouge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    36
    33
    18
    47
See reviews for
10
51
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I had stayed here 3 other times with decent experiences. This time was horrible from the start! I was fine with the average sized rooms and old building..im not into the whole ritzy hotel thing..okay so i booked 2 nights in a private and they had us in 2 different rooms? So i asked if we could not switch ( since we were planning on being out super late that night, what is the point on checking out for 11 and switching rooms) I had called a month prior to be sure it would be the same room. they said of course! ..it wasnt. The guy at the front desk seemed confused on why i didnt want to check out then back in and suggested we do it in the morning..some other guy from the back heard what was happening and ' fixed ' it. this room was on the 6th floor. Elevator only goes to the 5th floor..the cleaning lady was in the elevator and we waited 10 min to use it so we ended up taking the stairs with all our luggage. this room was SO small and disgusting! there was so many stains on the walls/ floor. there was OLD paint trimmer tape hanging off the walls around the doors..like it takes 2 seconds to remove that..nasty. you couldnt open the door to get in with out hitting the table and the bathroom door couldnt open with out hitting the bed..i seriously had to hop over everything. there was less than a half a roll of toilet paper..the towels smelled bad..there was a ton of hair in the tub. the floors were nasty. the next day, we go out and come back ..we fall asleep around 230 am..some one comes knocking on our door saying we were supposed to check out at 11..!! i thought this was fixed ?? so unprofessional and everything was wrong..also we got stuck in the elevator for 8 mins the second day.. ( we would take it to the 5th floor and walk up to the 6th )
I have given this hotel good reviews before but this time it was so annoying and ridiculous..weve stayed in privates in the same hotel that were decent sized and a private with no bathroom that was way bigger and better than this..over all im irritated.

Room Tip: Try and get a decent room..they DO exist here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Louisville KY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you want a cheap, decent room in the middle of the action, this is it. The room was only adequate, but you're just steps away from bars, restaurants, clubs, concert venues, museums, great shopping and lots of sightseeing. There's a parking lot across the street that charges $20/24 hours, with unlimited in/out privileges. The staff is friendly and helpful. One drawback to being where the action is is that the street noise can be a bit loud, especially during the summer festivals. Honestly, we're getting a little old for this kind of place, and will probably spring for something a bit nicer next time, but we have no actual complaints.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face Ste.-Catherine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTSLouisvilleKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Don't listen to all of these people who are complaining about the conditions of the hotel. Here's the deal...most people are getting double rooms here for $40 to $75. It's located ON St. Catherine's one block from festival row. In what other developed city in the world can you get a room for that price in the MIDDLE of downtown? You can't get a bed in a 16-person mixed dorm for that price.

It's not the Ritz, but who cares? My room was pretty dang decent...tons of space, a sink in the room, a decent double with clean sheets, towels, cable tv, and a mini-fridge. Reception was great. The cleaning staff was so nice. And the bathrooms were a heck of a lot better than I expected (yes, we did the shared bath for $40, but we were the only ones using it).

I want to express a huge thanks to the Villa staff. They did a great job and made our stay terrific. We live an hour away, and I plan to use them quite a bit over the next few months.

Oh, and a special parking hint...It's $12 for 24 hours of parking in the Library & National Archives of Quebec (475 Boulevard de Maisonneuve Est). It's only 5-6 blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We chose this hotel because the hotel was described online as being a two-star hotel conveniently located in the heart of downtown Montreal near local attractions.
In reality, the hotel was an absolute dunghole in the worst neighborhood in the city, a filthy, rundown section populated by drug addicts and some of the dirtiest, most persistent panhandlers we’ve ever encountered, porn shops and spraypainted graffiti.
We are not wealthy people. We have stayed in many two-star hotels. In fact, we stayed at Au Petit Hotel in Quebec City, also a two-star hotel, which was wonderful. The Hotel Villa in Montreal was the most disgusting hotel we’ve ever seen, the rooms inexpertly painted a gross shade of regurgitation pink, and when we tried to secure a refund, the manager flatly refused, leaving us stranded there for the night. The following morning we left immediately.
The Hotel Villa, by any standards, is an accident waiting to happen. Someone is going to be seriously hurt here if something is not done immediately to close this hotel until the deplorable conditions are corrected.
Here is what we found:
The room we were assigned on the sixth floor was barely large enough for the bed, with exposed wiring, cracks around the floor of the perimeter of the room. I believe it was in this room that we saw an uncovered electric junction box in the ceiling, likewise with wiring exposed.
The second room we were shown (after complaining) had a jagged hole right in the middle of the bathroom floor, as unbelievable as that sounds, evidently where a part of the plumbing once existed. As in 610, no caulking or trim around the flooring.
In room 301, general shoddiness, significant chipped paint around the interior trim of the door, likewise chipped paint all over the bathroom counter. Two of the three bathroom lights do not work. The bathroom sink fixtures do not come even close to matching. There are large brown water stains on the ceiling and walls, which means they’ve been there for quite awhile. The towel hooks are snapped off. There are no clothes hangers, no hair dryer or iron, no closet, no coffeemaker, no facial tissues. The air conditioner, which prevents the window from being opened, is held in place with jagged strips of metal. The bathroom window doesn’t work, so there is no second exit from the room.
Ice is not available. In the hallways there are bare bulbs hanging from the ceiling. At least one hallway fire extinguisher case is missing its glass door so that the extinguisher can accidently be knocked over, or stolen for that matter. The stairwells are poorly lit and there are places where the handrailings have been broken off the wall and are missing. At least one room has jagged bare metal stripping exposed around the room’s entrance door, a safety hazard. At room 403 there is exposed electrical wiring within inches of a metal doorknob, a safety hazard.
There is construction debris blocking the stairwell on the sixth floor, a safety hazard.
The elevator, which is ancient, is unsafe, closes without notice, and does not stop level with the floors, a safety hazard. In addition, it goes only to the fifth floor; our initial room was on the sixth.
In all three of the rooms we were able to see, the mattresses were placed directly on sheets of wood, no boxsprings. In room 301, the headboard isn’t even attached to the bedframe. Curtains are threadbare.
The floor numbers, believe it or not, are indicated by numbers homemade from strips of colored tape stuck to the walls.
There is no parking at The Hotel Villa. You have to use a public multi-level garage that is three blocks away and expensive. You can imagine how inconvenient this is, particularly during bad weather. In addition, if you need to get anything from your car, eyeglasses, guidebooks, a cell phone, anything you’ve forgotten, it’s a three-block walk each way through a gauntlet of panhandlers. Think of what this means to a handicapped person.
Overall the conditions at the Hotel Villa are dirty and unsafe and the risk of injury, possibly even fatal injury, is undeniable.
The effect that this has on the traveler’s spirit is profound. You tend to spend less, venture out less, and, like us, you vow never to return. This hotel ruins the reputation of Montreal as a tourist destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCallsOCNJUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie W, General Manager at Hotel Villa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are deeply sorry that your stay at Hotel Villa was not to your standards. Being a two-star hotel, we understand that we cannot satisfy all of our guestseach person has different standards in quality. Our hotel is described on our website as being (conveniently) located in the heart of downtown Montreal, walking distance from all the best restaurants, shops and tourist attractions. Though our convenient location is one of the reasons why we have many returning guests, we understand that a small minority of our clientele may not feel comfortable with the animated and lively area that is downtown Montreal. The way we look at it is that every downtown area in North America has its share of panhandlers and homeless people and Montreal is definitely no exception.

We are quite aware that our building is dated, as are most buildings on Sainte-Catherine Street. Each year we spend money on maintaining it in order for it to fit the standards of building codes and regulations. We most recently had a visit from an inspector from the Fire Department who came for a routine checkup and there was no mention of our building being unsafe. As for our elevator, it is certified as safe and working even if it is old and tends to be slow and unresponsive.

In regards to some of the things you found in our rooms, we have inspected each of the rooms mentioned and have not found any exposed wiring (with the exception of room 610 which has since been taken care of). We thank you for reporting this issue to us. Our team of housekeepers have also been made aware of your complaint and have since thoroughly reviewed their cleaning procedures and methods.

Please note that some of the amenities are available on request such as ice, hair dryer and iron. Toiletries such as facial tissues, soap and shampoo are available in room. Furthermore, as clearly stated on our website and every online travel agency listing our property, Hotel Villa does not offer parking. Public parking is however available in proximity.

Our staff record speaks for itself and has always been something we take pride in. All of us here at Hotel Villa really go the extra mile to help a guest with an issue and have always immediately provided/fixed anything and everything a guest bring to our attention.

One last point we would like to mention is that your booking was made at the last minute during one of the busiest times of the season (Canada Grand Prix week-end) in which the majority of the bookings are made months in advance. When we received your booking for June 6, our property was almost fully booked. The room that was initially assigned to you on the 6th floor was our last remaining room that included a bathroom. We are not by any means using this as an excuse but we do commonly function on a first come first serve basis.
With that being said, we encourage you to book your room months in advance next time if you plan to visit Montreal during the month of June. Our convenient location (heart of downtown Montreal), great service and most of all, overall great value for money have made our property a hotel of choice for many travelers from all over the world. We are positive that you will have a different opinion of Hotel Villa the next time around and be part of our many satisfied and returning customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The entrance, the lift, the corridor until the bedroom, the bedroom and the bathroom were very dirty and very old, need a huge renovation. Also, there is an strange smell in the building like a rubbish. It was to run away! Even you can find a microwave in the middle of the corridor!
Breakfast is not included but the good thing is the location, you can easily walk to the main places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SofiaPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODBRIDGE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stay at the hotel for 1 night in early May. They have not turn on air condition yet. You have to ask them to do it. The hotel staff are great, helpful and very friendly. The hotel it self need a big time upgrade. Especially bed and carpet (very old). The hotel sign also need to be bigger and clear sing of entrance. Window do need to be close because of noise from the street. The location is fantastic. It is near China Town in downtown Montreal. Easy walking, a lot thing to do, shops and restaurants. The price is fair and if you don't mind the old look and feel of the hotel. I do recommended stay here for few days!

Room Tip: Do ask for higher floor because the noise of the street and your own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#74 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#110 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#102 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#115 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa

Property: Hotel Villa
Address: 57 Sainte-Catherine Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa is ideally located in the heart of downtown Montreal, on the well-known Ste-Catherine Street, within walking distance from the Old Montreal, famous underground citycitybudgetcity shops, nightclubs, and many attractive festivals such as Jazz Festival, World Film Festival, Just For Laugh Festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing