We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and stay”
Review of Hotel Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa
Ranked #125 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location and stay”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and had a very pleasant stay here. I upgraded to the room that included the bathroom for convenience and I'm glad I did as the bathroom was very big and clean.

It was very cold in Montreal when I went and the thermostat in the room more than made up for that. The bed was comfortable and the room suited us just fine and even had a TV in the room.

The staff at reception were pleasant and helped where possible.

The location of the hotel is near the train station and walking distance to most attractions/shopping in the area. There are a few dodgy clubs near by but they shouldn't bother you and if you are looking to go party then this is a great budget place to stay as the clubs only 5 mins away - as we went out and had somebody to open the door for us when we wanted to sleep.

I would recommend this place for a budget, convenient and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the bathroom - worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitz_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    37
    33
    18
    50
See reviews for
11
52
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is fantastic, it is walking distance to almost everything you would want to do in Montreal. The area looks a bit sketchy with a few homeless people around but we never felt unsafe walking around late at night. It can be quite noisy outside the hotel until around 3 am if there is an event on at the theatre next door, but this did not bother us as we were usually just getting home at that time anyway and both of our rooms overlooked St Catherine where all the noise was coming from.

The staff were very helpful, friendly and polite and there is someone at the desk 24 hrs to buzz you into the building during the night when the front doors are locked.

The rooms are very basic but clean and if you're only looking for a place to sleep, then this hotel is perfect. The bathroom could do with a little bit of attention though, they are not the cleanest but they do the job.

I would stay here again the next time I'm in town :-)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank andreweggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie W, General Manager at Hotel Villa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Greetings Andrew,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are a budget hotel but that doesn't prevent us from providing 5 star guest service. We do not have all the extra amenities but we do offer an excellent rate for a safe atmosphere, clean room, and friendly staff. Add all of those up and you can see that you are getting an excellent value!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night during the labor day weekend. It was booked at the very last minute and I was expecting the worst experience ever. I was surprised by the cleanliness of the room. The decor could use some improvement but the hotel felt very safe, I wasn't concerned about leaving my valuables in the room while we were out and about. I definitely got the sense that the management was making an effort to improve the quality of the facilities. Our room was on the second floor which contained a relatively newly renovated bathroom. There are many homeless people in that area but its also a heavily trafficked nightlife area on the weekends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nekoro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie W, General Manager at Hotel Villa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time you took in writing this excellent review. Very often we will hear some of our guests tell us how their stay was a lot better than originally expected due to some reviews they had read online about the animated area that is downtown Montreal (especially during the summer time) and our property being in the center of it. We would like to express our most sincere gratitude for sharing your experience with other travelers and we feel honored to have contributed to make your stay a good one.

We look forward to maybe seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed on Aug 15th, 2012 with my family and this is not the place to stay - there are lots of homeless people in front of the Hotel Street and lot of adult stores around the place – definitely not for family
Customer service was terrible - I left a very valuable thing which has no use for others but never returned – I called many times and offered $ 100.00 as a gift if the return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsering D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie W, General Manager at Hotel Villa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Greetings,

We appreciate your review and are sorry to hear about the issue you have experienced. Though our convenient location is one of the reasons why we have many returning guests, we understand that a small minority of our clientele may not feel comfortable with the animated and lively area that is downtown Montreal.

With that being said, our service/staff record speaks for itself and has always been something we take pride in. All of us here at Hotel Villa really go the extra mile to help a guest with an issue and have always immediately provided/fixed anything and everything a guest bring to our attention. We have a strict follow-up system in regards to lost/forgotten items and have returned many valuable and less valuable forgotten items over the years such as wallets, phones, books, hair wavers, etc. We nonetheless apologize if we were unable to recover your lost item.

We wish you the best of luck on your future vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Western New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Villa during the third week of July 2012, having found it on the internet. I read some of the reviews and saw that some were negative, but the ideal location overrode my hesitance. The first thing I noted upon arrival was the helpfulness and courtesy of the staff, which influences my opinion greatly. All people that I interacted with at the front desk were friendly and helpful with any questions I had, including directions to different key points in Montreal. They seemed genuinely interested in helping customers have an enjoyable stay and a memorable visit to Montreal. The neighborhood was a bit loud, but in spite of this I felt very safe there. The rooms were clean and equipped with clean amenities. It is a basic place to stay, clean, without too much frills if you want to have an economical but enjoyable stay in Montreal. When I needed help with my luggage from the sixth floor to the taxi upon departure the courteous clerk gladly helped me transport my gear. If I would want to visit Montreal again, they would be the first people I would call. Thanks to the Hotel Villa, I experienced a very memorable vacation. The only problem I had was my TV did not work, but the second time I stayed on my return the TV was in good condition.

Room Tip: rooms on floors 1-5 have elevator; 6th does not; make sure TV in room works before settling in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie W, General Manager at Hotel Villa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Greetings Debra,

Thank you for posting your review from your stay in our hotel through Trip Advisor.

It was truly a great pleasure to have you here as a guest and we are delighted to hear that we contributed in making your vacation a memorable one.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

For the rates charged I had a great stay. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. The Hotel is centrally located within walking distance of all the downtown happenings. The room was basic, but it was clean and comfortable. Expect to see some interesting places and characters around, after all you are in the heart of Montreal. Having said this, I never felt unsafe walking the streets till late. If I could add one thing to my wish-list it will be a bathroom in the room.
Overall I enjoyed my stay, staff were friendly and the rates were affordable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie W, General Manager at Hotel Villa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Hotel Villa. Our main goal is to offer the best vacational experiences to our guests, and reading this kind of reviews make us feel extremely happy. Thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and perhaps put you in a standard room (with private bathroom) the next time around.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#119 of 164 in Montreal
133 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#117 of 164 in Montreal
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#77 of 164 in Montreal
568 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#100 of 164 in Montreal
305 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#105 of 164 in Montreal
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa

Property: Hotel Villa
Address: 57 Sainte-Catherine Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa is ideally located in the heart of downtown Montreal, on the well-known Ste-Catherine Street, within walking distance from the Old Montreal, famous underground citycitybudgetcity shops, nightclubs, and many attractive festivals such as Jazz Festival, World Film Festival, Just For Laugh Festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing