We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value downtown and dog-friendly too”
Review of Hotel Elegant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elegant
Ranked #115 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value downtown and dog-friendly too”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I heard about this hotel through a dog-travel site. They don't charge for pets (I'm totally fed up with hotels that charge ridiculous amounts to keep a dog) and set aside the ground floor rooms for their owners. The only problem is that there's hardly a blade of grass on the street but there is a rather nice park about two blocks away for dog walking.

I stayed for one night and the room was a pretty good size. It was clean enough but it smelled heavily of pine-scented disinfectant when I arrived (which I mentioned to the manager the next day); fortunately the windows open. This is not The Ritz by any means, but for $87 including all taxes and garage parking ($12) it's good enough for overnight.

The desk clerk on duty probably could have been a little more interested and courteous. The hotel itself is very close to the bus station but noise was not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasinchelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElegantManager, General Manager at Hotel Elegant, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Hi,

I would like to thank you for your review. We will take your feedback into consideration, and we are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Montreal.

Thank You!

Hotel Elegant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    62
    23
    34
See reviews for
40
46
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I paid $160 (all taxes inclided) for a two-night stay in a room with one queen-size bed. Location, location, location, as they say. I was within walking dinstance from everything: old Montreal, shopping, fine restaurants and more...

Don't like the breakfast? There is Cora's Breakfast within 1,5 kms (20 minute walk) from the hotel.

Wi-Fi too slow? Unless you are on YouTube or download movies, you'll find Internet connection pretty reasonable

Parking lot is too far? I paid $21 and could drive in and out for 3 days without paying extra. It was only 5 minutes away from the hotel. Lazy to walk? Park across the street but the rates won't be as flexible.

My gf and I stayed in room 311, which faced townhomes and was fairly quiet. Nothing outrageous during our 3 day 2 night stay.

There wasn't much space for luggage. This room is suitable for those with minimum luggage: we travelled with 1 gym bag, 1 back pack and a small suit case and everything fit right by our bed.

I am not gonna bother commenting on panhandlers and such. This is downtown Montreal. Enough said.


Tip #1: if your room is too cold or too hot, try playing with the duct on the ceiling. That smoke-detector looking thing is actually your hvac duct. You can open or close it by twisting.

Tip # 2: everytime you think something could have been better, just think how much you paid for your stay. This is a bargain hotel and worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElegantManager, Manager at Hotel Elegant, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Hello,

We at Hotel Elegant are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay in Montreal. I would like to personally thank you for writing such a detailed review. We definitely appreciate your contributions and look forward to seeing you next time.

Thank You!

Hotel Elegant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Booking this hotel was the biggest travel mistake I have ever made. It is one that you would only recommend to your enemies. Upon checking-in you are required to pay in full for your entire stay, before you see the room or are given the keys.
The room and bathroom are very dark even with all the lights on, what would you expect from low wattage 25w bulbs that have been installed to save electricity? Opening the blinds is not an option since the pedestrians at street level can see straight into your room.
On the first day of my stay, the room was very hot so I decided to open the window but had to immediately shut it because of the immense street noise. When I enquired about the air-conditioning the next day, I was told that the vent on the ceiling had to be opened up by turning it. I delegated this duty to my husband who is taller and was not afraid to climb on the chair. There are no controls for this air-conditioning.
The bathroom is disgusting. The floor of the bath-tub had black dirt on it and the floor tiles has grout so black, it is obvious that it has never been cleaned. The shower curtain is very dirty and in need of replacement, so too are the towels. I have never seen towels so worn that they become see-through and frayed at the ends. The toilet paper is hard and one-ply. The ones used in public washrooms are far superior than this. There was no box of facial tissues, even though the receptionist had confirmed its existence on a prior call to the visit. The bath soap is a tiny bit bigger than that of a Dentyne Ice gum, and is the same quality as laundry soap. There were only 2 towels in the bathroom for the 4 of us, because there is no shelf, hooks or extra towel bar to put the extra 2. After a request was made for the extra 2, I was scolded for asking for extra towels since the extra 2 should have been found on the dressing table beneath 4 drinking glasses.
The open closet is located at the end of the room with 4 plastic hangers, if you happen to want to hang anything besides your coat, then you would have to buy your own hangers.
The mattress on the bed is hard and the blanket and bedspread had holes in them, possibly made by a previous smoking guest. We found a bug on one of the beds, and another one on the lamp. We killed both, but could not have a restful sleep since we did not know what else was lurking in the dark room that we had not discovered yet.
It was an extremely noisy room, not just from the street traffic, creaking bathroom door, the corridor noise but the noise coming from overhead – constant footsteps, thumping, talking and things falling on the floor.
The television had cords dangling from it in all directions and if you wanted to plug your laptop to a wall outlet, then you have to climb on a chair and stretch over to it, since it was located over the closet, closer to the ceiling than the floor. There was a pedestal fan in the room that did not work, and should be removed since it was occupying valuable floor space.
The breakfast consisted of a tiny (7 oz.) cup of coffee and a croissant OR muffin, not both. I witnessed another guest about 6 feet tall and 300 lbs. asking for a coffee refill. He was scolded and made to understand that there was a limit of one cup per guest.
I paid $84 per night which was $84 too much. This room was so depressing that people should be paid to stay here instead! I now understand why you have to pay in full upon check-in, previous guests must have ran out after seeing the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hckitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at hotel Elegant for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. On the upside, the staff is friendly and the location is great; close to Old Montreal, Crescent Street, shopping on St. Catherine and good restaurants. The rooms are fine; large and fairly clean. The breakfast is basic - coffee, tea and packaged croissants. There is no issue with having to use a code to get in at night as other reviewers have said - there's someone on the desk 24 hours to let you in. Secure parking across the street for $12/day. A few complaints: one morning we had no hot water in the shower and on our last night were woken up at 3 am by drunken people in the hallways coming home from the bars. They advertise free internet but it does NOT work in most parts of the hotel, so if this is important to you, be warned. All in all, exactly what we expected for $50 per night for a double room with breakfast. You can't beat that price in downtown Montreal. Recommended - if you want a cheap central room, just to sleep and leave your stuff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoFixedPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElegantManager, Manager at Hotel Elegant, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Hi,

I would like to thank you for writing a review for Hotel Elegant, and we appreciate your feedback. We try to continually make improvements to our establishment, thus, we take the customer feedback seriously.

We are working towards improving on common cliental concerns, and are taking into consideration your feedback

I would like to thank you once again for your review, and hopefully look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Montreal.

Hotel Elegant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We book the hotel just for one night, because our preferred B&B for the next night. Bad choice!! It was one night too long!
First of all the whole property was totaly different from all the positive reviews. Hard to believe it was built in 2007 it was shabby, dirty and offered a horro-movie-motel like athmosphere. In our room there were suspicious black AND white spots all over the carpet and blankets. The bathroom was covered in (pubic) hair. The toilett was sprinkeled with dots in rainbow colours and smelt disgusting.
We are two student girls and we did not feel save in the area arround. When you walk down the street you can meet junkies, drug dealers, prostitutes and homeless people begging money from you. Avoid the park!!!!!!
As we decided not to stay in this room over night, because we were deeply concerned about our health and safty and were too tired after a long day of the travel to pull an allnighter, the hotel staff was not even close to be friendly. The hotel mangeger was not avaliable and we were asked to come back the following day to ask for the refund of our money, since we didn't stay in this room for more than 10 min in total!!
The next morning he refused to talk to us in reasonable way. And screened and pointed his finger at us and we would waste his time. We didn't get our money back!!
We would also like to mention that we have a lot of travel experience and therefore do have realistic views on accomodation also in this price segment. But being treated rudely and being put into a disgustingly dirty cell is not an option.
If your wellbeing is important to you don't even think about staying at this "Hotel"! Don't let this place ruin your time in the great city of Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Munichs-canadalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElegantManager, Owner at Hotel Elegant, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Hi,

I would like to take a moment and apologize for any inconvenience during your last visit to Montreal. We will take into consideration your feedback, and hope to make it enjoyable place to stay for your next visit to Montreal.

Therefore, I would like to offer you a free night stay at our hotel during your next visit to Montreal.

Thank You!

Hotel Elegant Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We recently stayed at the Hotel Elegant in Montreal for the Formula 1 weekend. We booked this place for 2 very clear reasons: firstly the location of the hotel in relation to the circuit and we were on a budget. The hotel ticked both boxes, it is a short walk to the Beri metro station and then 1 tube stop to the circuit, it is also very economical at a time when hotel room prices in the city are very high. My advice is to be very clear why you are choosing this hotel. We booked 3 rooms, 1 was a dingly, hot basement room, one had a flea ridden bed and the third was freezing as the staff on reception controlled the air con - not the guest in the room. The staff were not very friendly, it was very noisy with pipes creaking and it was a very, very poor breakfast. Read all reviews of this hotel carefully and book with your eyes wide open.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.paul mn.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2009

everything a+ ,clean,safe, friendly, good service, close to bus depot and main subway station. laundry closeby, good resturants minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsySt_paulMn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#102 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#107 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#91 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#112 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#80 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#74 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elegant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elegant

Property: Hotel Elegant
Address: 1683 Rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Elegant 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elegant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegant Hotel Montreal
Hotel Elegant Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing