We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Hotel Elegant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elegant
Ranked #123 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at hotel Elegant for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. On the upside, the staff is friendly and the location is great; close to Old Montreal, Crescent Street, shopping on St. Catherine and good restaurants. The rooms are fine; large and fairly clean. The breakfast is basic - coffee, tea and packaged croissants. There is no issue with having to use a code to get in at night as other reviewers have said - there's someone on the desk 24 hours to let you in. Secure parking across the street for $12/day. A few complaints: one morning we had no hot water in the shower and on our last night were woken up at 3 am by drunken people in the hallways coming home from the bars. They advertise free internet but it does NOT work in most parts of the hotel, so if this is important to you, be warned. All in all, exactly what we expected for $50 per night for a double room with breakfast. You can't beat that price in downtown Montreal. Recommended - if you want a cheap central room, just to sleep and leave your stuff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoFixedPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElegantManager, Manager at Hotel Elegant, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Hi,

I would like to thank you for writing a review for Hotel Elegant, and we appreciate your feedback. We try to continually make improvements to our establishment, thus, we take the customer feedback seriously.

We are working towards improving on common cliental concerns, and are taking into consideration your feedback

I would like to thank you once again for your review, and hopefully look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Montreal.

Hotel Elegant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

We book the hotel just for one night, because our preferred B&B for the next night. Bad choice!! It was one night too long!
First of all the whole property was totaly different from all the positive reviews. Hard to believe it was built in 2007 it was shabby, dirty and offered a horro-movie-motel like athmosphere. In our room there were suspicious black AND white spots all over the carpet and blankets. The bathroom was covered in (pubic) hair. The toilett was sprinkeled with dots in rainbow colours and smelt disgusting.
We are two student girls and we did not feel save in the area arround. When you walk down the street you can meet junkies, drug dealers, prostitutes and homeless people begging money from you. Avoid the park!!!!!!
As we decided not to stay in this room over night, because we were deeply concerned about our health and safty and were too tired after a long day of the travel to pull an allnighter, the hotel staff was not even close to be friendly. The hotel mangeger was not avaliable and we were asked to come back the following day to ask for the refund of our money, since we didn't stay in this room for more than 10 min in total!!
The next morning he refused to talk to us in reasonable way. And screened and pointed his finger at us and we would waste his time. We didn't get our money back!!
We would also like to mention that we have a lot of travel experience and therefore do have realistic views on accomodation also in this price segment. But being treated rudely and being put into a disgustingly dirty cell is not an option.
If your wellbeing is important to you don't even think about staying at this "Hotel"! Don't let this place ruin your time in the great city of Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Munichs-canadalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElegantManager, Owner at Hotel Elegant, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Hi,

I would like to take a moment and apologize for any inconvenience during your last visit to Montreal. We will take into consideration your feedback, and hope to make it enjoyable place to stay for your next visit to Montreal.

Therefore, I would like to offer you a free night stay at our hotel during your next visit to Montreal.

Thank You!

Hotel Elegant Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We recently stayed at the Hotel Elegant in Montreal for the Formula 1 weekend. We booked this place for 2 very clear reasons: firstly the location of the hotel in relation to the circuit and we were on a budget. The hotel ticked both boxes, it is a short walk to the Beri metro station and then 1 tube stop to the circuit, it is also very economical at a time when hotel room prices in the city are very high. My advice is to be very clear why you are choosing this hotel. We booked 3 rooms, 1 was a dingly, hot basement room, one had a flea ridden bed and the third was freezing as the staff on reception controlled the air con - not the guest in the room. The staff were not very friendly, it was very noisy with pipes creaking and it was a very, very poor breakfast. Read all reviews of this hotel carefully and book with your eyes wide open.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouLufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

everything a+ ,clean,safe, friendly, good service, close to bus depot and main subway station. laundry closeby, good resturants minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsySt_paulMn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Hotel Elegant gave me a TV, brand new bar fridge, clean room, clean corridors, no smoke smell, balcony, parking on premise ($) AND a cute concierge lady. Not to mention that it is in a great spot if you want to get around. A short walk (10-15 minutes) from "Montreal" night life and short drive (5-10 minutes) from Old Montreal - which is beautiful, by the way - the location of the hotel is in a great spot. We slept like babies. What else can I say, I'm happy with Hotel Elegant.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phattie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Firstly, I am easy to please so don't get the idea I am a complainer. This joint is a dump. You can see through the towels. There is nowhere to put your bags. Breakfast is a cold croissant or a muffin (only one per guest). The streets surrounding are full of beggars. On the up side though, you can walk to the corner and get on the metro to the city.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marko56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I just came back from Montreal. I was there for business but extended my trip to enjoy the city for few extra days. I stayed at hotel elegant. I was a little disappointed when I arrived as it wasn't very solubrious. However the rooms were clean and attebded every day and the location was good too. Just across the road from Metro and bus station so was convenient for getting around. Also right in middle of the action for Just for Laughs festival which was on while I was there. Overall, good value for money but if you want something a bit special, try elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#109 of 166 in Montreal
70 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#124 of 166 in Montreal
143 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#112 of 166 in Montreal
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#87 of 166 in Montreal
596 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#101 of 166 in Montreal
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elegant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elegant

Address: 1683 Rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $42 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Elegant 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elegant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegant Hotel Montreal
Hotel Elegant Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing