We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hostel that I have stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexandrie Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alexandrie Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best hostel that I have stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

The hostel is a fantastic place to stay, I stayed there in 2009 and 2010 on 3 separate occasions and I had a fantastic time and met brilliant people every time. The manager Hernan is fantastic and he is always happy to give any advice about the local area. The hostel is in a very good location with the Greyhound terminal in walking distance and most of the city is in easy reach. I have stayed there in the peak of summer and winter and it has never disappointed.
There is also an interesting secret about what the building used to be used for that you may get to find out about if you are lucky!!
Cheers Hernan and the rest of the staff!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teambuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    50
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
15
97
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights. The rooms and common areas were clean, and the washrooms were well maintained.

Staff was very nice, personable, and easygoing. I had a small headache on my second night there. One staff member gave me 2 Tylenol. It was very nice of him.

The hostel is a stone's throw away from the Village, the Berri station, and all the shops and food places on Sainte Catherine East.

There's a convenience store on the same block -- and a fast-food joint called "Valentine" a block away on De Maisonneuve. So if you want some last-minute sundries or some cheap knock-off American fast food --- it is very convenient.

Everyone there spoke English --- (in the hostel, the shops, and the stores) --- so you'll have no problems if you're an Anglophone.

Only thing : if you stay in the "Office" private room, like I did --- you may get some mail in the mail slot in your room. ;o)

Just be a nice guest and give it to the proprietor when you see him, or plop it down on his desk in the basement --- they'll appreciate it.

The continental breakfast they served was decent, and was nice to get. The free computer use, the free local phone were also nice. They even had a laundry room you could use, if needed.

In short, I was impressed --- and honestly, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sanfranciscan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hualien, Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

It was the first hostel I stayed when I first came to Montreal. It doesn't look that great or fancy outside but it is very clean. The owner values how you feel when you stay here, which makes you feel like you are at home. Ademas, hay sangria por $2 los vienes! 還可以認識很多不同國家的朋友 :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KuanSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

the hostel is not completely finished to be renovated but it's a nice place to be with friends or alone.
you have a private card to enter in the room.
for example an 8 beds room it's like a flat : 2 bedrooms a kitchen and a small living room with TV
the 0 floor it's a big place to share with everybody (kitchen and coach)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

a bit on the noisy side since it is on a major street. but beds are clean and the staff are very friendly. breakfast is nothing to complain about peanut butter and jam with toast. + watered down orange juice but plenty of it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very friendly staff, big kitchen, clean rooms, good breakfast, free washing! I specially liked the rooftop to enjoy the sun! I really recommend this hostel! The metro station and the main places to visit are very close! The central bus station (Greyhound, Orléan Express) is less than 10min walk distance! This is already the second time I am at this place in Montréal!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtwreisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

On first sight this hostel can appear slightly run down and rough around the edges, but this has no affect on anything. The people are super friendly and everyone staying there was too. They have an N64 for communal use, complete with Mario kart and 4 controllers, what more could you want! The staff are excellent and offer to take you out in the evenings. The rooms are spacious and clean and there is a massive kitchen and communal area. I would thoroughly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigwillis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#72 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#1 of 94 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Samesun Montreal Central
Samesun Montreal Central
#2 of 94 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
HI Montreal Hostel
HI Montreal Hostel
#6 of 94 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandrie Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandrie Hostel

Property: Alexandrie Hostel
Address: 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandrie Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acces a laveries gratuite! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Alexandrie Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandrie Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing