We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Ranked #27 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Spent 3 nights at Hotel Dauphin as we were passing through Montreal, and thought the hotel was a great value for its location and amenities. Our room on the 8th floor offered 2 queen beds, a refrigerator, a safe and a flat screen TV. We could occasionally hear our neighbors as well as the room above us, but it did not disturb our sleep. I did find the bathroom a little small, with just one sink and a glassed in shower - there was no way both my husband and I could be in the bathroom at the same time.

The location of the property was great, with 2 different Metro stops located within a 10 minute walk and both Old Town and the Latin Quarter within walking distance. There were not a ton of restaurants close to the property, but there was a supermarket in a nearby mall that allowed us to stock the refrigerator with goodies. Parking was a bit of an issue as we were there during Jazzfest, but we were able to find a space in the convention center lots for $25 a day. Left the car parked the entire visit as many streets were either closed for festivals or construction, and it was much easier to negotiate the city on the Metro.

Did not try the hotel breakfast as we were usually still full from dinner the night before, so not sure how that was. Also did not use the laundry facilities, but it is a nice feature for the hotel to offer.

There were a few little quirks that prevented me from giving the property 5 stars. Our first morning there the automatic shades in our room decided to open themselves at 8 in the morning, which was both noisy and bright. They are operated by a push button next to the bed, and I have no idea why they chose to rise on their own. It was an unexpected wake up call! Also, the air conditioner was pretty noisy whenever it turned on, and sometimes made it difficult to fall asleep.

Overall we had a good stay at the property, and thought it a great value for its location and offerings. Would definitely consider staying here again if we ever return to Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    261
    41
    8
    12
See reviews for
157
235
31
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at Hotel Dauphin and we were equally impressed with the hotel and it's convenient downtown location. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Some tips for fellow travelers - they have a washer/dryer for guest use (no additional charge) Since it is low-energy/eco-friendly machines, the cycles do take about twice as long as regular machines. There is limited hotel parking (for a reasonable daily fee)- it's an underground garage. The hotel has a temporary parking in front to unload/check-in, you then get the key-card and directions to the entrance. Also, the breakfast is very good - great bagels, muffins, hard-boiled eggs, cereals, coffee, juices, tea, etc.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor - the fitness room is on the same floor and is very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip_member123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was clean, conveniently located to Old Montreal and many other sites, and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The rooms have 2 queen beds, a refrigerator, a safe and a computer. The hotel also has wifi. If you need to do laundry, you can do it for free by making arrangements with the front desk workers.

The only negative is they have very limited parking there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily4112010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here for the Canadian Grand Prix. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was large and very clean. Very quiet rooms. Couldn't hear anyone in rooms next to us which was nice. Hotel is close to Old Montreal, shopping and metro station. Found a grocery store within walking distance and keep the refrigerator well stocked. This was my first time in Montreal so I was nervous about speaking French. Staff made me feel very comfortable. Would give it a 5 stars except there isn't a bar/restaurant on the hotel property which I really didn't miss.

Room Tip: There isn't a pool so don't stay here if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here for four Nights during F1 race Montreal. Ok hotel With Perfect location in Montreal. 5 min walk to metro and 10 min walk to F1 party in center of Montreal. Room are big With ok beds and ok bathroom. We stayed at room 303 and also get one outside Space. Only thing we can complain are the breakfast. Sorry its was terrible, but there is a cafe just over the street that is open seven days from early morning.

Room Tip: Ask for room 301-302-303 or 304, then you get outside space. There can you take a smoke, but i dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 577Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Dauphin last weekend when we went to the Grand Prix du Canada. Was able to check in early which was a bonus. The room had 2 x queen size beds which were very comfortable, a free electronic safe, a free-to-use desktop (French language only) and large fridge. The flat screen tv had a good choice of cable channels and had free Apple TV.
Standard bathroom, no tub but had a marvellous walk-in shower.
There is no restaurant at the Dauphin but it does have a self-serve continental breakfast provided just off the lobby in a nice size petit dejeuner room.
There is a drinks and snack machine in the lobby which goods are paid for at the desk. I was told that there was a selection of alcoholic drinks available but we never tried those.
The location is ideal as there is plenty of night life about and the metro is only one block away (3 day unlimited ticket is just $18 cdn).
I would gladly stay there again as it was good value for money, was a good location and very clean. Last but not least, the staff were very polite and helpful with expert knowledge of the city and advised us how to get about.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

All in all I was impressed with this hotel. Modern, reasonably-sized room, with free computer (!), as well as free Wi-Fi. Good convention rate (US$159/night). Quiet (I was on the top (9th) floor), but I could see not being happy if I was below because there were no rugs on the floors and the sound traveled. Nicely appointed room--can even host a colleague in the little seating area with armchairs. The staff is very accommodating and provided me a meeting room for 10 for free for 2 hours one night. A block from the Palais des Congres, where I was attending a convention, so very convenient. The staff changes A LOT. Only problem with the location is that the area is definitely in transition and the hotel sits next to a former Maison Hantee (haunted house)--I call it the purple monstrosity. It was condemned at least 2 years ago and needs to be destroyed NOW. At least for a directionally-challenged person like me, it was always easy to find the hotel. Just look for the purple monstrosity (it's truly painted purple). Still, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Top floor. I was in 908 and it was very quiet, which is important to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjgarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Property: Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Address: 1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Dauphin Downtown Montreal is a modern, comfortable, independent boutique hotel. An extraordinary location makes it the city's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing