We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Dauphin...great smaller hotel in Montreal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Ranked #31 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hotel Dauphin...great smaller hotel in Montreal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently and it was great. It's a smaller hotel located a block from the Palais de Congres, Chinatown, metro station and vieux Montreal. Staff were polite and pleasant, rooms were super clean with wood floors (no dirty carpets here) fabulous shower and heated floors in bathroom. Rooms also have computers in them...what a great feature (I could leave my laptop at home!). I will definitely stay here again. Breakfast is included which is a bonus. There is a really good cafe right across the street and the pain au chocolat (chocolate croissant) were delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artarage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    256
    41
    8
    12
See reviews for
154
230
31
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location near old town Montreal and within walking distance to the convention centre. As well, it is on the bus route from the airport which I made use of and found it quite convenient.
That being said, I would NOT stay here again. There were several problems with maintenance that never did get addressed. The day I arrived, I reported that the outlet in the bathroom did not work, and that the light over the bed was flickering. These things never did get fixed. When I asked about it the next day I was told I could switch rooms if I wanted. This is not acceptable when you are on a tight schedule. So I declined, and asked them just to fix the problems. (They did admit that they had a previous complaint about the outlet - so why did they put me in that room when it hadn't been fixed?)
Then I discovered the toilet didn't work properly so I fixed it myself several times. I had given up on maintenance by this point.

As well, I was not impressed with their lack of emphasis on recycling. A little blue box was in the room, but no information on what they would or would not take; no encouraging signs about water usage, light and heat usage. They left bottled water in the room - but surely everyone knows that these are bad news for the environment. The tap water is fine and they should promote that.

All in all, I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Just don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraJVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent a couple of nights and couldn't be happier with the overall experience. The rooms and common areas were super clean, for a hotel in operation for five or six years it looks brand new. The location is excellent, right downtown and across from the Congress Centre. The breakfast, included in the price of our stay, was also an excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MItch_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Found this place a couple of years ago and keep returning whenever we travel to Montreal because it offers the absolute best off-season deal on a clean, large, comfortable, modern, well-appointed room with an excellent location mid way between the Old City and downtown. Desk staff is helpful and courteous, housekeeping is excellent. Easy access with baggage. On site parking is very limited but garage parking is just a half block away. We did not avail ourselves of the continental breakfast, but there are only vending machines the rest of the time. That's hardly a problem with various convenience and fast food places within a block or two. May be worth noting that the rooms feature bare wood floors vs. carpeting...this is very common in Europe and makes excellent sense because it is far easier to keep clean. Nevertheless, those used to carpeting could be surprised.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyAnn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Superb DOWNTOWN location: 10 min walk from Old Montreal (south), 1 min walk from Quartier Chinois(east), 10 min walk from shopping areas on Ste-Catherine Street, 10 min walk from Gare Centrale (train station) and Place Bonaventure (tradeshows), 10 min walk from Quartier Latin... Also located between the Métro green line and orange line (2 min walk either).

Rooms: Super clean, no carpet. Sunshade automated roll-ups for a really dark room. Fridge, safe. Very modern and urban decor. Free wi-fi and computer in each room. Large flat screen tv with dvd player.

Breakfast: Really good. More things than most hotels for "Continental" type breakfast: Baked beans, real "Fairmount" bagels, croissants, toasts, fruit salad, muffins, hard boiled eggs, cereals, coffee and juices.

No swimming pool, but there is a gym(did not use)

Staff: Very courteous, polite and helpful.

Safety: You need your room key to use the elevator to your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AcVl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Pros: location, location, location (for my needs), room size, bathroom (small but luxurious), great staff attitude, quirkiness (wood floors + IKEA look).
Cons: breakfast (seen better in youth hostels), underground parking (very difficult to get in and out of - real tight), problems with electronic keys, no space for clothes
At $130 per night we almost had five star value (I wish TripAdvisor would permit half stars).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World-Traveller-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illnau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is situated very close to all major sights, 10 minutes to Central Station and only 200m to the next metro. The rooms are suprisingly big, all modern (bath!) and PC, free WiFi and the tea/coffee station (alhtough this is North American standard). For iPhone users, the night stand features a docking station.
The continental breakfast is convenient and also includes fresh fruit salad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ef62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Property: Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Address: 1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Dauphin Downtown Montreal is a modern, comfortable, independent boutique hotel. An extraordinary location makes it the city's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing