We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Ranked #25 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lovely, quiet, spacious room in a small hotel at a great price. Pleasant, helpful bi-linqual staff. Modern decor, generous continental breakfast from 6:00 to 10:00 which very well suited our lazy schedule. Conveniently located a block from the convention center and Place d'Armes Metro. Easy walking distance to Downtown and Old town. Even at 65, we didn't need a car or even a cab during our four day stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveDan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 709 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Dauphin as an alternative to more expensive hotels suggested by a medical conference. The location was great, two blocks from the Convention Center, and a short walk to Old Montreal. The bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast was really nice - bagels, croissants, cereal, yogurt, cheese, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juice. We spent the savings on great restaurants in the area - all within walking distance. One suggestion - the hotel should install towel racks in the bathroom - people will be more likely to reuse towels if they have a place to dry them out!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mndeb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at the Dauphin for 3 nights. The hotel was really clean. I did not like the feather pillows that are provided as the ends poke you in the face while you are tossing around and the towels in the bathroom were a little bit on the cheap side.

Room Tip: Try your air conditionner before going to sleep as it can be noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Easy waking distance to Old Town, chinatown and main shopping areas. Staff were very helpful in showing how to find things on the map they provide. Breakfast included was also a nice benefit as Montreal can be quite expensive.
Room included a computer and free wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here from Sept. 7 to Sept. 13 for a business trip. The room I stayed in was up to date with walk in shower, computer (Very SLOW), and flatscreen television. The free breakfast was very basic with muffins, begals, and fuit. The staff was very friendly and was helpful when my keycards stopped working. Note: It was a bonus to know they have computers in the room however, they were very slow and needed updates.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GS-HOCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

You do not need a car if you stay here, everything is within walking distance except of course the Olympic Park and Botanical Gardens. You can unload the car in front of the hotel (at a small cost for parking) before parking your car up. 20 Dollars per 24hrs at their recommended lot, around the corner (100m) or cheaper at others if you are prepared to walk further and keep it outside. Underground/Metro is close by, though we didn't use because as mentioned before all we wanted to see was within easy walking distance. We only spent the one night, but it had all we needed, including a nice bathroom with shower (no bath). PC in room with free wi-fi throughout the hotel. Rooms were comfortable with wooden floors and medium to hard beds. Staff were willing and enthusiastic and always helpful. Breakfast was the weak point, very basic offerings (toast, jam, cereal) and more likened to a school dinner room than a hotel breakfast room. Still, being central there was plenty of other places to take an early morning coffee and bite to eat.

For location alone we would stay here again, but not sure if would so if it was for an extended period as the hotel is more functional than warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Try to take a room that does not overlook the street it is situated on.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreLeoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the Montreal Comiccon last weekend. It offered all I needed when coming back from days of shopping and at the Palais des congrès, right next door. The subway station is only 5 minutes' walk from the hotel, and the facility is located right next to Chinatown and the Old Port, making it a great choice for leisure stays.

As for the rooms and amenities, breakfast (included) was simple (toast, cereal, yogurt and coffee) but perfect for me. Guests who want something heartier may want to eat out though. They have a very convenient (and almost free) washer and dryer on site, luggage check, parking (although for a fee, but it *is* Montreal). I rode the subway, but as other reviewers said, drivers might want to check out the nearby lots, worst case, Palais des congrès, because some people with a larger car, or a car in general, had trouble securing parking at the hotel itself when I was there. What is EXTREMELY convenient is the computer AND DVD player in the room (plus free Internet). For families with kids to entertain between sight-seeing and outings, or in the evening, this is a very nice touch. We brought dvds and could watch them just like at home instead of a tiny laptop screen. One negative, for those who like soft and plush mattresses and pillows, the beds are quite hard.

Staff was pleasant, always ready to help, although in the evening, coming back from the Con (not late, 9:30 pm) there often was no one at the desk and I had to wait a minute to have someone come in from the back to answer my question. This is not a huge thing, but it felt weird walking into an empty reception so early in the evening, more than once. Check-out is fast though.

I would go back to this hotel, because it's in a great location for sight-seeing and close to subway, and it had everything I needed for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 165 in Montreal
914 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
1,261 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Address: 1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $125 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Dauphin Downtown Montreal is a modern, comfortable, independent boutique hotel. An extraordinary location makes it the city's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing