We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful value for an excellent boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais Lyonnais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Relais Lyonnais
Ranked #42 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful value for an excellent boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel was excellent - I booked a room but was upgraded to a suite. The room was large and comfortable (even if I had gotten only a room I would have been happy). The set up was really high quality. I love how they have the nespresso machine in the room (I am actually considering buying such a coffee machine for my place now). The service staff were excellent...I tended to sleep until 11am (on vacation!) and they were always happy to accommodate my schedule re: cleaning. The location was great as well, since it is close to the major subway station (Berri-UQAM) and this allows you to get to everywhere easily. Old Montreal is a mere 15-20 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Since it is close to UQAM (a university) the college kids can be rowdy until quite late (I stayed up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank treeliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    73
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
223
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice location on rue St-Denis. Very short walking distance to many restaurants. Parking garage in the nearby library (grande bibliotheque) for 12$ a day. Clean and comfortable rooom.

Only one negative point: hairdryer makes a lot of noise and is not very good (not enough power).
Also the restaurant only opens at 8AM, but many breakfast places are available on St-Denis Street.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back of the hotel. Will be more quiet because St-Denis street is busy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Very small hotel, be prepared for hauling your luggage upstairs (owner did assist though) and parking charge of $20 per day wasn't advised until checkout. Our room was very small, but fantastic rain shower, very clean and staff very helpful. Hotel cleaner did all our washing for us free of charge (even hung smalls in the bathroom rather than putting through the dryer!). Location in Latin quarter was within walking distance of old town. Tim Hortons downstairs an absolute godsend. Wifi was good, and no extra charge....stayed 3 nights and very happy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLAND
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is a nice hotels for local Canadians. It is not a hotel for a first time tourist. It is a small hotel; 7 rooms on 3 floors and no elevator. It is done on a very nice contemporary style.The hotel is very clean and neat. Our room had a nice adjoining setting room. Hard wood floors with sisal rugs. the bath was all tile and very clean with a heater and nice toiletries and bath robes. Also also a high end espresso maker in the room. A cook to order breakfast came with the room.

Albert, the owner, was quite helpful with sights and restaurants in the area. here again, this hotel would be a good value for Canadians who had business in the area or young couples on a moderate budget. There is good subway transportation across the street.

Room Tip: get top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALLISONMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location-close to Old Montreal and also to the metro train system. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, the cafe below the hotel for breakfast was delicious. The staff at the this hotel were extremely friendly and helpful with sightseeing tips. They were even kind enough to do our laundry!! Our room was small, but big enough for the two of us. The bathroom was lovely, biggest shower on our trip! Everything was always very clean and tidy. Loved our stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyce4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Chose this hotel from TripAdvisor and wasn't disappointed! Great location on the vibrant Rue St Denis, with great places to eat all around, and a metro station which connects 3 lines just a very short walk down the street.
Room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom a decent size with an awesome shower (after travelling around Europe, I'm heartily sick of cramped showers over baths with a miserable trickle of water pressure, so this was a pleasant surprise).
Manager rushed out in the street to help with my bags when I arrived and always greeted me by name whenever he saw me. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PyrmontChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Albert, the owner and his son Michael were some of the most cordial people we have met for some time. We really felt like good old friends. We were thankfully upgraded to one of their "suites" without requesting it and after we had determined to stay another day, there wasn't an up-charge too.
The narrow staircase belies the very modern upscale architecture within the guest room and the lighting within the room helps to make more of a romantic interlude possible. A private balcony is really nice to capture the neighborhood activities. Really fun time within that area in Montreal and many points of interest can be walked from this area.
The complementary breakfast is found at street level, it can't be beat! Fabulous menu and service with truly beautiful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnOmaha_Nebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#22 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#53 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#43 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#36 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#37 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Lyonnais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Lyonnais

Property: Le Relais Lyonnais
Address: 1595 rue St Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2K3 , Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
#46 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Lyonnais 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the "Quartier Latin" (Latin Quarter) on the world famous Rue St-Denis, Hotel Le Relais Lyonnais is sure to impress the most discerning traveler. Designed with every detail in mind, Le Relais Lyonnais combines the authenticity of 19th-century architecture with the amenities of modern comfort, all to ensure that your stay with us is a memorable one. The building dates back to more than 130 years and every painstaking step has been taken to keep the architecture and design of the period intact. The gleaming maple floors, the polished wood banisters and spectacular wood details, all combined with a chic decor immediately takes you back to elegant 19th-century living... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Relais Lyonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Lyonnais Montreal
Le Relais Lyonnais Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing