We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Stay”
Review of Le Relais Lyonnais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Relais Lyonnais
Ranked #47 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at this hotel in June 2012. If you are driving, it is easy to miss so make sure you pay attention! Also to note there is no parking in front of the hotel so be prepared to unload quickly. We stopped across the street and my wife went in to find the manager. He came out with a staff member and whisked our luggage into the hotel. He gave us directions to parking (right around the corner). The parking was close though it was $20.00 a day with unlimited in and out. This is about average for the area.

The check in was easy. The staff was exceptionally friendly. The room was very nice though a bit cramped. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and featured a very large shower. The hot water was adequate. A coffee machine and coffee were in the room. For being on such a busy street (especially at night), it was very quiet inside.

One caveat is that the manager told us when we checked in that muffins would be available in the morning. WHen we asked the staffer in the morning, she did not know what we were talking about and the only food available was at the restaurant and only if breakfast was included with our reservation. She was not rude in how she said it (I did not want to come off as though she was). It was probably a misunderstanding but otherwise it was a great stay. The location is right near a major metro hub and it is walking distance (though a long walk) to the Old Port.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNJBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    86
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
255
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a charming little hotel and certainly makes a refreshing change from the larger ones. It’s extremely well located on Rue St Dennis – right in the middle of countless eateries and little bars. So there is no shortage of choice for dinner each night. However, please try the restaurant beneath the hotel itself. We ate breakfast there each morning and found the great selection of food well-prepared and generous. In addition, the restaurant staff were especially friendly.

As were all the staff at the hotel itself. As stated in countless other reviews, Albert is a wonderful host. But we also found Gabrielle at the front desk to be especially friendly and helpful.

Our room was on the top floor and was generously proportioned. It was kept spotlessly clean and the inclusion of the Nespresso machine was a great touch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gj_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

On the very busy Rue St Denis, 1 minute walk from Rue St Catherine, this small hotel in a very old building is welcoming and clean with helpful and friendly staff. You wouldn't know you're on Rue St Denis once in your room so it has pretty good soundproofing!
Bathrooms are nicely fitted out, huge shower, really clean!
After a slight mis-understanding about the amount of nights we had booked, Albert the Manager resolved this and was super-helpful and a pleasure to deal with for our brief stay. 'Wish more hotels had a Manager like Albert!

Room Tip: Recommend you choose the suite on the 3rd floor with the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_traveller375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I met another couple in Montreal and I booked the rooms after using Trip Advisor. We arrived during the student "casserole" marches so our rooms were tested as this wonderful hotel is well located just a block from U of Quebec and a major metro stop. Both our rooms were quiet, beautiful and charming.The shower was large, very modern and great! We stayed in #202 and loved its elegant and well planned furnishings. Our friends had a slightly larger suite on the second floor and it, too, was quiet, even though right above the street where students were protesting. Albert, the marvelously helpful manager, made our trip even better. He epitomizes what a good hotelier should be. The location is superb. If you can't do stairs, this may not be your place as there is no elevator. But otherwise it is fantastic in every way. We travel quite a bit, mostly in Europe, and Le Relais has won our hearts!

Room Tip: second or third floor is best. we were both on 2d floor and ac works well! 202 is not big, but so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelpdx495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We went for graduation at McGill and decided this time to avoid the big hotels near campus thinking they would be a bit loud.
This was a lovely surprise..clean, reasonable, and quite a lovely experience.
The parking is a minute away and has 24hour guarding so is an easy and safe place.
We were upgraded to the third floor suite which has a lovely outdoor patio at the back.
Wonderful shower.
Upgraded amenities.
Nespresso machine.
Pillow selection!
Fabulous breakfast...Have the smoked salmon omelette!
We found therewas always someone at the desk..Alberto was so helpful.
You will love this clean and homey place.
Rue st Denis will make you fell that you are in the real Montreal.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: At the back is quieter but our daughter had a main floor front room and had no noise issues. Room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exeter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Room was small, but well designed, very clean, and an effective use of space.
Bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.
Rainfall shower in the bathroom was fantastic.
Nespresso machine was a nice touch and just like home.

Location was great - we got in around dinner time on a Friday night after a long drive up and it was fabulous to have a ton of dinner options within a few steps. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to old Montreal and the Metro is literally a few steps away.

Breakfast at the cafe downstairs was nicely sized and quite tasty.

The down sides -

No one was ever at the front desk. When we arrived to check in, someone from the cafe had to come up to help us out. When we went to check out, no one was there and one of the housekeeping staff helped us. We received the coupon for breakfast for the first day, but not the second (housekeeping will help you out though).

Parking is behind the cinema across the street (around the block if you're driving) was included, but you needed to have the ticket validated, which is difficult when no one is ever at the front desk. My husband went to get the car, while I checked out and ran back 10 minutes later after finding out the ticket had to be validated. Again, the ladies in the cafe downstairs came to our rescue. We are not high maintenance travelers by any means, but these little things made it a bit annoying.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThreeGoodVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I've been in Le Relais Lyonnais with my husband, 2 nights during our honeymoon. It's well connected and 10 minutes walking from the center of the city (old town). In fact the hotel is in downtown, in the heart of the "Quartier Latin", where there are lots of restaurants and pubs. It isn't big but our room was clean and modern and a nespresso was always available in the room. Good Breakfast for free. Pay attention if you are by car, parking isn't free!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monik79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 164 in Montreal
527 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#53 of 164 in Montreal
404 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#39 of 164 in Montreal
326 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#15 of 164 in Montreal
535 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#43 of 164 in Montreal
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Lyonnais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Lyonnais

Property: Le Relais Lyonnais
Address: 1595 rue St Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
#46 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Lyonnais 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the "Quartier Latin" (Latin Quarter) on the world famous Rue St-Denis, Hotel Le Relais Lyonnais is sure to impress the most discerning traveler. Designed with every detail in mind, Le Relais Lyonnais combines the authenticity of 19th-century architecture with the amenities of modern comfort, all to ensure that your stay with us is a memorable one. The building dates back to more than 130 years and every painstaking step has been taken to keep the architecture and design of the period intact. The gleaming maple floors, the polished wood banisters and spectacular wood details, all combined with a chic decor immediately takes you back to elegant 19th-century living... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Relais Lyonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Lyonnais Montreal
Le Relais Lyonnais Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing