We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveler rating
322
211
22
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
322
211
22
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old port starbucks attached lachine canal minute walk corner room hotel is modern peel street underground parking room key front desk staff business trip comfortable rooms excellent stay three nights convenient location griffintown downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 567 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2019

My daughter and I spent the May long weekend in Montreal and stayed at the Alt for three nights. We were welcomed by a very friendly, polite staff member who allowed us to check in at 11:00 a.m. The flexible check-in/check-out time is fantastic as we were not leaving until the early evening of our departure day. The bedroom and bathroom were extremely clean, modern and like-new. The beds were super comfortable; the bathroom spacious. Nice shower/tub combo. No bar fridge to keep personal drinks/snacks cold but we used the ice machine and ice bucket to do the trick. There is a Starbucks right next door as well as 2-3 restaurants that are easy to access without leaving the hotel. Walking distance to a grocery store, other small shops (like Winners!), and restaurants. Easy access to bus routes so you can easily get around town. Lovely lobby to sit in, spend time socializing and have a drink. I also liked the security of the building. You cannot move beyond the ground level/main floor without an active room key which is used when you enter the elevator. Overall, no complaints and would definitely return.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank seizetheday2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, Directeur général at Alt Hotel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Dear seizetheday2019,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share you experience ... we know that time is priceless these days so the fact that you took some of it to share your experience means a lot to us !

We are so happy to hear that this might be the start of a mother/daughter tradition !!! Please know that we do have a few rooms equipped with a small fridge, you can definetly ask us to provide you this room type on your next reservation,

We hope to see you soon,

Julie & the wonderfull Alt Montreal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

CHECK-IN
The front desk agent at check in was friendly, professional and spoke perfect English & French. There is a small area beside check in that has (for sale) snacks and beverages.

The main lobby is clean, modern and comfortable.

There was a welcome amenity of fine chocolates and a card on the desk in the room which was very kind and a great gesture. Thank you!!

ROOM
The room provided was 1810. It was a corner room on the top level of the hotel. It was clean, modern and large. The television (Samsung) has the capabilities to stream content from your phone and the desk has various input and output options for connectivity purposes.

Coffee Tea maker in room and milk substitute provided. There is no bottled water here. Small mini fridge in the room. Ironing table and iron is in mint condition.

The bed is very comfortable, white crisp linens and pillow top. A little on the firmer side but provided a great sleep. The pillows are high quality as well.

The bathroom was clean, and well maintained. The bath Amenities are the branded ALT hotel type provided in reusable bottles to minimize waste.

The views from the room were very nice overlooking the city. You can not life the blinds up but can open them.

LOCATION
Griffintown is a Hip district that is about 15/20 minute walk to St Catherine Street. There is some construction going on in the area. There is a number of restaurants and fast food options within walking distance. A great bakery, a shoppers drug mart (pharmaprix) and an SAQ (liquor store) all within a block walk. Also a great seafood / steak tartare restaurant adjacent to hotel. There is a breakfast place right beside but didn’t try it.

CHECK OUT
The agent on the phone was able to accommodate a later check out and there really is a “no problem” attitude with making sure you are happy and left with a great impression.

Overall, the hotel and room was clean, comfortable and the entire stay easy to rest & relax. I would definitely return again to ALT Montreal and recommend to anyone. Thank you for such a great stay!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CanJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, Directeur général at Alt Hotel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Dear CanJAD,

Wow this is what I call a complete review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience ... we are really happy you enjoyed your stay and even happier to know that you will visit us again :-)

SIncerely,

Julie & the Alt Montreal team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019

We've stayed here a few times and always enjoyed it, summer and winter. The rooms are modern chic, with views of the city skyline and the construction that's everywhere in Griffintown right now. That's the only drawback as the machinery starts bright and early at 7 a.m. so you have wakeup noise whether you like it nor not! Earplugs? Apart from that, we like the ambiance of the hotel lobby with its inviting decor and proximity to Starbucks in case you need your green tea fix. Some great food in the area too.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saturday27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019

I just spent two nights at the Alt. Very pleasant, nice staff, clean, comfortable bed, no restaurant in the building, but there is an adjacent Starbucks, and two restaurants. Two minor annoyances. I hurt myself in the shower. It is a nice large stall shower with a rainfall type head, but about 4" from the floor there is a pipe coming out of the wall below the shower head that extends about 10” out from the wall. When the water is not coming from the shower head, it flows from the tube. I am not sure its purpose as this is not a tub. See attached photo. The problem is that when you stand in the shower with your back to the shower head, relax and move around a bit, as you move you can easily back your right foot into the sharp-edged pipe and nick the back of your leg and throw yourself off balance. Nothing serious but it was annoying as I caught myself on the shower door to maintain balance. Just a bad design. The other bad design is the slat blinds. There is no curtain, just the dark blinds. They do close adequately but they have numerous rather large penetrations across the width of the slats, through which the control cords run, that let light through. So, if you like a dark room to sleep after the sun comes up, be sure to have your eyeshade with you. Besides that, all was quite pleasant.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elliottq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, Directeur général at Alt Hotel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2019

Dear elliottq,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and comments with us, we truly appreciate it .

We are so sorry to read that you hurt yourself in the shower, that is the last thing we want to hear .... the ultimate purpose of this pipe is to test the water temperature on your feet before you turn the shower on.

As for our blinds, if you enjoy total darkness please know that our rooms with two beds are equipped with black out curtains so please ask our team when you make your next reservation.

Also, on your next visit please don't hesitate to come and see our front desk team in the morning as they make great coffee (latte, cappucino, espresso ... etc) and at night they make a few nice coktails too ... plus, as you metioned, they are very pleasant :-)

We hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest again,

Sincerely,

Julie & the Alt Montreal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2019

Nice room, comfortable beds, good water pressure in shower.
Short walk to downtown. Easy access to major highways.
Terrific Coffee shops nearby. Garage can be found next block over and it's an automatic door, self service parking, everything was paid with a credit card.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews