We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown
Ranked #19 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very nice! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I was in Montreal with my mom to celebrate her birthday & we loved the ALT! The location is fabulous, within walking distance to museums & the market. We liked that it was an area in transition. One night we took a walk down the street to discover a park on the grounds of a demolished church which made for great exploring. walking distance to downtown as well. Very comfortable room and as we both work in the technology field we were extremely pleased to have a wide variety of tech portals in the room & wicked quick access to free wifi. The room was comfy, simple, light & airy. It needed a coffee maker though. Hope to visit again!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jmbeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    145
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
57
140
27
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was in Montreal for business and my regular hotels were fully booked. I stumbled upon the Alt Hotel. It was close to where I wanted to be (6 blocks to downtown and 8 blocks to old Montreal) and the price was right (much cheaper than other downtown hotels) so I thought I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did.

It's a new hotel (opened in March 2014) and has almost everything I need when I travel for business. I've read comments that the rooms are on the small side but mine was similar in size to other hotels. The room was stylish with a modern decor. The bed was on the soft side but very comfortable. It was clean and quiet.

PROS: New, Clean, Quiet, Starbucks coffee shop on site, Resto/bar next door, snacks available for sale in the lobby, plenty of parking.

CONS: A little far from the downtown area (but just a 15-20 min walk), no coffee maker in the room.

I've added the Alt to my list of hotels to use when visiting Montreal for work or play. Definitely worth staying there and the price is probably one of the best deals you'll get in Montreal.

Room Tip: A high floor gives you a nice view of Montreal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie Pier G, Manager at ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Bonjour Mr Rick T,
Thank you for taking the time to write about ALT Griffintown. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay and are happy to let you know that next time there will most likely be a coffee machine in your room. We are in the process of installing coffee machines in all of our rooms and guests will be offered a choice of coffee or tea.
Also, next time you stay with us I will be happy to show you our Marzocco coffee machine in the lobby. It makes amazing coffee!
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is modern with simple clean design. The front desk is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, modern & comfortable. The area has construction going on but you cant hear noise when you are inside the hotel.
I think its a great value for your money. Great city views from the rooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Montreal at ALT and enjoyed our stay. The staff, especially Marie Pier, were so helpful and always very friendly. The hotel is still in the process of renovation, but that did not affect our stay. If you are looking for a pool or free breakfast, this is not the place. However, there are fabulous restaurants within walking distance. My family would definitely go back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

A brand new building in the middle of a few blocks of brand new condos being constructed. There will be construction noise and traffic tie ups for a few years at least. The building is half hotel half condo I believe, as the first 8 floors are not accessible. It's a nice building and the rooms are above average size. Comfy bed and newly appointed bathroom. Great gym. However my room (910) has no amenities. No coffee maker, bar fridge, microwave, room service. Also there are very few things close by and walk to Rue St. Catherine would take about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scot c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlton, Québec
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Desapointing. IF you are a regular or familliar with the Germain across Canada don't think ALT will offer you and extraordinary experience. It is all about the look nothing else! The whole area looks crumbly, will need a couple of more years before the area becomes interesting if it ever become interesting. I stayed two nights one month ago on a business trip. If you have to wear suit and tie, it may not be the right room you need. There is NO CLOSET and NO HANGER! Come on... your market will be person that are on business and will have meeting downtown. People that are looking for nto too expensive stay and the proximity of Montreal Donwtown! The room was small. If you have work to do, the room are not the best for that. If you want to meet with a colleague to do some work, forget it, he or she may think you want something else... Desapointing.

Room Tip: The book a basic room. If you have meeting donwtown book early and you can find a better hotel righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichelAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, General Manager at ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mr Albert,

Thank you very much for your feedback as we are always looking to grow and improve our service. We understand your concerns and wished you were able to share them with us during your stay as we could have improved your experience.
For your information, every room has a closet located behind the full length miroir. In that closet there is an ironing board and iron, as well as hangers and laundry bag for your dry cleaning needs. It is very well integrated to the design of the room, which is probably why you missed it – we are sorry about that.

You are correct to say that the majority of our guests are here on business. In fact, we have worked really hard to make sure that they can work as well as relax throughout the hotel as the WIFI is free and easily accessible everywhere. All our rooms are equipped with a plug & play device for computers, an ergonomic desk chair, as well as a lounge chair.

If you wish to meet with colleagues outside your guest room, the 7th floor is equipped with 8 meeting rooms for small and large groups. We also have 2 break out areas with tables and chairs where you can meet and enjoy the natural light and view of Montreal. For a less formal meeting, our covered terrace is also accessible to our guests (when not rented for private functions) and there you can work, relax and enjoy the fresh air. All these services are on the same floor with great staff to look after you and your guests.

As for our location, you are correct, it is still in development and a few sites are still under construction. Over the next few days, two new restaurants will open in our complex. Small boutiques, cafés and art galleries already surround us, and there are more to come. It is really exciting for us to be located at the foot of the downtown area, just besides Old Montreal and steps away from the green paths of the Lachine Canal. We truly feel that we are part of a community where residents and businesses are creating a great vibe in this upcoming area of Montreal.

We are terribly sorry you were disappointed with you stay and we hope that you will give ALT Griffintown a second chance as we don't feel you totally enjoyed what we have to offer. Please feel to contact us at any time for more information.

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

"Griffintown" is not really a town at all. The entire area is a crumbly, messy construction zone. There is nothing nearby and the hotel has little in the way of amenities. Ice machine on only one floor, no restaurant, no food, really. There is no one to help with bags, getting a cab... The front desk staff suggested I google a delivery-food option when I asked for a recommendation! So much for getting a local opinion! The bed is super comfy though. As others have said - it's functional. And those King size beds? Those must be some pretty small kings! I chose this hotel because I've stayed at a few Le Germaine hotels. This hotel is NOT a real Le Germaine.. Alt must be their "holiday inn EXPRESS" model, which I didn't realize - hence the disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, General Manager at ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Tricia M,

Thank you very much for your feedback as we are always looking to grow and improve our service. We appreciate your comments and wished to share a few details on our property. Perhaps we did not explain to you what the ALT experience is meant to be and your experience was obviously not up to our standards. ALT offers the essentials at a reasonable price, all year long. Here in Griffintown the rate is 149$ for single or double occupancy even during major events like the Grand Prix. By the essentials we mean, comfort, design and a friendly authentic service. Our lobby is the heart of our establishment, you can sit and relax with a great coffee in the morning or for a drink at the end of the day and also have access to some grab-and-go items if you wish to go back to the comfort of your room. Our rooms offer the same quality bedding as our Le Germain property but are all equipped with Queen size beds.

Griffintown is a hip and upcoming area, new restaurants, boutiques and art galleries surround us and slowly this part of Montreal is becoming very popular and trendy … but, you are correct, there are a few construction sites around us. But very soon we hope this area will be exciting and the dust and trucks will be a thing in the past! We are very excited to be located at the foot of the downtown area, just besides Old Montreal and steps from the green paths of the Lachine Canal.

We are truly sorry to hear that your experience was disappointing and I would really like you to contact me to discuss this further.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again and let you live the true ALT experience!

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown

Property: ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown
Address: 120 Rue Peel, Montreal, Quebec H3C 0L8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Montreal’s newest hot spot: Griffintown. Bordered by Wellington, Peel, Young and Smith Streets, ALT Hotel is literally at the gates of the city and walking distance to the Old Port, downtown’s commercial hub and the Lachine canal. Whether in town for business or pleasure, guests at ALT Hotel will love its prime location at the heart of this dynamic new neighborhood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing