We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great amenties”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Ranked #77 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Good place, in the heart of downtown, nearby many attractions. It is a longstay hotel with a kitchenette etc. We travelled with a baby and the kichenette was very useful. Not many staff though, no help to take the luggage to the room etc...room service done only once a week.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank payanaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 434 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2009

Back for a second time. Rooms are a deal. For about $100 per night you can get a suite with a full kitchen (repeat: full kitchen, with full stove, oven, microwave, fridege, pots, pans, etc) 2 queen beds and a pull-out sofa, internet connections and the other usual amenities. Great for a family, and very clean and comfortable. The valet parking is about $16 ( a bargain compared to New York City) and you can get your car anytime durin gthe day. Only 2 blocks to Chinatown and inexpensive Asian food. Three blocks in the opposite direction and you're on St. Denis Atreet, the beginning of the Latin and Student Quarter, with dozens and dozens of eateries and night spots. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc-the-chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

The worst stay we have ever had. there was blood BLOOD on the pillows, once we showed the manager he said there was nothing he could do, and then was rude to our entire party. housekeeping cleaned our room once during a 3 night stay and asked for a tip the day they cleaned it, never cleaned it again - i guess $10 wasn't good enough. there is security running around with their friends during the nights and treating guests like intruders. security also tried accuse us of stealing a laptop that they later found - "they misplaced it" but did threaten to beat us up with their frinds prior to finding it. don't ever stay here this hotel is not clean the staff are rude and the rooms are not worth the rates, valet is a joke, the only good thing about the trip was leaving this hotel for good.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMontreal, Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2009

We would like to respond to the following comment in order to set the record straight as to how this incident was handled by management. Being an extended stay property, we offer weekly cleaning rather than daily which enables us to offer better long term rates and additional amenities and services as Full Kitchen, Free Laundry Room, DVD in room with Free DVD Library, Free Local & 1-800 calls, Free Internet, Business Center, & Fitness room. Our weekly housekeeping is mentioned on all websites and guests are advised upon reservation. After investigating the stain on the pillow, we confirmed it was a chocolate stain and NOT a blood stain. A stain of any nature is not acceptable and the guest was advised of this by management and was offered a discount. We have also taken action concerning the tip request from the chambermaid & the issues with security to ensure these incidents do not occur in the future. We welcome all comments which enable us to improve the quality of our product and service and we always make it a point to deal with any issues that may arise during a guest's stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

What I liked:
Location was great...walking distance from St Catherines and Old Montreal. It's on a street lined with hotels and its very quiet. I also got a corporate rate so it was really worth it for me. don't think its worth $170 per night which is the standard rate.

What i didnt like:
I had made 3 seperate bookings online. the night manager couldnt find one of the bookings. instead of creating a new one he said there was an issue with my booking and it may have not been completed (which isnt true since i had confirmation and the other 2 bookings were fine) and just nagged about it. What made it worse was it was 1 am and we had a 1 year old with us...he could have just created a new one.

the other issue is that since each room has a kitchen we found that if your neighbours were cooking you would smell it throughout your room. unfortunately for us, our neighbours were always frying fish and smoking!

I really liked the location so if you could find a hotel in the vicinity for cheaper, go for it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Synsiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Had a free night. Impressed with apartment style suite with full kitchen (although no dining table). Laundry machines are FREE! Ask for room facing the courtyard--very quiet. Great location just blocks to Old Montreal and downtown (without the high prices). Mostly a business crowd when I was there. Room furnishings a tad dated. Free internet in the business center. Great stay, no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed only one night and found the apartment-style two bedroom suite very adequate for us and our twenty-something daughter and her boyfriend. Location was close to Vieux-Montréal and the downtown area. Beds were very comfortable. Price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gchrist256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Lots of room in the suite, and pretty well located. Valet parking via HI Express next door -- that worked ok, but sometimes had to wait a while for the valet. Reception desk at the Candlewood a bit understaffed, and although the kitchen had good builtin units (fridge, full cooker etc), it was difficult to make full use of them (e.g. no oven tray, or any oven proof dish, no sharp knife to chop vegetables...). The wifi was free but excruciatingly SLOW. Impossible to get more than one pillow for each of the four of us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leedsflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#67 of 165 in Montreal
951 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#81 of 165 in Montreal
550 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville

Address: 191 Rene-Levesque Blvd E, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $91 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Apartment Hotel Montreal downtown. The Candlewood Suites Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands, which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal offers apartment like suites to government, business, relocation, training & extended stay hotel guests requiring long or short term hotel or real estate accommodations. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal is within walking distance to the Old Port of Montreal, Chinatown, Place des Arts, Contemporary Art Museum & St. Catherine Street Shopping. Walk to nearby businesses including Bell Canada BCE, CGI, Bomardier, Hydro Quebec, Desjardins Financial, SNC Lavalin, Complex Guy Favreau, IBM, CBC, Alcoa, Alcan, ING, VIA Systems Standard Life, London Life Power Corporation & CHUM Hospital Project. Enjoy your evening dining on St. Laurent Street before retiring to your spacious suite. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) features studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with DVD player, free high-speed wired Internet access, two phone lines with personalized voicemail. Other apartment like conveniences include 24-hour business center offering free Internet access, printing, faxing & copying capabilities, complimentary guest laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Candlewood Montreal
Montreal Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing