We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for staying in Montreal for a week or more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Ranked #77 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The suite was very clean and had everything we needed. The location was great, especially for the summer season, right in between the beautiful old Montreal area and the busy festival area of the city. Staff was very friendly and kind. Very convenient to have laundry on site as well as the Candlewood Cupboard to make drinks, ice cream etc. accessible at any time.
The air conditioning worked well and it was very ice to have a patio door in the living area to get a great view of the city and to know how the weather was without having to go downstairs.
Other guests staying at the hotel were also very friendly which is a great plus.
We definitely enjoyed our stay.

The full kitchen was great, although we ate out a lot, it was perfect for making our own breakfasts whenever we wanted to wake up.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building on the higher floors are great for getting a great view of the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlee1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonGadbois, Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Mlee1117,

Thank you very much for your comments. I was really glad that you mentioned the convenience of our Candlewood Cupboard and the location of our hotel. We really appreciate your positive feedback. Hopefully, we will see you again.

Warm regards,

Simon G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 434 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend and after reading other reviews we were anxious of what we would find. Upon our early arrival (8am) we were welcomed to the hotel and our bags were safely stowed for us until our room was ready that afternoon. Our room and other areas of the hotel that we visited were clean and although there was no housekeeping services during our stay (we didn't miss them) we easily exchanged our towels and got fresh ones when necessary. Contrary to an earlier review, there were complementary toiletries in our bathroom. The kitchenette area was well equipped, the room was spacious, and the beds were VERY comfortable. Yes, the hotel is an older building The location of the hotel was the best part; only minutes to walk to St. Catherine's, Chinatown and Old Montreal. Yes, there were quite a few "homeless" people, but we did not feel we were in any danger when walking in the area. Thanks to the staff at Candlewood who were so friendly and helpful during our stay. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJD247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hello SJD247,

Your comment is very appreciated from Candlewood staff. It is nice to know that we were part of a good experience in Montreal and it is always a pleasure to satisfy our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write us a positive feedback and you are always welcomed at our property.

we hope to see you soon!

Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently stayed here with some girlfriends for a weekend shopping & concert. The staff are very friendly and helpful! The rooms were standard, nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. A great plus was the room was equipped with a kitchen, so we didn't have to eat a restaurants for every meal. Great location, walking distance to shopping on St. Catherine Street, grocery stores, ChinaTown, Old Montreal and the Bell Centre. Would defiantly stay again! Overall good experience at Candlewood!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMoneyBWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi HMoneyBWood,

We are glad to know that you had a great stay at Candlewood Suites Montreal and we always try our best to make our guest feel like home. It is true that we are located next to the main attractions and we hope you enjoyed the city too.

Once again thank you for a good feedback

Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

First the location: it's very convenient but the area is full of homeless and "dangerous" people. We went for a walk on Sunday morning and they were the only persons around the hotel. I know it's not the hotel fault, but keep it mind.

Room is not great. Still old and noisy air conditioning. Our water heater was in the wardrobe and was leaking, so the floor was wet. I reported the fact to the reception, but they were not very interested.

We chosed this hotel, because of the kitchen. I have seen better, spoons were missing, other item were minimal. Also consider that in a double queen there is only 1 chair. So if you want to have dinner, some of you will stand up or eat in the bed.

We spent two nights... I would not spend 1 week (that is the minimum before the clean your room)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luca294013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Luca294013,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Let me take this opportunity to offer my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for not creating a memorable stay for you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the Canada day long weekend. What we loved the most about this hotel is it's strategic location. Your basically minutes away from everything. Chinatown, Old Montreal, Old Port, St. Catherine for shopping, McGill University all are but few minutes walk.

The suites are spacious and our suite on the 14th floor gave us a beautiful view of Old Montreal. We loved having a kitchen too, very convenient.

We didn't have any major complaints, esp since we got such a good deal on our suite. However, it would have been nice if the rooms were more thoroughly cleaned and if parking was cheaper.

So overall, I'd recommend this hotel, it's comfortable and convenient, but if ur one of those ppl who want everything to be pristine, then maybe this is not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Hi LadyWhy,

We are are happy that the location of the hotel and our amenities were convinient for you. Regarding our parking situation, being located in downton Montreal, it is very hard to find a space in the street. It is very on demand and we do our best to accomodate our guests with their vehicles as well.We would like to thank you for giving us a quick feedback of your stay.

We hope next time you come back ton Montreal you will still choose our property, it will be a pleasure for us.

Sincerly,

Bianca R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have to stay that I have mixed feelings about this place. I reserved a three night stay and my reservation was done over the phone. When they asked "non-smoking" versus "smoking" I definitely said "non-smoking". To my surprise when I arrived I found out that they had reserved a "smoking" room. Make sure you check all the details on the reservation paper before you arrive!!!

There were no "non smoking" rooms available however reception asked us to wait an hour before some rooms could free up. They were very busy and they did take care of us. Thankfully they put us in a non smoking room but the room did have some problems.

The window did not close fully so it would take in some air. The bathroom tub was really narrow, hot water was not that hot and the heating did not work the first day. After the first day they did fix the heating problem.

Overall the rating is average and you pay what you get. It was extremely economical however the place does need more maintenance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Hi Adam. B ,

Our non smoking rooms are highly requested in our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to accomodate you in the type of room that you wished to make you feel comfortable.

We are truly sorry about the issues in the room. We really appreciate that you took the time to wright a comment about it so we can focus on them. We always try to improve our maintenance services in order to avoid thes situations.

We hope you will be back soon!

Sincerly,

Bianca. R

Sincelry,

Bianca Romero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

stayed with a group of girlfriends June 21st and 22nd. The rooms very large with a full kitchen including oven. There is a little store in the lobby area with a larger selection of items.

Location is great. Walking distance to night life and great restaurants.

Staff were very kind and friendly.

Overall, It was a nice hotel. Great for one night or one week.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rkw85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Hi Krw85,

Thank you for letting us know how was your stay at the Candlewoos Suites. It is true that we are located next to the main attractions in Montreal and we are happy that you enjoyed it.

Once again thank you for the good comments.

Sincerly,

Bianca. R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#67 of 165 in Montreal
950 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#81 of 165 in Montreal
550 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville

Address: 191 Rene-Levesque Blvd E, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $91 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Apartment Hotel Montreal downtown. The Candlewood Suites Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands, which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal offers apartment like suites to government, business, relocation, training & extended stay hotel guests requiring long or short term hotel or real estate accommodations. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal is within walking distance to the Old Port of Montreal, Chinatown, Place des Arts, Contemporary Art Museum & St. Catherine Street Shopping. Walk to nearby businesses including Bell Canada BCE, CGI, Bomardier, Hydro Quebec, Desjardins Financial, SNC Lavalin, Complex Guy Favreau, IBM, CBC, Alcoa, Alcan, ING, VIA Systems Standard Life, London Life Power Corporation & CHUM Hospital Project. Enjoy your evening dining on St. Laurent Street before retiring to your spacious suite. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) features studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with DVD player, free high-speed wired Internet access, two phone lines with personalized voicemail. Other apartment like conveniences include 24-hour business center offering free Internet access, printing, faxing & copying capabilities, complimentary guest laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Candlewood Montreal
Montreal Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing