We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$362
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$230
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$258
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bonaparte(Montreal)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gault(Montreal)
$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$651
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveler rating
96
204
91
28
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
204
91
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenfree laundryfront deskliving roomiga grocerywalking distance to chinatownown mealssmall gymlaundry roomthe holiday innfew blockssuite hotelwell equipped kitchenchamp de marsminute walkfresh towelsst catherine's street
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 446 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Right in the heart of Downtown Montreal, This Hotel Specializes in Long term stays but was very Accomodating for My Short term (4Night, 5Day stay).

It was Fully Equiped with Secure Underground parking (Key Card Access only)
FULL KITCHEN, 24 Hour Facilitys such as Gym / Fittness Room, Computer Room, Party Room, Snack Bar and Laundry Room.

The Rooms were Clean and Spacious the Views Are Great, The Management is Proffessional Efficient, Accomadating and Polite.

The Rates were Very Reasonable Comparatively for the Location and Accomadations. We were within walking Distance to Main Streets Bars, Restauants, Clubs, Pubs, Movie Theaters, China Town, pharmacys, Grocery stores and just about everything else.

I Would Absolutely Recommend This Hotel To Everyone Comming to Montreal for all Purposes.

Room Tip: Higher Floors = Best Views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PetePro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

stayed at this property twice in the past with one resulting in a bed bugs situation. i was moved to a different room and management offered to dry clean my clothes. i decided to give it a try again and booked a new reservation. after a long drive from the US( 10 hours) , i arrived with my family around 11pm to be told that my reservation was canceled due my credit card being denied. I understand things can happen, but what i can not understand was the rudness and the less than compasionate attitute from the front desk agent ( did not get her name, only that she was from an Asian background). she did not care at all and all the she said was, it was my fault and there were no more rooms available , only one with one bed for 4 pp. Luckily I was able to get another place
They need to train better their agents and learn how to treat people

Room Tip: Upper floors, facing downtown
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank latin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonGadbois, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate your feedback and we deeply apologize for the situation. As a client, rudeness can not be tolerated. We will definitely look into training all our agents to ensure they always respond the proper way when hotel policies need to be explained and applied. We agree that this type of situation can be handled differently and your remark will help us improve our customer service.

Best regards,

Simon Gadbois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Candleood Suites offer terrific value in downtown Montreal/ Old Montreal. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which had a separate bedroom with a door. The bedroom was a good size, with a large flat screen TV. The living area had a sofabed, another large tv, a desk, a full kitchen complete with full size oven and full size fridge and equipped with pots and pans, utensils and dishes. Candlewood offers many convenient amenities, including free laundry and a small convenience store on the main level as well as free DVD rentals. There is no daily housekeeping, but they will give you new towels at the front desk if you need them.

Of note, parking is more cost effective at Guy Favreau Complex just a few blocks away.

On the disadvantage side, we had to ask for a blanket for the sofabed, and it was cheerfully given to us along with another pillow, but the blanket was so light that I was pretty cold in the night. My kids slept nicely on the bed in the bedroom on a comfortable bed with adequate comforters and pillows. The suite was very clean, which was nice. We had some problems with noise from a young group across the hall who were partying in their room. We tried to resolve it ourselves by asking them to be quieter. That didn't work, but when we told the front desk, they immediately sent up security who resolved the problem, and the front desk was nice enough to make it right by offering a discount. Our friends who stayed on another floor had no such problem, so I think/hope that this was a rare occurrence, because I would like to stay at Candlewood Suites again. There was absolutely no noise from the street.

The location is terrific, only a ten minute walk from the water at the Old Port, and we walked the 25 minute walk to the Bell Centre, too. All of downtown Montreal is within walking distance, so park your car and then leave it!

The front desk staff was quite welcoming and friendly. The suite was very convenient, especially for families who need a separate bedroom and who may want to save money by eating in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Familytravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The place was more than adequate compared to the traditional hotel room. It had a full kitchen/refrigerator and microwave. We were short a frying pan and they brought it up in no time. They also have complimentary laundry and dvd rentals The hotel is close to Chinatown/rue st denns/catherine/laurent where most of the restaurants are located Self park $18/night If you are looking for a basic affordable clean place downtown place this is a good option.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rands23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed here for 4 weeks this summer and it was more than adequate. The A/C in the room provided very cold air during the heat wave, the beds were comfortable and room was very large. There is a nice cafe in the Days Inn next door.

The only difficulty with the hotel, and it's nothing they can change without a total remodel, is the layout of their lobby. The 2 very small, very slow elevators open up about 10 feet away from the check-in desk. When a large group is checking in or out or waiting for the elevator, it's a mob scene and almost rather dangerous.

Room Tip: The 04 rooms are small and dark. The rooms in the 12 column are spacious and bright.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivesInHotelsForWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews