We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
99
216
94
29
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
216
94
29
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenfree laundrybedroom suiteiga grocerywalking distance to chinatownown mealswashers and dryerssmall gymlaundry roomthe holiday innfew blockswell equipped kitchenchamp de marsminute walkst catherine's streetfresh towelsunderground parking
Filter
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 466 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Depending on your needs, this can be a great find. It was terrific for us, traveling as a couple with our college-student daughter and not wanting to spend a ton of money.

We got to the hotel shortly after noon. Parking was a little confusing because the hotel website and many of the reviews here mention valet parking but they recently changed to a self-park system. I left my wife and daughter in the car and went up to the front desk and as anticipated, the room was not ready. We asked to leave our luggage and planned to go to lunch, but by the time we brought our luggage into the lobby they had found a room for us. It turned out to be a corner suite and it was absolutely huge with a full kitchen, a separate bedroom, a living room with a pullout couch and plenty of closets. Because the room was so big, it actually looked a bit empty and could have used a bit more furniture and some art on the walls.

The location is great, on the edge of Chinatown and a pretty reasonable walk to Old Montreal and the riverfront. The neighborhood between the hotel and the waterfront is a bit sketchy but probably safe. Given the traffic and the cost of parking, we were happy to by-and-large leave the car in the garage except for our trip to the Botanical Garden.

Front desk staff were all very friendly, helpful, and bilingual. No breakfast is provided but the little convenience store adjacent to the lobby sells cereal, toaster waffles, milk, juice, etc and we had a very decent breakfast for about $2.50 a person. The full kitchen allowed us to save on eating out. The first night we were there we got takeout from a Chinatown restaurant for about $20 for three people and the second night we bought dinner fixin's from the IGA supermarket a couple of blocks away.

If you need the trappings of a full-service hotel this is not for you, but for us it worked out perfectly and we would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Great view, great price, all things working, great kitchen, clean bath, great linens, Great staff,

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amigomo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I actually really liked my room because of the kitchen and I could make a few things in there as well as boil water for tea etc. I have only one complaint and that is with the slow wifi. It says they have highspeed Internet but when I called the front desk they said they changed everything to wireless. But the wireless connection was pretty bad. They gave me the password for the holiday inn express which was the building beside and the connection seemed to be a bit better for some reason. Otherwise the staff was very friendly but I only stayed here because I have priority club points. I think all the decent hotels in Montreal are expensive and otherwise i would save money and stay in a b&b...which i did move to after 2 days as that is all that my points could get me.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warriorliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We were 4 people in an appt with 2 bedrooms and sofa bed in living area. The appts are massive, so you've loads of space, even for 6 people but they are quite basic. Location is good for waterfront area and for chinatown and for outdoor concert area. Parking under hotel is 25CAD per night (but parking in Montreal is expensive anyway and you can come and go as you please). As long as you don't plan to stay in your room much it's OK. This hotel and HI in same building seems to be very popular with large groups of young people (although we didn't experience any noise problems etc). Montreal on a Saturday night is very very lively!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We go to Montreal every June for the Grand Prix Formula 1 race. For some reason, the hoteliers have gotten together and decided that everyone who attends this race is a millionaire and as a result, they triple the normal nightly rate, require non-refundable prepayment, as well as a minimum stay.
We booked this hotel in June 2010 at the rate of $132 Canadian per night, providing a credit card as a guarantee only, and with a 24 hour cancellation policy. The 2011 Grand Prix race dates had not yet been announced. When we checked in at the hotel June 9, 2011, we were told our credit card had been charged on May 11, 2011, for our entire 4 night stay, without having notified us of this. When we quetioned this change of the conditions of our (printed) reservation, we were told "this is the policy during the Grand Prix - besides you got a terrific rate - everyone else is paying at least $400 per night!!" Needless to say, we were not happy about this arbitrary change in the terms of our reservation contract and that our credit card had been charged without having been notified. The card we used to guarantee the room is not one we are currently using. Thankfully, it was still a valid credit card.
Our room was a 2 bed suite with a small kitchette. At check-in, you are told housekeeping is only done weekly, so our room was not cleaned for 4 days. You could however, turn in soiled towels and exchange them for new ones. You can ask for shampoo and soap at the front desk. Shower caps are not available. There are free washers and dryers, but you must provide your own detergent. There is free internet, but it was so slow it was not worth even trying to connect. The location is good for sightseeing. Underground parking (which is shared by the Holiday Inn Express next door) is available for $18 per day - plus many, many taxes. Every available parking space was taken when we were there and I do not know where you would park if there was no space in the garage.
The window air conditioner was quite noisy, making sleep difficult. This hotel was fine for our purposes at the rate we paid, but it certainly is not worth the over $400 per night the other guests were paying while we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location on an upper floor.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews