We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place I've ever stayed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge de Paris

Auberge de Paris
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge de Paris
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst place I've ever stayed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

By arriving everything seemed not too bad...
My friend chose the top bank and I slept on the lower bank. Everytime she climbed on her bed, I thought it's going to break.
On the third evening we've stayed there, I suddenly heard a noise outside. I looked out through the window and saw someone moving. I kept looking to figure out what it was and realized that a man was staring at us and masturbating!!! We closed the curtains and went to the reception to tell what happened. The manager's reaction was unbelievable. He asked why we actually came to him!?
While discussing with the manager, a young man came into the hotel. He was holding a towel in front of his nether region. He passed through really quickly and I said 'That's him!' The manager didn't even look at him and said 'He's one of the guests...' And it seemed like he protected this guy.
The most unbelievable is the manager didn't even apologize!
We couldn't sleep that night. In the morning we left.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 155032Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    8
    4
    17
See reviews for
2
2
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The World
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

The bunk I was originally allocated felt as if I was sleeping in a coffin... it wouldn't have been out of place on a submarine it was so cramped. There were 8 beds in a room that felt like it should have fit 4 with no room for luggage. (There were massive lockers but they were clunky and hard to use)

There was a notice on the wall saying if you would like to switch bunks to go ask at the desk. I did and he said it was fine to take a different bunk. The second night I was woken by the manager screaming at me that I was in the wrong bed... this was a male manager acting very aggressively in an all female dorm. He proceeded to shout at another female guest who was very upset and left.

The thing about this hostel is that upstairs where the private more expensive rooms are located looks just fine but once you travel down to the dorms you see the real problem. They are overcrowded and dark, ours had the tiniest window and the common area was taken over by staff and never free to be used by guests...

We had booked for a week before coming but the guy on the desk suggested paying for two days and seeing how it went... little did we know. We moved to another much nicer place after the middle of the night shouting match.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taistealand0mhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

planet earth
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

A good place to stay on a budget. I've stayed in quite a few hostels and it's definately a bare bones version of what you'd normally see. The 'common area' is a little awkward with some funky benches, computers and a mini tv. No heater in there as well so it is a little cooler- be prepared to bundle up. However ,it's kept clean and the bathrooms are fine. Bring a sleeping bag, gets a bit chilly in the wintertime in all the dorm rooms, despite their 'heaters'. Where it lacks in the physical aspect is made up in atmosphere. One of the guys Alex is very friendly and helpful with advice and info on where to go or what to do. Pretty much all the people staying there were super friendly so it makes for a good time. Wireless internet works great and the kitchen has everything you need to cook if you're on a budget. Just remember a few sweaters and that sleeping bag!

  • Liked — cheap!
  • Disliked — no heater in the common area! cold in the winter!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elgringoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

We stayed in a double room with private bathroom (which was really small). We payed 74 CAN$ per night with right to kitchen, the kitchen was brand new. We stayed at the main building, but I know that they had more buildings in the other side of the street, so ask about that, maybe they are different.
The hostel decoration was very nice, with pictures of Paris.
The room was quite clean.
I saw the common washrooms and they seemed clean too; they are unisex though.
When you look for it in the map make sure that you put 901 Sherbrook EAST (the same number of the west is closer to Underground City but further from St Denis and Old Montreal).
We found it a little bit expensive in relation to quality-price, but it was not too bad.

  • Liked — right to kitchen and internet, not bad location
  • Disliked — some problems with the price at the beginning, small room and bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twospaniards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

My cousins and I recently stayed here in August and over the course of two days, 6 of the 12 people were bitten by bed bugs. THE WORST PART IS THE ROOM WAS ALSO INFECTED WITH MITES and two of us got scabies. This place should be shut down by the health department. You're better off sleeping on the streets than at this hostel. Oh and two toilets flooded our room as well. If I had photos of the scabies I would post them, but it is gross and not appropriate.

  • Liked — LEAVING
  • Disliked — SLEEPING WITH BED BUGS AND MITES
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lucky1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

This hostel was very good. Nice building, clean bathrooms. Good value about 20 a night. Dorm Style, friendly people. Close to Metro, close to shopping on St. Catherines. Parking is hard to find, but there are pay lots not to far away. If you are a student great place!

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PrincessCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#81 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#30 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#32 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Paris

Property: Auberge de Paris
Address: 901 Rue Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1L3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge de Paris is a youth hostel located in Downtown Montreal. It’s conveniently located to most of the city's attractions which makes it an ideal choice for the traveler on a budget. The hostel shares the same building as the newly renovated Hotel de Paris and offers its hostel guests many of the same services as the hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Auberge de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing