We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Montreal Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Terra Nostra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Terra Nostra
Ranked #7 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Montreal Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Comfortable, flawless hospitality is a balancing act -- an easygoing atmosphere on one hand, first-rate accommodations and food on the other. Not everyone can pull this off, but Mireille Lauzon at Le Terre Nostra in Montreal's Verdun arrondissement gets it perfect.

The four bedrooms, decorated tastefully with travel themes (Afrika, Asia, etc.), work best for couples. But there was enough space in the Afrika room for a temporary bed for our 11-year-old son, who was quite comfortable. Well-behaved children are welcome at Terre Nostra, and it's a great way to introduce kids to this rewarding style of lodging -- so much more personal and interesting than a hotel.

The house at 722 rue Beatty, just off Wellington, was built in 1927 and retains its charm through the careful updating that Mlle. Lauzon has done. The backyard garden, brimming in summer with purple clematis and other stunning flowers, is a beautiful respite any time of day, girded on its sides by tall, narrow oaks that we wish we could grow in Florida. It's a great place to watch the stars come out with a glass of wine.

And in fine weather, it's the site of a highlight of your day: breakfast. Mireille is an enthusiastic and skilled cook, and her breakfasts are the best fuel for a day of walking around Montreal and enjoying its many activities. Our first day began with a strawberry-melon smoothie flavored with rose water (!). Then along came tiny muffins spiked with chocolate chips and flavored just enough with orange essence.

Entrees vary, and you have to wait a long time to see a repeat. One standout was a fine croissant, sliced crosswise and stuffed with sliced pears and a little cream cheese and cinnamon (nutmeg too); the top of the croissant is then soaked in egg, French-toast-style, and capped back onto the bottom and the pears. Pour over a little extra egg, bake in a ramekin for a few minutes, and the angels start to sing.

Every morning was like this: an innovative and delicious fruit juice, mini muffins or tiny quiches, and then a delightful main course. Plus good strong coffee and, as our son discovered, some excellent teas.

Of course, the usual way to get the most out of a B&B is to concentrate on the B and the B: get a good night's sleep and a solid breakfast. Le Terre Nostra goes beyond the basics, though, and it would be a shame to miss some of the nice details that enhance the experience. We've already mentioned the garden...keep an eye out for Mireille's eye for Asian art. A chaste copper Buddha poses atop a garden table. The table itself is distinctive, beautified by a slab of rough-edged, natural stone as a tabletop instead of dull wood slats.

Another Buddha, a bigger one with some green-tinted oxidation, watches over the cozy front parlor. There's a TV in there, in a Thai-style rough wood bureau, with video games and the like for sofa relaxing. Art of all kinds adorns the walls, and jewelry made by a friend of Mireille's is on sale as well.

Upstairs, check out the well-stocked library: everything from botany to Peter Mayle to John Cheever short stories, and travel guides from everywhere Mireille has been. A small fridge in the hallway has bottled water, and there's plenty of room for wine or snacks you might want to chill.

As for convenience, Le Terre Nostra couldn't be better: just steps from the bus stop, and a quick ride (or pleasant 15-minute walk up eclectic rue Wellington) to the De l'Eglise metro stop. From there, one of North America's most fascinating city awaits you.

But start with a good base. Le Terra Nostra is it. Bienvenue, and bon appetit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaveClubsWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    6
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
152
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had the good fortune to spend three nights at Le Terra Nostra recently. We stayed in the Europa room which is really gorgeous... very spacious with delightful decor and a wonderful bathroom. it was fabulous to come home after a long day of sightseeing and slip into the bath for a lovely soak... Mirelle provides bath bubbles, bath salts and candles to complete the experience. The bed linens were just divine and the bed very, very comfortable. The breakfasts at Le Terra Nostra are to die for! I am gluten intolerant and Mirelle made special breakfasts that were gluten free but definitely not taste free - it was difficult coming home from holiday to my ho hum breakfast at home! We made use of the bikes that are provided to cycle around the nearby waterfront... it's such a perfect location for this, just across the road and you are on the cycle path.
Mirelle's recommendations for shopping and restaurants were most invaluable - we tried out many of the restaurants, both local and further afield and she was right on the button - from gorgeous brasserie food to a local Vietnamese cheap eat we were never disappointed.
The location for Le Terra Nostra is a little off the beaten track in terms of the tourist highlights but with the river within stones throw and a public transport system right at your door it didn't matter and coming home to this haven at the end of the day made the little trek worth while.
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a boutique style of accomodation with that real personal touch.

Room Tip: Have a look at the three rooms available and choose depending on your preference for decor. Europa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenwrightson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This by far is the best Bed and breakfast we have stayed at in North America! Not only that it was clean and beautifully decorated, but Mireille (Mimi), our host was the most accommodating and lovely person! We only stayed there for two nights, but if we ever go back to Montreal, we will definitely go back to the same B&B! I have asked for a gluten-free breakfast and what a treat - I had the best breakfast that tasted even better than the regular version (And that one is HARD to beat). I have a culinary degree, so I am talking from my personal expertise - Mimi's food is outstanding! She is so attentive to detail, which made us feel welcomed and informed about the city (Mireille can tell you all about the city and even provide you with a convenient map).
We stayed in ASIA room, which the two of us found to be spacious enough and beautifully decorated - it looked just like in the pictures and it actually has plenty of room for two people.
The location of the B&B is nice - quite, tree-lined street in a quiet neighborhood, about 15 minutes from a Metro station, or you can take a bus, which stops within 2 minutes from the place. the area looks like it has mixed houses: some are very cute, like the B&B, and some are a bit run-down, but we have not felt unsafe at all, even when we walked at 10pm from the Metro station.
Definitely a great B&B with many warm memories for years to come - highly recommended!

Room Tip: opt for a gluten-free breakfast one time - you will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -DiCeAl-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Le Terra Nostra for two nights. We stayed in the Europa room which is the largest room with a large and elegant ensuite bathroom. It was great but we also viewed the other three rooms, each with its own distinctive decor. Pick a room if you are drawn to a particular style but quite frankly you can't go wrong with any of them. We can only echo earlier reviews about how welcoming and helpful the owner/manager Mireille is. She is truly knowledgeable and "available" to discuss your interests in sightseeing, activities and restaurants. And the breakfasts are excellent. We ate once in the garden/patio area and once inside. Delicious and creatively presented. This is not an inexpensive place to stay but excellent value all the same.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheffip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at Le Terra Nostra for just one night on April 24th 2012 for business. It was my first time staying at a B&B, and I chose it primarily because it was the closest place to stay to the Douglas Hospital where I was going for work. Mireille was a wonderful hostess, and even offered to loan me her umbrella when I asked her about where I can go to buy one.

The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was amazing with heated floors and a roomy bathtub that I made good use of after my first exhausting day!

The only minor issue I had was that I requested breakfast for 8:15 and it was not served until 8:45. This wouldn't be a big deal at all if I were on vacation but I had to rush to get to my meeting on time. The breakfast was incredible however, mini quiches and a latte followed by amazing french toast with homemade jam. I gave this place 5 stars despite the late breakfast, as I don't think the late breakfast would be an issue for most people travelling for pleasure rather than business. And if you are travelling for business or have some place to be I would give yourself more than enough time for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in March, 2012. Mireille, our hostess, had asked us what our expected arrival time was, which is quite understandable since this is her home, not just a hotel. She has 3 rooms, she cannot be expected to sit around all day waiting. We arrived about a half hour late and were greeted by Isabel, who was very helpful and accommodating. She asked what time we would like breakfast and if there were any special dietary restrictions. Mireille had stepped out to pick up some maps of Montreal which she provides to her guests at no charge. In our room, we were welcomed by a book personalized with our names, ice cider, and delicious chocolates. We stayed in Europa, which was very nicely decorated. Just a side-note, none of the rooms have TV sets (if that's important to you on vacation), though there is one available in the common living room. I didn't see anyone using it while we were there. The bathroom was equipped with both a tub and a shower, and of course the heated floor! My only problem was that the mirror over the sink, though beautiful, was quite high. I'm only 5'2" and could only see from my nose up,lol. There is a full-length mirror in the bedroom which I could use, but the lighting there was not great for makeup. I was able to resolve the issue by using the small mirror provided in the bathroom and sitting at the window for makeup. Breakfast was delightful all 3 mornings. Particularly delicious was the pain au chocolat. Mireille went over and above expectations, making a special breakfast for my husband all 3 mornings to cater to his dietary restriction. She was so friendly and helpful, we felt as if we had known her for years! Our last morning, we read the clock wrong and were almost an hour late for breakfast. We ran downstairs and apologized, Mireille was very gracious about it. Fortunately, we had scheduled breakfast for 9am, so we arrived at 9:45 and didn't miss the 10 am cutoff. She didn't rush us at all, and was just as accommodating as the previous days, even though we cut into her off-time. The head and neck massage actually included shoulders and arms and was sooooo relaxing! The location was very convenient to the train, a short walk, and it took no time at all to get into the tourist area of Montreal once on the train. Mireille also provides a list of recommended restaurants by neighborhood, which was very helpful. We dined at Mas Cuisine, call ahead for reservations, it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Europa is largest, all are beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

loved out trip. beautifully designed rooms and home. thoughtful and excellent host--really put a lot of effort into vegan breakfasts. bathrooms had heated floors, hot tub, spacious, etc. loved!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#5 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Terra Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Terra Nostra

Property: Le Terra Nostra
Address: 277 Beatty Streett, Montreal, Quebec H4H 1X7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Terra Nostra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neighbor to the St Laurent River, bordered by a superb bicycle path, Le Terra Nostra offers affordable luxury 10 minutes from downtown, Old Montreal and the casino. Located on a beautiful street with century old trees, our B&B houses rooms inspired by the styles of the world as well an award winning garden. Generous and delicious breakfast, different every day, is served in the garden from May to September or in the gallery-like dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Le Terra Nostra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing