We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Ranked #53 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent Budget Hotel”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a decent hotel to stay at if you don't plan to spend any time there except for showering and sleeping. It's well located, near food and transportation. It's the last stop on the 747 bus from airport ($8, highly recommend the bus as it drops you off right there).

Location: Well located by the 747 bus (from and to airport) and Berri UQAM metro station (has a lot of train lines going through it -- it's a major station). It is near the Grand Bibliotheque and a few short blocks to St. Denis (where you can find lots of cafes, bars, restaurants, boutiques) and there is a great super-marche 2 blocks over (IAG). The closest bank is right outside on Rene-Levesque (the DesJardins). The area is between Quartier Latin and the Village so you may see some police activity, as I did twice when there was some protest or incident going on in the park outside the hotel. There are some interesting characters outside the hotel and on the nearby streets at all times of the day and night but I was told they are harmless (they just ask for money). I was in and out of the hotel at times like 6am and 11pm and it was fine.

Room: The room and bedding is clean though there were little holes (cigarette or moth?) in my blanket. The bathroom is very spare - thin, small, threadbare towels that are somewhat scratchy and not all that water absorbent. You get a plastic cup, a small bar of soap and a bottle of shampoo. That's it. No lotion, no conditioner, no body soap or body wash. Bring your own. The kitchenette is nice though I used the fridge the most (storing water, juice and fruits from the super market). The room is not the biggest but the odd thing is there is no full size mirror anywhere. There is only the mirror above the bathroom sink but no other mirror in the hotel room. There is a AC in every room.

Service: The service is good. The reception desk folks are nice and polite and helpful. There is a computer in the lobby and some brochures. But it's a very sparse lobby (two arm chairs, often occupied by folks waiting to check in or waiting for their tour guides) so don't plan on spending anytime relaxing there either.

Breakfast: The breakfast is nice - typical continental breakfast. Juice, Coffee, eggs, hash, sausage, croissants, muffins, jam, butter. (no fruits) Self-service.

Tour groups: They seem to cater to a lot of tour operators. At one point, there were about four or five large tour buses parked outside. As the hotel is located on a somewhat dim and darken street (walking from the Berri station), it can be daunting to walk in that tight, darkened sidewalk space between the buses and the random folks sitting on the street at night.

Elevators: There are two elevators: small one holds about 4 people and the large one holds about 8 or 9. I bring this up because there is sometimes a wait for the elevator when a tour group is checking in or out. (If your room is on the lower floors, best to just take the stairs).

Internet: There is wifi service in the hotel and it wasn't too bad. Not the fastest but decent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katmik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_Labelle, Director of Sales at Hotel Les Suites Labelle, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our location and hope it contributed to a pleasant stay in Montreal.
Your comments will certainly be taken into consideration in our efforts to keep improving our services.

Thank you very much,

M. Roy
Director of sales & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    432
    126
    32
    19
See reviews for
197
319
68
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband stayed here for 3 nights and I couldn't wait to leave. The staff were OK although there was one lady who was rude and not at all helpful, room was small and awful, the bed was soft and the WiFi was so slow. The only good point about this hotel was the laundry and the bath. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_Labelle, Director of Sales at Hotel Les Suites Labelle, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to read your stay with us wasn't up to your expectations.
We strive to offer our guests the best possible service and I'm sorry we weren't able to achieve this during your stay.

I hope you still enjoyed your visit of Montreal and I apologize for your unpleasant experience at our property.

Sincerely,

M.Roy
Director of sales & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

It was my first time at the suite Labelle. The check-in was professionnal and very friendly. We joked since I have the same last name as the hotel. My suite was very clean and the bathroom was big. I didn't use the stove or the dishes but next time, I will. The breakfast was in a big room so everyone had a place to sit. I have to be honest, the food is very average and was a bit cold. It is also next to a main meo station, very convenient if you arrive by bus or train.
I will definately come back for sure. My only question is: the bed look more like a double than a queen, it would be tough to sleep two comfortably though..
Hats off to the staff, everyone was top notch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farm2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I thought I had done a review when I did stay there June of 2011. Can't find it. Oh well. As of a year ago - and based on more current reviews, I don't think it's really changed. So: Terrific location for downtown. Fully equipped kitchenette. Rooms reasonable - but in desperate need of updating and refreshing. Not dirty, just - old. Old school air conditioners were what you would expect. Loud. Staff very nice. The street approach to the hotel is, as others have noted,. seeming a tad sketchy. Don't fret - it is fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingdoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The approach to this hotel is the only negative - Rue Labelle is distinctively rough! But, don't let this put you off. The location is great and close to Berri-UQAM metro station so you can access all lines easily. Exit for St Catherines and you have a very short walk. Also close to the bus station and the airport bus drops and picks up nearby. Buy a one or three day pass and you can get anywhere in the city by bus and metro - don't bother with a car! We went for a superior queen studio and the room was large and well appointed. Nice bed, huge TV and sitting area and a kitchenette. There is also a laundryin the hotel. Breakfast was good with a choice of hot and cold food. There are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby - some very cheap as this is a student area. If you are on a budget there is a supermarket just a few minutes walk away and you can buy pre- prepared meals and fresh food to eat in the room plus the supermarket sells wine and beer. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. They do ask for a 100 dollar deposit when you check in but don't take this from your payment at check out if the room is left OK and you do your washing up! I guess they may have had problems in the past but our experience was all good. Really couldn't fault the place other than the street outside which the hotel have no control over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 522Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is nice, rooms are not so big though, but if you need them only to sleep, it's more than ok. Breakfast in the morning was ok. Located 10 min walk from Old Montreal, so it's very convenient.
I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZapCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The room was clean. The hotel staff was fine. The location was very close to the subway, so it was very easy to get around for sightseeing. If you're visiting make sure to get a subway and museum pass it will save you a lot. The balcony on the top floor was very nice and we spent several nights up there visiting with friends and having a glass of wine. The breakfast saved quite a bit of money and time. It was the same everyday, eggs, toast, bagels, canned fruit, beans, sausage, it was a big plus.

On the down side the towels were thin, the pillows lumpy, and as many have said, the area outisde of the hotel had a lot of homeless and is not attractive at all. Once you get passed that immediate area, St. Catherine street was full of nice restaurants, stores, etc.

This is a fine hotel if you are on a budget and are willing to overlook the immediate area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myhre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#76 of 164 in Montreal
505 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#40 of 164 in Montreal
526 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 164 in Montreal
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#77 of 164 in Montreal
566 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#71 of 164 in Montreal
257 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Suites Labelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Suites Labelle

Property: Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Address: 1205 rue Labelle, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Montreal
#50 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Les Suites Labelle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Montreal, Hotel Les Suites Labelle offers affordable quality accommodations that will meet expectations of both leisure and business travellers. Our apartment hotel offers 97 non-smoking studios and suites, all equipped with kitchenette and modern amenities such as LCD flat screen televisions and free WIFI internet connection.Our mission is simple: Provide our guests the best possible services, without hurting their budget. Our professional and devoted staff will make sure you get the best out your stay in Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Suites Labelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Labelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing