We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great find”
Review of Hotel Kutuma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kutuma
Ranked #39 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“what a great find”
Reviewed July 11, 2007

thanks to fellow trip advisors we booked in at the Kutuma and what a great place it was. Its location is prime as you can walk straight from the hotel a variety of great places. Centre of town is a pleasant walk or metro trip away. The staff were really helpful and could not have done enough or us during our stay. a great boutique location !!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    81
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
229
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2007

I booked this hotel because the pictures online looked fairly decent for the price and they had an ethiopian restaraunt on the first floor. (which we had never tried) Me and my new wife spent two nights of our honeymoon here and were extatic with our experience. The room was much more than I had expected. The linens were great the room had a kitchen and the bathroom was really really nice. Also every single light in the place had a dim switch on it. The first person we met when we checked in was Abbi. He insisted on helping us with our bags, parked our car for us and offered us something to drink. We modestly said water would be nice, but maybe two minutes later he showed up at our door with mango/papaya/coconut drinks. It was amazing! Abbi was so friendly and eager to help and it seemed like he was working every morning and night that were there. I would definately recomend this place and have to family and friends. Also give the restaraunt a shot, it's very unique and really quite good.

  • Liked — The room itself, the staff, and the restaraunt
  • Disliked — the stairs. four floors no elevaor. It really wasn't so bad but a little rough after 6 hours of walking around montreal.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kjpro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

We stayed there from Apr.21-23 and we loved it. The Kutuma is a boutique hotel and it's decorated beautifully. We stayed in a room with a queen bed, small kitchette, and a bathroom with a big bathtub. There was no shower but the tube had a hand held extension. The front desk usually has one person that runs back and forth from the resturant. Everyone was so nice and tried to help us out in anyway possible. The resturant there was an etiopian style resturant. My husband and I have never had etiopian before but we loved it...it was really good and reasonably priced. Great location. In the middle of shopping/stores on St. Denis. Close to St.Catherines and a bit of a walk to Old Montreal but not too bad...maybe 10-15 min. walk.
The manager at the hotel was really nice and always making sure we were ok....would definitely go back!

  • Liked — Clean and Decor
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LISA197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2007

Even in the dreary cold middle of winter, Montreal is a great city to visit, and I'm already planning a return trip for the summer -- with the Kutuma as my likely base of operations.

Especially in the off-season, when it is barely over 100USD/night for a standard room, this hotel was a great value. It's definitely a "boutique" hotel in the truest sense of the word -- it's a very small operation, often with only one person manning the (very tiny) front desk. It's probably not the ideal place for travelers who put a lot of demands on hotel staff (or have an aversion to stairs -- there's no elevator).

But if you're looking for a quiet, elegant, clean, and extremely convenient place to spend your nights in the city, you could scarecely do better. The halls and stairway are nicely appointed, and the room (i got the basic queen) was HUGE. In addition to the wonderfully appointed bed (especially loved the faux fur throw), the main area is set up like a studio apartment, complete with a dining area set for two (very nice settings, by the way), a huge wardrobe, and a full kitchenette with sink, stovetop, toaster, and mini-fridge. The room I had was lacking in all but a couple tiny windows facing the back -- perhaps I would have minded in spring, but I didn't even notice it during my stay.

The bathroom sometimes felt a little bit too trendy for its own good functioning, but had one huge plus for it -- a giant, deep, two-person soaking tub. The faucet and showerhead could have used some higher pressure (and really, the showerhead and lack of curtain/shower area made it inadequate for showering), but oh... once i got the tub filled, the candles lit, it was like a little spa. I originally planned on going out dancing on my second night there, but instead wound up going to the best sleep I had in weeks after ordering some excellent ethiopian food from the restaurant downstairs, chocolate cake, followed by a long soak in the tub while finishing a bottle of wine!

I never had any problems with noise, and the staff was eager to help when needed (though I didn't have much in the way of requests other than the meal, and figuring out how to use the climate control).

The hotel is located about halfway up the Rue St Denis, which is a major strip of restaurants, stores, and boutiques, and makes for a nice stroll to any of the adjoining neighborhoods. Metro access is fairly close, though travelers with a poor sense of direction might get turned around the first time or two.

Over all, an excellent stay, no major problems, and for the price, I can't imagine anything better!

  • Liked — The clean, well-appointed room
  • Disliked — Shower! I love baths, but sometimes you need a proper shower!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nycdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2007

After staying two nights at Hotel Kutuma, I rate it as the #2 hotel in the entire world (in my experience). The staff was friendly and extremely accommodating. The rooms are beautifully decorated in African decor, with a dining area and kitchenette. The bathrooms are also nice. The room we stayed in was a regular room, and it had a large jacuzzi-style tub (no jets) in the corner. All lights had dimmer switches, which added to the atmosphere. The BEST part was the restaurant, Le Nil Bleu, which is connected to the hotel. They serve some of the best Ethiopian food I've ever had. It was so good, we ate there both nights, and both nights we were given a complimentary dessert. You can also get this food brought to your room with room service. I highly recommend it. It's a short walk from the metro (Sherbrooke station).

  • Liked — The restaurant and hotel decor
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

What a great find! We go to Montréal regularly and have stayed at many different hotels, but we will definitely be going back to Kutuma. Lovely room, quiet, comfortable bed, huge bathtub, and Ethiopian food right downstairs! How can you beat that? We didn't make much use of the kitchenette this trip, but we'll plan for it next time. The neighborhood is fantastic: the Métro is right there, and there are all kinds of restaurants and shops around. And they do very reasonable valet parking, too.

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Disliked — the snow!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alisseta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, PA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

This was a terrific hotel to stay at. Quite convenient to the Metro & Latin Quarter. We had room #3 which looks just like the photo that you see. It has everything you could want in a boutique hotel. We had a small living area with flat panel TV, breakfast bar with all utensils that you need, refrigerator, corkscrews, the tiled bathroom with jacuzzi, candles, etc. My wife loved the entire stay since it rained the entire three days we were there. We also enjoyed the Blue Nile restaurant that is below the hotel. Beautifully done! You won't regret staying here!

  • Liked — The room was stunning!
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at the Blue Nile below the restaurant
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JimCeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#30 of 164 in Montreal
450 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#12 of 164 in Montreal
251 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#53 of 164 in Montreal
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
542 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#42 of 164 in Montreal
386 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#41 of 164 in Montreal
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kutuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kutuma

Property: Hotel Kutuma
Address: 3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kutuma 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kutuma classified as 4 stars Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Montreal on St. Denis Street around a historical area of about 15 blocks or so filled with boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. Easy walking access to festival sites, Old Montreal, downtown and Mont Royal Park. Ideal Hotel for romantic getaways for the perfect wedding honeymoon, for long and short term. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kutuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing