We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kutuma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kutuma
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I loved this hotel. The room was so quaint and clean. Having the small kitchenette was an unexpected plus. I was most pleased with the bathroom. Such a romantic atmosphere since they have dimmed lights everywhere and tea light candles by the bath. The restaurant and dining atmosphere was amazing as well. I would recommend the dinner sampler. We got room service and the food was delivered hot and on time. Lastly the location is ideal being in the Latin quarter. The only flaw is the lack of elevators, which may be an issue for some. All in all, highly recommended

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHeat333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    78
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
224
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was a random selection by the Gf and I as we decided to spend a night in Montreal coming back from Quebec City to Toronto.....The best random decision we have ever made. Excellent accommodating staff and helpful staff. Will deff. stay here again! Highly recommended! The rooms are like a little getaway from the real world

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradr879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henniker, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have been to Montreal about 10 times in the past few years and each time I have stayed at a different hotel--always looking for just the right mix of quality, price and location. This time I stayed at Hotel Kutuma. It was a short distance from where I needed to be and the price was very good I was absolutely amazed. The staff is the best, no doubt. The room was very well-appointed and comfortable and the breakfast that they served was exceptional. The location was perfect---right on St. Denis, a short walk to the heart of the Latin Quarter and just a block away from the very lovely Saint-Louis Square. And I liked getting away from the large chain hotels. This one is family-owned and operated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DennisKalob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is one amazing hotel and hands down the best I've ever stayed in. Think boutique hotel, but very reasonably priced, located in the heart of the very chic and sought after Plateau district of Montreal. This small but very plush, stylish five star hotel is complemented by an Ethiopian restaurant, Le Nil Bleu, on the ground floor that serves up some very tasty and healthy dishes. One could walk by this hotel never realizing the amazing experience to be found inside.

I stayed here in late November and was given room 401. There's no elevator and you'll walk up approximately 51 stairs to the top floor but you'll get all the help you need carrying suitcases and luggage. I believe the rooms here are all suites and this was one of their largest, if not the largest. They are tastefully decorated in an African themed motif. The room faces Rue St. Denis (not all rooms do) and yet there was very little noise at all from the busy street down below. Large windows overlook the street from the bedroom and bath.

My room had a well equipped kitchen with a full sized refrigerator, a small table with two chairs, and a door leading to a very small fire escape/terrace in back. Adjacent to the kitchen is a living room with a love seat, table and oversized chair. The bedroom sported a very comfortable king sized bed and quite adequate closet space. The bed was so comfortable and the room so spacious that I never wanted to leave. For those on business there is also a desk and chair as you enter, just inside the door.

This was impressive enough until I saw the bathroom. Wow! Spacious doesn't adequately describe it, since it was easily the size of most NYC hotel rooms (including their bath). The bathroom is set off from the bedroom by sliding glass doors allowing light from the main room to filter in. As you open the doors you face a large two person hot tub adorned with candles and chic bath products. There's a toilet, bidet, two sinks side by side and a large shower. The area is spotlessly clean with added amenities such as terrycloth bathrobes and an assortment of bath products, towels, a vanity mirror for those applying make-up, etc... including two large leather chairs. Amazing!

All rooms are very well lit. There's lighting everywhere, from overhead to lamps. Most are controlled by dimmers that allow you to set the mood anywhere throughout the spacious apartment.

There are also four, count them ... four, thermostats, all individually controlled by the guests. Want the heat in the bathroom set differently from that in the bedroom or kitchen? You control it all. And it works very well.

Of course there is a large flatscreen TV, which I didn't really watch, but which I tuned to the local music stations, including a terrific jazz channel.

All the staff here, without exception, are courteous, polite, cheerful and very helpful. The hotel provides valet service for far less than what I paid to hotels in the Old Port and it, too, was very efficient. Just call ten minutes in advance and they'll have your car.

The hotel is conveniently located. There are many restaurants, shops and boutiques nearby. It's just a few blocks from the Metro and around the corner is a lovely park. Strolling this neighborhood is like a stroll through Paris. You can't go wrong.

I would definitely stay here again and I highly recommend Hotel Kotuma to anyone staying in Montreal.

Room Tip: Room 401 is amazing! Book it if you can. Make reservations in advance at the restaurant below if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Jerome, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Beautiful room, great service, comfortable amenities, huge bathroom with double jacuzzi tub. However, there is a weird smell in the bathroom, no filter for the coffee in the morning, and no elevator..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archiv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel was highly recommende on Trip Advisor and the plaudits are well deserved. It is about a 20 min stroll down into the city and old town and is itself surrounded by cafes and bistros. The room we had was at the back on the first floor and was large and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and to be honest I can't think of anything that wasn't reaaly good. The stairs were no problem (and I was carrying a bad back) so top marks from me...well done Kutuma.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

It's a small, well-kept property on the plateau. Great location for walking and eating -- be sure to go to the bulle au carré creperie a block away just past Square St Louis! Well-appointed room, great kitchenette and small dining area right in the room. Large and comfortable bathroom, an the ed pillows were amazing! Some sort of deep, formfitting foam. Loved them. The only potential problem could be the lack of an elevator -- not a problem for us but could be for those with limited mobility. The desk clerk happily carried our suitcase up the the 3rd floor.

We come to Montreal at least once or twice a year, and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSPMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#35 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#32 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#42 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#18 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#49 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kutuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kutuma

Property: Hotel Kutuma
Address: 3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kutuma 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kutuma classified as 4 stars Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Montreal on St. Denis Street around a historical area of about 15 blocks or so filled with boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. Easy walking access to festival sites, Old Montreal, downtown and Mont Royal Park. Ideal Hotel for romantic getaways for the perfect wedding honeymoon, for long and short term. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kutuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing