We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This is the ONE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kutuma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kutuma
Ranked #51 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is the ONE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

It pains me to share this but out of fairness to my fellow trip advisor reviewers and the owners of this establishment, this find needs to be exposed.

Been staying in Montreal for many years and this small hotel is at the top of the list for cleanliness, location, price, and value. Staff couldn't be more professional, friendly and do enough for you. How about candles at the end of the tub in the travertine lined bathroom or an umbrella in the wardrobe just in case it rains? Or valet parking for $15? Perhaps you need an outstanding bakery steps from the hotel, it's there! Using the metro?..how about a two block walk to Sherbrooke? Many choices for cafes and bistros within walking distance on St. Denis.

There is no doubt about it, I will be back again and again but the next time with my wife.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if stairs are a challenge for you, request the second floor but you will sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    75
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
211
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a room with kitchenette and a nice little lounge area - very cozy and stylish if you are fond of animal print! Service was good - apart from our departure where we couldn't get an itemized bill. Hotel Kutuma is located in a very nice street with lots of restaurants and close by is the metro - Sherbrooke. We will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Let us add to the chorus of voices praising Hotel Kutuma. It begins with a great staff led by a superbly friendly and helpful manager, Tafari (not sure of spelling). Michael (an intern during our stay) was quite helpful as well, along with several others. All were great! The room was excellent as well but keep in mind there is no elevator so you might need to climb some stairs. The location was superb if you want the ambiance (and convenience) of staying in the Plateau district--easy walking distance to multiple bars and eateries. Among them is Zero 8, specializing in a menu 100 percent friendly to people with the eight main food allergies, including wheat for those with celiac disease. To our knowledge it is the only such "food allergy-free safe eating" restaurant in Montreal, and the food was decent. For reference, Hotel Kutuma is perhaps a 20-25 minute hike to the old town/harbor. As for parking, the staff drives your car to an undisclosed secure (but open to the elements) location for a daily hotel rate or you can park just up the street in an enclosed parking ramp for a couple of bucks more. We went the hotel parking route. All in all, we were very pleased with Hotel Kutuma!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinnick4Ever64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great hotel!!
When we arrived we were told there was a plumbing problem with our room. At first we will a little disappointed. However the hotel staff solved the problem very quickly : we were taken by the hotel owner to another hotel for one night and upgraded to another room for the rest of our stay (3 nights). We were very impressed with the efficiency and friendliness of the staff. The room we had for the rest of our stay was amazing : a huge suite with jacuzzi and bathroom. The room was very clean, superbly furnished and decorated, and well equiped (including the fully equiped kitchen). The hotel is very quiet and relaxing even though the room was on the main street. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant (Le Nil Bleu) and it was delicious! The hotel is also close to the city center (Latin quarter just 5 minutes by foot). We would definitely recommend the hotel and return for a future visit to Montreal!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katiemimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Completely redone room had a huge comfortable king size bed, fridge, microwave and lovely sitting area with a couch and coffee table. Bathroom was beautifully appointed with a large bath and shower with overhead and side jets. We were on the 4th floor so wifi was hit and miss. No elevator but hotel staff were happy to carry luggage up and down. Lovely French bakery a few doors south on the same side of the street for coffee and a pastry called Mamie Clafoutis. Delicious eggs benedict breakfast another morning for $5.45 across the street and north of the convent. Make sure to get the valet parking for $17. Parking is impossible to find. We received a $86 ticket for parking on St. Denis between 7 and 9:30 a.m. Ate at the Nil Bleu, the hotel Ethiopian restaurant, one evening. Good vegetarian/vegan fare. Would recommend this hotel for location and well appointed room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgaryABCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I booked this hotel as a curiosity on our short stay in Montreal and it worked really well for us. The location between the cool shopping section of St Denis and the Latin quarters made it really convenient for us. The tourist main attractions are 2-3 metro stops away and the nearest station is just 2 block away. City bikes are available one block north and a great bakery is just 50 meters down the street.
The hotel itself looked a bit suspicious from outside, but from inside it was clean and the rooms were quite spacious and quiet (I would ask for a room facing the yard, even though you won't get any views). The only caution is that there is no elevator and the stairs are quite steep.
We had only a quick snack at the restaurant but wished we had had time for a proper meal as the snacks were tasty and the service was good.

Room Tip: St Denis street is quite busy so I would ask a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janne_hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

our second visit to Hotel Kutuma was exactly as we had hoped, having had an extraordinary experience 5 years ago. Why would we stay anywhere else? Central location on one of the best streets in Montreal, ST. Denis is a hustle and bustle of daytime shopping, eating and walking...an easy walk to Old Montreal or to anywhere via metro, and at night the restaraunts and bars with streetside terraces open up to a lively choice of activities. Inside you are warmly greeted and when shown to your room you will want to dive into the luxurious linens on the king size bed and relax in the air conditioned surroundings while you let the excitement of the day/night sweep away into your dreams. The bathrooms are beautifully appointed with showers that offer massage, bubble bath, candles and deep soaker tubs. The kitchen has everything you need to snack or eat in house including quality dinnerware and a comfortable sitting room. For the price you won't beat it, luxury, location, QUIET, comfort. It is our home while visiting Montreal.

Room Tip: ask for the junior suite, it is everything you will need. No elevator, so stay on lower floors if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spicycabanagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#37 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#12 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#17 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#29 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#34 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kutuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kutuma

Property: Hotel Kutuma
Address: 3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kutuma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kutuma classified as 4 stars Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Montreal on St. Denis Street around a historical area of about 15 blocks or so filled with boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. Easy walking access to festival sites, Old Montreal, downtown and Mont Royal Park. Ideal Hotel for romantic getaways for the perfect wedding honeymoon, for long and short term. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kutuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing