We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place to stay at for two nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy place to stay at for two nights”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Located in the university area, this B&B offers everything what you need to spend couple of days/nights in the city like Montréal. Our room was clean, cosyand spacious. The only disturbing thing was the window - no shutters were there and so we woke up with the first sunlight in the morning :) The breakfast is super yummy (conrflakes, yoghurts, bagels, croissants, fruits) and was served by uber nice and frienly B&B ladies. You'd share the bathroom with other 4 rooms, which is not a problem though, at least we always found it not occupied except just for once. Overall experience very good! Friendly staff and easy but cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohwelliknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universitybnb, Owner at University Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. :-) We have never received a complaint about the drapes in the rooms, I would appreciate If you could send us an email to indicate the room you have stayed in, so that we can investigate and install light proof drapes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    72
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
75
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

University Bed and Breakfast was a great find! Our room was homey, comfortable, and decorated to suit the decor of the area. Breakfast in the "Castle" room upstairs was very charming! Staff members were welcoming and helpful. The location was within walking distance to old Montreal, and the metro.

Room Tip: Choose a room to meet your taste! Our room, the "Brick room", was very charming and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjones063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent one night here and would have been happy to stay longer. We were in the yellow room.The room was clean and bright and seemed to have been recently renovated . The bed was very comfortable, the linens were pretty and fresh. It was like a mini apartment with a small kitchen with nice dishes, a coffee press and wine glasses.- they thought of everything!The office staff were helpful and the breakfast was good. Best coffee of our trip.
This is not a home-style bed and breakfast. The office/ breakfast room seemed to be the only shared space and because it is closes at 6 you would need to spend the evening in your own room. You also don't have access to the movie and game shelf after 6 which seemed odd. Not that it was an issue for us,but it might have been if we were travelling with our kids.
The location is great. An easy walk from the train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prariepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and left on a Monday morning. As with our previous visit, University B & B staff were welcoming. It was easy to pay and easy to check out. The room was cozy, the duvet and pillows were fresh and comfortable. The bathroom was super-clean and there was lots of hot water for showers. The kitchenette was recently renovated with beautiful tile and countertop -- and had its own coffee Bodum, tea supplies. Easy access to Wireless. Easy access to Metro stops and shopping for cheese and wine.

The breakfast that is included is offered 8 - 10 am and is DELICIOUS and served in an inviting, well-lit room. It features fresh-brewed coffee (we had our own Bodum) and choice of toasted bagels, croissants with tiny pots of jam, butter and cream cheese. ALso available are a selection of yogurts, fresh fruits and cereals. So lovely!

This is my favorite place to stay in Montreal -- my daughter lives in Verdun, but it's easy to visit b/c so close to metro stations.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, so there is some small noise from above (it's in beautiful old bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We enjoyed the clean, well-appointed if small room. Breakfast is wonderful, as are the lovely young women hosts. The location is great, convenient to shopping/dining and a comfortable walk to Old City. One caution: Beware of sharing bathroom if you can afford private bath: long waits always a possibility. All in all, a wonderful find,

Room Tip: Again, choose private bath if possible to avoid waits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ectrjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YYZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed (solo) on a Saturday night in the Scholar's Room in mid January; was in town to see the Leafs play the Habs. It was the cheapest accommodation on Expedia, and it was very good value.

Location is nice (great if you need to be near McGill), about a 15 to 20 min walk from the Bell Centre. About 8 mins from McGill metro station.

The Scholar Room is small, with a double bed and a small balcony (although I never opened the door...it was January in Montreal...). Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was fine for a solo traveller. Might be a bit of tight fit for a couple, especially if you have extra luggage. Shared bathroom, which was very clean. I think all rooms are on the 3rd floor.

The B&B is housed in a old townhouse. Lots of the original character remains, including the floors being on a slight angle in some parts. Like I said, it's a quirky place. The breakfast room is on the second floor. Very nice room, bright and airy. Continental breakfast is served there. It was fine for a continental breakfast (although I do tend to like a cooked breakfast on a weekend).

I'm planning to come back for a long weekend in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon, saskatchewan, canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at the University Bed + Breakfast for a few nights at the end of September, 2012, while I was visiting my daughter who is attending McGill University. As she is living in residence, this B + B was a perfect location to make it easy to visit with her. This B + B is located right in the heart of McGill University, and is on a picturesque tree-lined street. The room I stayed in was very comfortable, with close access to the shared bathroom and to the kitchen, where a lovely breakfast was prepared each morning. My daughter had breakfast with me as well, as breakfast for two is included in the cost of the room. The B + B has guide books for your convenience, located in their entryway. The B + B is located in close proximity to great shopping, restaurants, coffee shops, grocery stores, etc. Place des Arts and Old Montreal are both an easy half hour walk. This will definitely be the place I stay over the years, while visiting my daughter. My son is currently staying there, visiting his sister. He is staying in a large room overlooking Prince Arthur Street as it has plenty of room for two people to visit. He loves it. This is a beautiful B + B, that is definitely worth staying at.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Scholar's room, which is the least expensive and it was ideal for me (shared bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiegirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
543 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
Repos & Manna B & B
Repos & Manna B & B
#11 of 144 in Montreal
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#4 of 144 in Montreal
225 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#13 of 144 in Montreal
370 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
leQube Apartments
leQube Apartments
#9 of 95 in Montreal
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Bed & Breakfast

Property: University Bed & Breakfast
Address: 623 Prince Arthur West, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — University Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Montreal B&B, located near University Street, at the quiet end of Prince Arthur St. which is one of favourite Montreal spots full of sidewalk cafes and bring your wine restaurants. Train station, downtown shopping malls, Chinatown, festival sites and Montreal's biggest green space (Mount Royal Park) is all within 10-15 minutes of walking distance. We give delicious continental breakfast (bagels, croissants, cheese, jam and coffee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your University Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Montreal
University Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing