We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy youth hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison du Patriote
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Noisy youth hostel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you are in Montreal to party until five in the morning and just want any old place to crash then this is the place for you. If however you would like to have a decent night's sleep then do NOT stay here as it is impossible, especially as the rooms face onto a nightclub. This is not a bed and breakfast as the Rough Guide suggests, it is a youth hostel and nothing more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    10
    7
    9
See reviews for
4
22
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We went to Montreal for a weekend. This is a hostel in Old Montreal that also has 3 private rooms. In truth, the private rooms are very high quality. This place, however, is a party hostel. We did not get any sleep! There were people outside on the street drinking until 4am. Even worse, there is NO STAFF at this place at night....the hostel residents stayed up 'til 5am drinking and yelling in the lounge, kitchen and other common areas. The windows shook from the music at one of the nearby bars.

If want to stay up all night and party, then this is the place for you. If you want a decent nights sleep without 18-19 year olds coming back from the club crazy drunk and staying up all night drinking and imitating French people, then avoid.

This is not a nice B and B. It is a frat house.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Uruguay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

My dorms had inflatable beds, not all anyway, but mine was like that. Not easy to sleep in that thing. Service in non existent, i only saw the responsible people the they i arrived and never again, But even that day, they had left me a note at the door with instructions in case they were not there at my arrival. Apparently, it's common use for them, they just leave the place, so, should you need anything, information, help... go get it somewhere else!
To get to my room i had climb the stairs and at the end of the stairs you get to a room with a lof of beds. That room es the biggest dorm in the house. Yes, there is no other way. I found this really annoying and unusual. I think, even if it is a big dorm, no other person but the ones sleeping in it, should be going thtough it all the time.
Internet was lousy, when i finally could connect. But again, noone around to be asked.
The location is very very nice but it doesn't do it for me because the house is really small and the service is terrible.
Also, they don't let you circulate with your shoes on inside the house. You have to take them off and leave them near the stairs. I didn't ask why because at the time i arrived, it was raining a lot. But i did notice that they were wearing sport shoes in the same places i was not allowed to.
Someone who is a lot of years younger recommended this place to me, so that is why i think that probably it will work for audiences under 25, not for me, that i am well over 30.

Room Tip: If you still want to try it, ask for the double room. Anyway, i cannot guaratee your privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaVerano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

When you enter the Hostel it smells like stinky shoes and burned toasts...
Then you go up the stairs and it gets a little better.
There is a little living room for everyone and a computer which you can use for the internet --- but just if it works, and that is not too often. As soon more than 2 people use the internet you have a problem (also with your own laptop).
the kitchen is kind of dirty and at the table can sit 4 people.
our room was one of the private ones but very tiny, without a cupboard and not much space for luggage (we had two big backpacks).
the bathrooms were kind of dirty as well but you can get used to it.

one positive point was the location in the heart of vieux port.

but all in all we do not recommend this hostel ... although there're probably not many hostels in montreal that are better at this price class.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexCaro2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

The hostel was great for me in compared with the one I stayed in Toronto with the same price. Location is a big plus, right in the centre of Old Montreal and near the subway so you can easily wander around. Free wifi is another plus to. They also have the washing machine and dryer. The house is cleaned everyday but some guests just don't take off their shoes and walk around the house so a minus for cleanliness. I stayed in a girl dorm room and it was a little bit cold at night because the window was open for air flow. One bed sheet made a lot of noise so it's hard for light sleeper to have a nice sleep. We were so tired walking all the day so it didn't matter much to us. the kitchen doesn't have much utensil to use. Another thing is when we booked it said that there was free breakfast but we didn't have. Other than that, the place has nice decoration, is very warm and cozy and still the best hostel I've ever stayed. Would recommend to students or people who are looking for cheap place to stay and sleep overnight in Montreal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprilwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, united kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Service was good with the staff member genuinely a nice, friendly person. However, the main dorm is a ton of bunks that are separated by sheets, means it can be very noisy at night, especially as Montreal is a nightlife type of place. The problem is exacerbated by having air mattress that squeak when anyone moves in their sleep.

As the main dorm is in the attic it also gets very hot with little air circulation and a lot of dust. Nice people though, but sometimes that just can`t compensate for dodgy accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfloordave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

This is a Hostel. Reception is only open from 10 to 6, but the door has an access code. You must take off your shoes before entering. There are bunks on 3rd floor and a few private rooms on the 2nd floor. There are 2 toilets on the 2nd floor and 2 showers on the 3rd floor. I had to wait for a shower once out of the 3 nights there. Breakfast consisted of toast with jam, tea, and coffee. I don't really consider that a breakfast- so we went somewhere else every day- there's a Starbucks and McDonald's a few blocks away. The wifi worked some of the time. We think that were was a limit on the number of people connected, so sometimes we had to wait and try again.

Overall, I would stay again. But the question about recommending to a friend is No because my friends wouldn't want to stay in a hostel- but this was Okay for a hostel. One of the 2 nearest Metro Stations (Champ de Mars) is very sketchy, lots of homeless people, so I recommend Place de Arts.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erica_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Habitation du Vieux Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Lofts du Vieux-Port
Lofts du Vieux-Port
#5 of 94 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Alternative du Vieux-Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Patriote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Patriote

Property: La Maison du Patriote
Address: 169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1G8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Maison du Patriote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Patriote Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing