We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Historic, and Wonderful!”
Review of Victorian Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victorian Heritage
Ranked #5 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Romantic, Historic, and Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a nice place to stay where we would be comfortable staying in the room to relax and close to interesting areas of the city so we could explore. This B&B was perfect. The house is gorgeously restored. The room was so romantic (although a bit dark) with the clawfoot tub, pedestal sink, and comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious, and we had to walk through a secret door behind a portrait to get there! We took advantage of the billiards table on a rainy day, loved the free wi-fi and computers in the entry, and appreciated the central air and strong hot shower in the room (very modern conveniences in such an historic building). The neighborhood is filled with restaurants and bars, so you don't have to go far for nice affordable food. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    30
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
145
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Location is in heart of Latin Quarter, easy to walk to cafes, restaurants & shops. On the internet they gave us choices for parking (from $7-$24 USD a day) but no one could, on arrival, even give us directions to these places. Rooms are average size, bed was comfortable, bathrooms small, but we, too, had street facing window which was very loud on Saturday night until almost 5am. Home does have a history and it is displayed along with some modern furnishing. What others fail to tell you in reviews is that yes, the breakfast is mostly breads, jams, light fair BUT.... YOU get your plates & silverware, YOU get your coffee, and YOU get your ONE freshly squeezed orange juice from refrigerator (yes, there is even a sign inside frig "only one juice per guest" ). We spent one morning attempting a pleasant breakfast all the while the kitchen helpers stood and starred at us ... very uncomfortable feeling. The owner can not spell hospitality ..... never even introduced himself for all the days we stayed, only approached my wife on last day for the "who will pay" question. How about at least a "how was your stay?". Feels more like a quaint impersonal hotel and there are, at least by quick count, 3 dozen more places within five minutes of this hotel. Although, if in the area we can definitely recommend two very good eateries La Brioche Lyons for wonderful crepes and The Virgin Restaurant (fairly new) for a great dinner. Both, are on Rue Saint Denis, south of Rue Ontario.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zmn4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

This place was so quirky and charming I never wanted to leave. From the "special" door to handsome clawfoot tubs overlooking the lively streets, this place has it all. I should mention the breakfasts consisted more of breads and cheeses than traditional breakfast...but I thought it was DELISH!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodandtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

A wonderful choice for my quick four day visit to Montreal. This turn of the century house feels very warm and inviting. It is extremely comfortable, well appointed, and has gracious hosts. In short, one could not ask for a more gracious experience in Montreal! It is easy walking distance to the metro, to St Cathrine, St Denis, wonderful shops, nightlife, restaurants, etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandererredeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

My fiance (we actually got engaged on our trip to Montreal) stayed here for several nights and thought it was fabulous. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Montreal-- especially if you like historic buildings, claw-foot tubs, pool tables, and delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienneDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWC, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2008

My wife and I stayed in this B&B for 4 nights and we loved it. The Pink room is big and is on a very quite garden side of the building.
The location of the B&B on rue Ontario one short block from rue st. Denis is absolutely great. A lot of very good restaurants in the neighborhood. 10 minutes by foot to Vieux Montreal.

The B&B itself is in a very nice restored Victorian. All the amenities available including wireless Internet.

Breakfasts served by Dennis and his staff were delicious. I have never eaten such wonderful French country bread.

The next time we come to Montreal we'll definitely stay at the Victorian Heritage B&B.

  • Liked — a large quiet room
  • Disliked — steep stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sfd_rwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed at this B&B on our honeymoon. The room was big and comfy...and breakfasts were out of this world! We enjoyed the view from our room out to the busy street, as well as sitting in the garden behind the house in the mornings. The neighborhood was fantastic, busy, and we felt right at home. We would recommend to our friends and family and would stay there again!

  • Liked — Comfortable room with great breakfast!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lgd-chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Heritage

Property: Victorian Heritage
Address: 305 East Ontario Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Villa Right Downtown Montreal. Sumptuous rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Victorian Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Heritage b&b
Victorian Heritage Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing