We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our home at Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Our home at Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband, then bf, and I first stayed at Victorian Heritage in summer 2005. We felt that we were so welcomed that we always remembered it as Deni's place as if it was our friend's place. When we decided to go back to Montreal for the long weekend this March, we couldn't remember the name, so I started to go by the picture of every highly rated B&B in Montreal on Trip advisor.com and not too far from the top, I found a picture of the blue door and found our way back to Denis' place.

The place was much more upgraded this time. The kitchen had 4-5 star hotel breakfast facilities; it was very pleasant to the eyes and you could tell things are run with high standard.

Breakfast was amazing - Breakfast Tomato&Mushroom Omelet was awesome and coffee was of very good quality and soooooo fresh. (I am a very picky coffee drinker) Bread and fruits were so fresh. The Brie cheese bread and chocolate bread was my favorite. The gentleman who made the Omelet ( i forgot his name) told me he buys the bread every morning in the nearby bread shop. Also, of course, we met Denis at breakfast. He told us stories about the house and the wealthy family who used to live there.

Aside from the hospitality and quality of housing, the location is very convenient for public transit. One street over there was no. 24 bus which we took a lot to go back and forth from museum areas. Subway is within a short walking distance. With the price for the night, I think it is a great value.

Room Tip: Get $9 one day public transit card(Opus). It is very valuable. You can take the bus from the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jk109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorien311, Owner at Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for making this nice review and for your detailed comments concerning the breakfast. It sure encourages me to make it even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    30
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
145
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We travelled from Ottawa for an Easter getaway. A friend had recommended this B&B so we thought we'd try it, and it was indeed a very enjoyable place to stay. The owner, Denis, has put a lot of effort into the renovations and decor, with a Victorian theme that ties in with the original Monk family.

We stayed in Caroline's room, facing away from rue Ontario. It had a very comfortable bed with a massive ornate carved bedframe. I appreciated the fact that after your day's activities you could come back and rest a bit before going out again in the evening, without feeling like you were disturbing the owner.

Breakfast was lovely--good bread, frittata-type omelette, fresh fruit and blueberry and strawberry jams that the owner makes himself. It was also enjoyable to have a lingering chit-chat over breakfast if you felt like it, but you didn't feel obliged. Thanks, Denis, for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorien311, Owner at Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you Andrea for making this nice review. Meeting you was a pure delight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I rented one of the apartments for a romantic weekend getaway. The rooms were nicely decorated, the copper bathtub for 2 a great plus, and the mattress simply 5 star. It was nice to have a full kitchen but disappointing that simple things like dishwasher soap; coffee filters; and coffee and tea were not provided. Although we were told to hang a sign for cleaning and bed making every day, only one day out of our 4 day trip was our roomed "straightened" and even then dishes were not washed. So, it was much more an apartment rental than a B&B (the breakfast was an additional $40 per day for 2).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joAnn0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorien311, Owner at Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for making this review and for mentioning the comfort of the 1st Floor Apartment. Concerning the daily cleaning of your apartment, I am sorry for skipping some requested daily cleaning, we will definitively improve on that. I will also see what can be added in the kitchen for the future guests. The breakfast is an additional $20 + tax per day for 2, not $40; I suspect that Arturo who greeted you last Saturday might have been confused concerning the price of the breakfast. I will make sure that there is no confusion on his side.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travellers community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My parents and my wife and I spent 3 nights here in October 2012. The house is very old but beautifully maintained and decorated like a 19th century dwelling. There was also a full kitchen which we did not use as we were too busy eating out. The copper bathtubs in the rooms were an especially nice touch. Location was perfect, Rue St Denis with all its shops was a few minutes away. The complimentary breakfasts were excellent, especially the hot dishes that were that were changed every day. Parking is a bit of an adventure - you have to back into a tiny lot in the rear. However, our host Denis was very helpful and made our stay wonderful. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: There is no elevator and the stairs are high, so people who have a hard time walking should stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful three nights at the Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast. The house is beautiful and historic. Denis, the owner, is welcoming, a great conversationalist, and cooks a delicious breakfast. He is passionate about the aesthetics and the history of the house, and has thoroughly researched the Monk family's life in the 1800s. Excerpts from Louise Amelia's diary are available for guests to read in the sitting room. The bedrooms are comfortable, and each have large vintage bathtubs. Finally, the location was very central, within walking distance of Old Montreal. We highly recommend the Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast as a unique experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at Victorian Heritage B&B three times now, and each time in a different room. All have been memorable. Denys is a lovely host, the history of the building has been lovingly restored and updated at the some time. Breakfasts are a joy, if you like meeting other guests, but if you want a romantic morning you can still eat in your room. The art is really interesting and the location, in the middle of the Latin Quarter, is perfect. Best of all is the price. Love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterK1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We recently stayed at this fabulous B and B ( our second time!!!) in the "Secret Hideaway Room". Not only was the room clean and stunning, but the proprietor, Denys, was lovely. The breakfast was a variety of amazing fresh baked breads, omelets, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and more...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 305 East Ontario Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Villa Right Downtown Montreal. Sumptuous rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victorian Heritage b&b
Victorian Heritage Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing