We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I had a great experience at the Hotel Dorion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dorion

Hotel Dorion
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dorion
Ranked #125 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I had a great experience at the Hotel Dorion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

I have been to Montreal several times before, and just found out about the Hotel Dorion. I like to stay in the Gay Village, and found the Hotel Dorion to be the best deal and nicest place. It is in a great location across from the Metro and near all the nightlife and good restaurants. The hotel is very clean with fresh sheets and towels, nice rooms, free WiFi and a coffee and breakfast lounge. Breakfast is available for free on weekends. The staff made the stay for me. They are very friendly, helpful and accommodating and speak English well. On future visits to Montreal, I will now stay only at the Hotel Dorion.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coolpawpads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    7
    2
    14
See reviews for
1
16
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

During my annual trips to Montreal, I always stay at the Hotel Dorion, which is located in the Gay Village near the Metro. I enjoy the friendly staff that always treats their customers with the utmost courtesy. The manager, Joanne, in particular, goes out-of-her-way to make sure that my stay at the hotel is a pleasurable experience. The staff is very helpful in providing information about things to do in Montreal, including restaurants, directions and tourist attractions. The room is always clean with fresh linen and towels, and a pot of coffee is always brewing. I would recommend the Hotel Dorion to anyone looking for an economical, friendly and convenient place to stay in the Gay Village.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eddieisready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Well, when we (myself, my girlfriend, and our 2 friends) arrived at the hotel we were surprised by an empty needle casing and used condom laying on the street by my car. Yes, you park on the street because there is no parking lot. We noticed right away the hotel was not very pleasant to look at, and it didnt get much better when we went inside. Although the people working there were very nice, the hotel lacked some things we find important when staying somewhere for the night. The most lacking would be cleanliness, the floors were not vacuumed and the roomm had a slight odor to it. The bedding was not very nice, and we decided to just sleep on top of the blankets in fear of what was waiting beneath the blanket. Bars on the windows for safety would be nice to protect us from the friendly gentleman who was high on pills and crack. All in all we had a nice trip to montreal, the people were very friendly and the hotel staff was very nice, but next time we will stay in a better part of the town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heavymtlvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

When i arrived at the Hotel i didn’t really know what to expect.My room was clean and comfortable. My bed was very comfortable and I slept very well.The staff were great and very helpful.I had a grat time in dorion i recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatineau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

this place is by far the most ranchiest place i have ever been in, i choose this place based on its location! the website is well done, it looks proper and pricing is not all that bad!. i reserved the room 1 day in advance and was asked to call before noon the next day if there were any cancelations. (i didnt call cause there wasnt ) when i arrived, the manager said i was supose to call because she wanted to make sure the room was proper and the "sheets didnt have any holes in it" because those are for the locals....which i then thought its for escort services....i didnt want that in my head. people were coming in and out, the clients that rented the rooms by the hour. older men with either women or younger men!. room doors being opened and closed throughout the night. at one point of the night, i caught the receptionist (male, mid 40s) come out of a dark room with a younger man, because i rang the front bell for assistance. he then interrogated me, asking me who i was and what room i was in. he verified all my information even tho i told him i had a key!. i felt degraded and assumed he thought i was one of the locals coming in off the street. in the room i was in, it wasnt all that bad, the floors were dirty, but not visibly, i was wearing white socks and they werent white no more. the bathroom door was ready to fall off and the bath tube was full of cigarette burns on the edges. the shower curtain was torn to nothing and was being held up by a few holes that were left intact. the location of the hotel is directly above a strip bar. the clients that are outside are much older men (50-60) with very young men acting like a complete sl^&*t. i would never in my life time, recommend this place to anyone. UNLESS you are looking to rent from this place by the hour and make some quick cash!...;)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloppyjoe009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

I stayed in this hotel based on reviews read on trip advisor.
I did not find the cigarette smoke smell that others complained. I believe they may have staye d at the hotel before the whole place went non-smoking.
I had 2 problems however. 1) the free wireless internet access does not reach all rooms. FRom best that I could tell the router must be in the new section of the hotel. Most 3rd floor rooms in the old section cannot receive the signal at all.
2) Most of the staff were friendly but I did come across 1 desk clerk in the evening that had trouble speaking english. He stumbled through but it was difficult for both of us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clubcentaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#116 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#109 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#114 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#66 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#94 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorion

Property: Hotel Dorion
Address: 1477 rue Dorion, Montreal, Quebec H2K 4A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dorion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dorion is proud to offer clean and cozy rooms at affordable prices. We are but a few footsteps away from St. Catherine street which houses numerous restaurants of all ethnicities, cafes and shopping. Your room will be refreshed every day and there is always someone at the reception desk who is more than happy to help you in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dorion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorion Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing