We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical little discovery - warm service, very tasty food, and fun!”

Sel Gras Restaurant
Ranked #76 of 5,822 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese, Canadian, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Description: Mediterranean Style Comfort Food. Unpretentious and relaxed atmosphere. Wine, Champagne, Oysters, Cocktails and good Food.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical little discovery - warm service, very tasty food, and fun!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We Love this new spot! Simple yet elegant, nice decor with wood and lovely lighting, a friendly service and most of all great food that you'll never make at home. We sat at the bar, started oysters that were served with freshly grated horse radish (we saw the grating!), a lovely red wine shallot sauce. And fresh bread that was so tasty! And home made! We skipped starters and went to the main meals. Hubby had the
grilled Rainbow trout with ratte potatoes (he's French so he was in heaven with this lovely spud!). I had the Cornish game hen, grilled too with a decadent sauce. We drank chilled beers and we were even offered a lovely oyster shooter by our waitress. She was happy for us since we were on a date night for the first time for a long time. ! I had the best panna cotta, hubby was happy with creme brûlée. So happy with our evening at Sel Gras in all aspects! I'll recommend to my best friends, hubby will too :-).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BertRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    57
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“we love the place, great food!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

the food is great, so is the service. we love the ambiance- pity we didn't try their cocktails, but the wine selection is great.
we ordered tartare de thon rouge as starter; steak (cote de boef grille) and shrimps/clams ( gambas/palourde) as main dishes. i think the steak is definitely superb; the seafood is nice but not impressive.

the restaurant is located in a very lively neighborhood full of nice shops, bars, restaurants.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ardowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant: not number 1”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This restaurant is excellent but I agree with some seasoned trip advisor reviewers that this is not the best restaurant in Montreal. Tuna tartar and oysters were delicious. For mains the hen and ribs were delicious. The halibut was very good. The black cod was outstanding although the garnish was too salty. Dessert and coffee very good and service throughout was excellent
This restaurant deserves to be full every night and I will go back, but it is not the number 1 restaurant in a city of many excellent restaurants.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Slabotsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate it's worth it...”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I would recommend this place to everyone... it was so good. I ate there for the first time with one of my co-worker... and it was so good and that I had to go back 2 days later. I'm definitely going back next time I'm in Montreal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank f2re3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best meal so far in Montreal”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I came here with my friends and we love it so much. The environment was really chill unlike some other restaurant of its caliber. The appetizer was really amazing. I would recommend tuna tare tare or ratatouille. The main course and desert were also as awesome. Would recommended if you want a nice meal out with friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chakrit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sel Gras Restaurant also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Sel Gras Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing