We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying too hard?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 10

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 10
Ranked #38 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Trying too hard?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel has a lot of things going for it in terms of design and location. It looks like it was uber cool when it opened, but has been well worn and not maintained to the highest of standards. Lots of scuffs, tears, paint chips and marks throughout make what could have been a hip design look dated and a bit shabby. It has all the makings of a great hotel - maybe a few years ago.

The earlier review about noise is absolutely true - the bar is a hotspot on weekends and really noisy. People go outside to have a cigarette and the the smoke wafts up into your room. Late night partiers in the hallways yelling and slamming doors. At 3 a.m. when I had business meetings the next day.

Despite this, the staff is very nice and highly attentive. The hotel is well located near great restaurants, bars, shops and galleries. Definitely outside the tourist zone.

I would not stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not facing Shelbrooke - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank criticdesandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL10GM, Rooms Division Director at Hotel 10, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear criticdesandiego,

I am really sorry that our property did not meet your standards. We have done some renovations and we are still in the process of completing everything before the end of this year. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the service, and I will make sure to pass the comments to the staff.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any more questions.

Merci
Patrick Elbaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    238
    70
    25
    28
See reviews for
73
233
40
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Hotel was very very noisy. The soundproofing is as good as paper wall. There is a multi-storey bar situated in the center of the building. You will probably have a good time if you enjoy sleeping AFTER 4AM or if you and your significant other are deaf. Otherwise do not good there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL10GM, Rooms Division Director at Hotel 10, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Eric D,

I would like to apologize for you recent experience at our hotel. It is true that we have at the hotel a very vibrant food and beverage operation on Saturday night and sometimes noise can be an issue in some rooms close to the restaurant. In the process of our renovations we will be changing all the windows in those specific rooms. Again, I apologize and hope that we can welcome you back.

Merci
Patrick Elbaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

After reading several reviews recommending this hotel for bachelor/bachelorette party groups, I decided this was the place to go and could not have been more happy with that decision.

The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful beginning with the initial rate inquiry to Daniela and Bianca who made it their goal to get us the best rate for our group. When we arrived, Alexandre, behind the front desk, made recommendations for restaurants, bars, and sights, all of which were excellent. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. The bathrooms were large as were the showers. On the street side, we did not notice much noise at night.

The hotel location was excellent and very central to everything going on in the city. Hotel 10 intersects with San Laurent and had an overwhelming number of restaurants, shops, cafes, bars. The Old Port area happened to have a music festival which was only a $10 cab ride away, as were many other social locations. The club within the hotel seemed to only be open Saturday night but was very fun and attracts a energetic party crowd.

I would highly recommend Hotel 10 to anyone but particularly those looking to experience the more social side of Montreal. I am looking forward to staying here during future trips to Montreal.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay here for bachelor/bachelorette parties, I would advise paying a bit extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mderag16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed staying here. Staff who were at the front desk while I stayed there were all young but very well trained. Professional. Courteous. Helpful. Check in was a breeze. They also had recommendations for places to visit and eat at.

Love the room decor! We were on a lower floor and there was some sound bleed through from the street. One the AC was going tho it drowned out any sounds.

Good stay overall. I'd return again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilani_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL10GM, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel 10, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Leilani_A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 10. It was a pleasure sharing this review with the front desk staff, they were all very proud.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next visit in our beautiful city.


Merci beaucoup
Patrick Elbaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

All 4 of us loved this hotel. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. They really want their guests to be happy. The location is great, right next to a street with a row of excellent restaurants. My only suggestion is that they light the rooms better for reading. The staff also gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast at the hotel is a bit pricey. We all had a great stay and felt we had never had such good service in an American hotel. Is this great attitude a Canadian phenomenon?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SS1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent the weekend in Hotel 10.

The rooms are spacious. That is where the positives end.

Negatives:
Poor customer service
Hotel is LOUD

When checking out, there was a disagreement between hotel management and us about the price of parking. The difference was $16. Instead of reversing the $16 dollar charge promptly, the manager called us liars and said we were trying to cheat the hotel out of $16. He agreed to reverse the charge but kept asking us to "admit we were lying." which we were not.

Hotel is also loud and filled with drunken groups. Both nights we stayed in the hotel we heard yelling in the hallways at 4AM. At 5 AM a man kept pounding on our door and that of our neighbouring room and would only stop when security was called. Overall dissatisfactory experience.

Room Tip: Tip: Don't stay here. Try and be as far away from the nightclub as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jared G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL10GM, Rooms Division Director at Hotel 10, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Jared G,

Clearly we fell short on our standards, and for that I sincerely apologize about the misunderstanding. We will definitely look into all the information about the hotel and make sure from now on that the parking price at 28$ per day is properly advertise. Also you can be assure that I will have a meeting with our security department to resolve any of the noise issue that you experience and that it won't happen again.
If you are planning on coming back to Montréal, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Merci
Patrick Elbaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived right up to our departure the service was welcoming and friendly while also very efficient. The room was lovely and comfortable, with attention to all the little details that make a stay away from home pleasant. The location was absolutely perfect with a quick step outside our door leading to the quintessential Montreal experience: a street market all the way up St. Laurent. We will return to Montreal in a week and will choose Hotel 10 again for that stay for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#52 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#18 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 10

Property: Hotel 10
Address: 10 Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 4C9, Canada (Formerly Opus Hotel Montreal)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#48 Family Hotel in Montreal
#49 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#50 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 10 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Opus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing